We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
East Antrim
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“5 star disapointment”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have never complained about a hotel before: We took this hotel to celebrate a special anniversary, the disappointment started when we checked in, the staff were cold and unhelpful. the room was beautiful, except after 4 days I stripped the bed to make them change the sheets.There was no tea or coffee there was a machine but to get a cup we had to pay 5 euros,
no obvious hotel information about services or dining times. we later discovered through exploring the tV it was online there!!! would have been helpful to be told this. The weather was beautiful so one morning we saw people eating breakfast outside, when I asked if we could sit outside we were told "no only people staying at the front of the hotel could eat there....very disappointing and made me feel like i was the wrong class or unworthy . food wasn't bad average but very little variation so got boring and we went out for dinner local restaurants very good pleasant and helpful, no access to the spa without paying 30 euros per day...so would never feel I would want to go back as it fell flat no atmosphere and while some of the staff were lovely others had a terrible attitude

Room Tip: higher floors have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theharperfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to clarify that all guests are very important for us, any guest is unworthy. Also the price for a cup of coffee in the room is €2 and the use of the spa facilities is €15 per day per person.
Could we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    751
    252
    86
    50
See reviews for
526
1,122
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October, a couple of minor issues with the room, there was no tea making facilities and the air conditioning was non-existant, we ended up sleeping with the patio door open.
But apart from that the staff were friendly, we had a breakfast only and that was excellent, had many varieties of food on offer.
The whole hotel was clean, pool area eas excellent and there were plenty of staff to serve you.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
certainly had a 5star feel about the place and will return

Room Tip: upgrade if you can the front view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitbygeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank for taking your time and gives us such kind feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and also regarding your recommendations.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

spent a lovely week at crown plaza earlier in october.although we were asked to upgrade we didnt.our room was lovely on 8th floor with a fantastic view of quarteria.the balconys are large and private.breakfast was lovely good choice of cereal,breads meat,cheese,boiled,scrambled eggs.bacon and sausage not nice..if you do upgrade you can have smoked salmon,omlettes ect which i think is very unfair,i have stayed in many 5* hotels that include everything for the price.the other moan i have is not being able to take your own drinks in your room to enjoy on the balcony before you go out.we had to sneek it in and then sneek the empties out.on the whole we really enjoyed ourselves the hotel is in a perfect position for the marina and quarteria.the pool area is lovely.we had perfect weather for october.hope you enjoy it as much as us.

Room Tip: higher rooms have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackpoolRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for posting such kind feedback regarding your week stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura,
We do look forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Upon entering the Crowne Plaza, Vilamoura you get the wow factor. It is very impressive and appears to have had no expence spared on it. The bedrooms are particularly attractive and the bathrooms are magnificent. Unfortunately that is where the wow factor ends. This hotel totaly lacks service and this is most apparent in the restaurant. The cuisine is of a very poor and cheap quality and there is no communication between the kitchen and and the restaurant, the result is that food continually runs out and nobody replaces it. The staff are very surly and ignore requests to clear the tables between courses. Be prepared for your bedrooms to be left unserviced until mid afternoon on some days and the cleaning leaves much to be desired. As for the hotel entertainment, that consisted of a man playing an electric guitar alone on a couple of evenings each week and made guests look forward to the days he was not there. Although this hotel carries the name Crowne Plaza, I understand this establishment is a franchise and the impression I got was that a lot of money had been spent on the structure leaving nothing left for the running of the hotel. It may look 5 star but if falls far short of this in reality.

Room Tip: Sea facing suites are the only rooms that get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Nicholas,
We are conscious that there is still much work to do in order to achieve higher standards and do rest assure that we will keep on working hard in order to achieve it.
May we have another opportunity to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and show you the improvements done.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Read loads of reviews, and never having taken the time to write myself, did not pay too much attention - should have done!
On arrival room and common areas lovely and clean, all was good till we went for dinner, food poor choice, and not hot (many previous reviews i read had warned of this) having managed in F&B it was a shocker!!
Breakfast, very poor, no real sausage or back bacon, plenty of fat and grissle, again cold and poor choice.
The main thing that spoilt our holiday was no fault of the hotel - mosquitos, the hotel is next to an area of waste ground & with the constant down poor of rain during our stay they were out in force. We counted over 100 bites at the end of the first 24hrs, the second day was horrid, many many more, my bill at the local chemist was higher than my bar bill for the week & I like a drink on holiday. That reminds me a single vodka & tonic - just over 12 euros, so you can guess how much we spent on the mosquito remedies.
Please be careful if bringing children, the mosquitos made life a misery for mine, and if you like fine dining, sorry but do not visit at all!
My daughter was afraid to go outside in the end, so we paid an extra15 euros each, each day to swim indoors.

Room Tip: we asked to be moved, knowing the mosquito risk should be lower on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Victoria,
I am sad to read that your family holidays were spoilt with the mosquitos’ issue.
I would like to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and have the opportunity to show you the improvements done in the F&B department.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel is lovely and is in a great location. Walking distance from the marina and right on the beach.

The pool area is small. Considering the size of the hotel, I'd suggest in high season, if you want to be close to the pool, then there isn't enough beds to go around. However just a stroll over the pool bridge and you have a large area set aside with "Fat boy" bean bags to lie on along with parasols should you need it.

The rooms themselves are good.however we had no coffee making facilities & nothing in the fridge which for a 5* we though was strange.

We requested a suite as there was 3 in a room, however, this turned out to be a standard double. We spoke to reception to ask if we'd got the right room and they confirmed that a separate "put up bed" would be sent (ideal if your a couple with a small child) but not what I'd have expected as a suite so if you want a suite.. check first.

Service around the pool area was poor.. maybe because it was low season but considering the number of guests.. it took 20 minutes to have drinks brought out and that was based on 4 soft drinks, the food followed 10 mins later.

Breakfast, well what can I say.. we got down with 10 mins to spare before they stopped serving and they'd already cleared most of the breakfast away so get down early. Also compared to other 5* hotels in the area, the selection was rather poor.

Lunch was a buffet, the food was acceptable.

The Spa facilities where nice but not great. The indoor pool area had a "strange smell" to it.. rather like a sewer so we didn't stay in there long but the massage was good.

Would I go again? maybe not but then this is only my opinion and everyone has different expectations. It's a lovely hotel.. in a good location but just not 5*

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill_muzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to clarify that there is a coffee machine in all rooms and that we have several package for the mini bar on request.
Also we are aware that there is still room for improvement and we will keep on the good work to achieve higher standarts.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and show you the improvements done.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel in the Mediterranean Portugal. As a five-star hotel, guest must be prepared for expenses: wi-fi, tours, etc. Nothing is for free or complimentary, some difficults eventually as the hotel is a bit far from commercial shops and restaurants. Its location, though, is very nice, beautiful, quiet and charming. Nice facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gljamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review posted on Tripadvisor.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,794 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,049 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing