We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location.. a few things let it down from truely being a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel, great location.. a few things let it down from truely being a 5 star”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The downfalls of this hotel are minor but at a 5 star rating you would expect them to be covered: 1) hotel rooms have no tea making facilities 2) the mini bar was empty and never stocked during our stay 3) the satellite channels only had an british new channel, nor was there an amercian entertainment channel - this was very limited in comparison to other hotels at this level 4) no service is provided while sunbathing - you need to go to the bar for snacks or drinks 5) the breakfast although varied didnt have an omellete station, the scambled eggs where not nice, the sausages where also not of good quality which left the hot breakfast pretty slim. 6) and finally having to pay for beach deck chairs

The plus points where around the quality of the rooms, the modern decor, the location was fantastic and the fact they the hotel has a nice pool, garden area and direct beach access. The hotel was clean, if it could pick up on the above small things they truely would be a first choice hotel for me in portugal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and gives us your feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Our guests suggestions are taking very seriously and we are aware that there is still room for improvements. Please do rests assure that we will make every effort to constantly improve our services and standards.
Just want to clarify that the mini bar can be stocked per request as well as the tea making facilities and that the beach deck chairs are not a hotel service. Also we are working on having a new station at the restaurant to provide a more complete service.
Hope to have another opportunity to welcome at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura and show you the improvements done.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    771
    262
    88
    52
See reviews for
537
1,171
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Two generations of the da Silva family travelled by car from Lisboa to Madrid in the Summer of 2012, we also travelled in Portugal from Algarve to Porto. During the trip, we stayed in the Holiday Inn hotels, but in Algarve we wanted to be close to the sea and Crowne Plaza our pick. We started the days with a marvelous breakfast, we enjoyed the sea, swimming pool, spa, and we could even take some rest in our confortable rooms with view to the sea. The price was a bargain if compared with price of hotels in London and Paris where my family has been. Crowne Plaza Vilamoura is, for sure, our destination for future summers in Portugal. The only cons is that we had to leave the hotel in order to have a typical meal in Portugal, the food for lunch in the restaurant was buffet style.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank da_Silva_em_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Mr. Silva,
Thank you so much for you enthusiastic review.
I glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and services and you would like to return.
Looking forward to welcome you bak next summer.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilmenau
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is situated a few minutes from the marina and just a few meters from the beach. In addition, it has a large pool and sunbathing area. Many of the guests (especially the english who are by far the majority) seemed to be there for golfing.

Rooms are very nice, spacious, very beautiful, and with great view from the balcony.
But for 5 stars, I found the service a bit lacking compared to my expectations, e.g. the bathroom could have been cleaner and the staff did not always pay attention to fill up shampoo etc.

Breakfast was not bad but we certainly had seen better. For instance there was no green tea, no muesli (only sweetened cereal). Even for black tea the hot water was often spoiled by drops of coffee as the automata were leaking.

Overall it is surely very good, but far from being perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvTripperIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking your time and gives such kind feedback regarding the hotel facilities, services and staff.
We are conscious that there is still room for improvement and I assure you that we will keep on the hard work to achieve higher standards.
Looking forward to welcome you at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned after a lovely week, mainly to watch The Portugal Masters again. It was the first time at this hotel but after a few visits to Portugal we fancied a change and we are glad that we did. We arrived early in the morning and were told that check in was at 3.00pm but if we would accept a lower floor we could have a room on the second floor straight away, but we decided to come back later for something higher. When we returned later our room was ready for us on the sixth floor with a side view overlooking Quarteria beach and harbour which was lovely. A kindly man took us to the room and explained the facilities to us including the glass panel that separates the bathroom from the bedroom with a shutter that is operated by a switch, which was unusual to say the least ! The bed was enormous and really comfortable and we both slept well all week. As I said earlier, the only slight irritation was the service in the Dining Room depending on the staff at the time. Some were very quick to come to the table where other had to be asked to take our order for drinks. The hostess that greeted us at the beginning of the week was helpful and seemed to know of the problem but when she was off our request for a change of table was not met with the same attitude. The food was good and the fresh fruit every day plentiful. There was a good choice of dishes and the vegetables were fresh so we ate very well. We had been told that the drinks in the hotel were expensive but for a 5 star we did not think this was the case. If we go again next year we will definitely try to go to this hotel in room 625 !

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter and the views better . The rooms overlooking the Casino are also noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad to read that you realy enjoy your stay at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura apart from the small issue in the restaurant.
Hope to have another opportunity to welcome you at our hotel soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is a decent hotel, the room (1008) was a decent size (deluxe) with a nice balcony overlooking side view to the sea. I read reviews of the casino next door being noisy, we had no such problem. This might have been because it was off peak season. The spa in the basement was top notch, with the works available for RnR. And the hotel bar was very relaxed with live music on a couple of the nights we were there.The swimming pool was massive, and plenty of space for soaking in some rays. The staff were very polite and accomodating, would stay here again. Good location for the marina, with plenty of pubs and restaurants

Room Tip: 10th floor decent views, 1008 had a decent sideview of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scratch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura Hotel and for your feedback regarding your stay.
Looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have just returned to the UK after 2 wonderful weeks at this lovely Hotel. I have never written on this site before but having read some negative reviews before we left the UK I thought I would add my comments.

Rooms.....Clean, modern,comfortable, maid service excellent, stunning view

Location.....Superb, could not be better 2 minutes to the beach 10 minutes to the Marina

Restaurant.....Clean, friendly staff, buffett service, a wide variety of choice, breakfasts excellent, tables cleared promptly of dirty dishes.

Sun beds....very comfortable, never had a problem in getting one and if we did always plenty of 'Fat Boys' which were very comfortable also.

Will hopefully be returning next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret_ormerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Margaret,
I would like to thank you for taking your time and gives us such kind feedback regarding our hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is my 3rd stay in this hotel this year. I felt I wanted to write another review as in my opinion this hotel could go from being good to excellent. Firstly what's good about this hotel? LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! You really can't beat it. A 2 minute walk to the beach bar opposite is a must for lunch or sunset. Secondly the rooms are of a very high standard, although I must comment that the amenities leave a lot to be desired. A packet of tissues and soap in a dispenser. On my previous visits I have upgraded to a Junior Suite and had a deluxe room. The main difference being the view and a slightly larger room. My biggest, annoying issue with this hotel is the coffee/ lack of in the rooms. I asked at check in for a kettle, which was never delivered. I asked again and was told I would have to leave a deposit. I then asked why there were no cups.....and was told that I had to pay a deposit. For a cup?? Really, in a 5 star hotel. In the end i gave up and mentioned it at check out and was told that Priority Club members receive this complimentary. I am a PC member and wasn't told this at check in. The other 'annoying' thing is breakfast- constant lack of cups for coffee and lack of staff clearing tables. I think that they'd cut back because of the time of year. However, I would return to this hotel mainly because of the location and the rooms. The tea and coffee making facilities should be standard (they are at the Hilton) and would it be that difficult to provide pots of tea and coffee at breakfast? Small tweaks could make this hotel great.

Room Tip: For sun set- get one facing Vilamoura i.e Casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MP_CP_Vilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Manolo,
I want to thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura to stay for the 3rd time this year.
We are conscious that there is still space for improvement and we will do all efforts in order to improve our services and standards in order to continuously be our guests’ preference.
Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Kindest Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4,978 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#9 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#10 of 36 in Vilamoura
1,145 reviews
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#5 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing