We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star but not 5 star service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star but not 5 star service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

we thought we would try this refurbished hotel and it has been tastfully done rooms,pool area,etc but why can they not get the important things right a good variety at breakfast but the eggs bacon beans cold and was surpised to see pea;s and carrots in there at breakfast 1 person serving drinks yet at times 2 doormen opening the door cannot see the need put a sliding door in and get them to help behind the bar all the mirrors in the lifts are broken and dangerous surprised that there is no pool bar and that you can get a drink in a glaas and take it to the pool we will stay there again maybe they will get it right with time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaVilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor on the 5th of May 2011.

Your reviews have been analyzed internally and, we can assure you, that they will help us to continuously improve our services.

Although all efforts are made to provide positive guest experience to all our clients, sometimes expectations are not met, at the desired levels.

Thank you and I do look forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.

Victor Nunes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,081
    746
    250
    85
    50
See reviews for
515
1,106
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (640)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester - UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed at the Cowne Plaza Vilamoura & had a very disappointing experience & would NOT recommend this Hotel. On arrival there were 5 people ahead of us waiting to be checked in, there was only one member of staff on Reception, no apology or acknowledgement of the delay. When we arrived in our room it was very pleasantly decorated, the furnishings were of a good standard & the bed was excellent, however, Mini bar empty..? non of the usual 5 star extras ie - no slippers ( it was a hardwood, cold floor) no cotton buds, shoe polisher, etc. The thing that we felt was most disappoiting was the lack of interest form the staff, offhand & disinterested from the Reception to the Bar & Restaurant....absolutley no charm or courtesy offered. The breakfast was very poor, under cooked Eggs, Bacon etc & very limited choice. We used the SPA & there were people on mobile fones speaking very loudly & no staff around to assist with controlling this, the pool in the spa had children using it & it detracted from the SPA feel.....when you pay E125 for a massage each...you expect tranquility!
As this Hotel has only been open for 8 months we expected super service & attention to detail....we will stay at our old favorite the Tivoli Marina next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaVilamoura, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor on the 3rd of May 2011.

In as much as all efforts are made to provide positive guest experience at all times, expectations are not, sometimes, met at satisfactory levels.

Your reviews have been discussed internally and please do rest assured that your comments will help us provide better guest experience.

Should we have another opportunity to serve you, we are certain that your stay with us will be a memorable one.

Thank you and I do look forward to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura.

Victor Nunes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very good rooms, beside the beach and excellent breakfast . Bar service not great but staff very friendly - 2 min walk to marina with good restaurants - fabulous pool area with kids play area . Bedrooms excellent and reception staff attentive . Indoor spa very good but with 10 euro charge which wad off putting. I would happily return to this hotel with family .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Herbie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Crowne Plaza Vilamoura. The hotel has been recently completely refurbished throughout. The rooms are beautiful and very stylish with a glass walled bathroom which has an electric blind for discreetness!!! The hotel is very modern with a 'beach/sea' theme. There is a wall mounted plasma TV in the rooms but only news channels and maybe one other channel is in english,however you dont go all that way to watch tv so it wasnt really a problem. I will start with the very minor negatives and get them out of the way first. Apart from the TV there is only a small espresso machine in the rooms and no other tea or coffee making facilities for a tiny espesso cup it costs €3.50 which is very expensive, there is also a mini bar which is extensive but again expensive probably in line with a 5* hotel. We booked a superior room with a sea view, however the description is misleading as it was only a very partial seal view with the large dome from the indoor pool in the view. The full sea views are at the front of the hotel and the rooms, quite understandably, are a lot more expensive. We did get what we asked for but just be aware that unless you pay the most expensive price for a room you are likely to be at the sides of the hotel with only a parital sea view. The breakfasts were lovely and were up to 5* standard with lots of choice.It was not the usual cattle market buffet style you get with other hotels. It seemed very relaxed and 'up market'. I would imagine it gets much busier in high season though, the only niggle was that the plates for hot food could have been warm as the food was cold when you got it to the table. The staff were very professional but a little stand offish, they got you what you wanted straight away but there was no friendliness about them. I suppose they were just doing there job but in other 4 & 5 star hotels i have stayed in you can sometimes have a little bit of friendly 'banter' with the staff which I think adds to the holiday experience. The pool snacks were poor for the price paid and the internet was €3 per hour and very slow. There were computers in the lounge which had strict parental guidance making it impossible to sign onto some mail servers. All this sounds really petty and niggley and yes it probably is. I am extremely 'picky' when it comes to hotels and research for months before booking. It always pays of though as despite the small niggles I would definatley recommend this hotel. Vilamoura is a lovely resort with million pound plus boats moored in the marina with the plush cars to match, bentleys, porsches and the like. The restaurants on the front are pricey but at least you know everything you get is fresh as they are so busy all the time. There are restaurant reviews on this site and most of the top ones are off the main marina, we wnt to take a peek and they were all empty, this concerned us as in one restaurant the fish cabinet outside smelled rancid. I suspect these restaurants would be great to try in high season. All in all a great short break and well worth a visit, shame about the weather as it rained for 2 days but there is nothing we could have done about that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblehead09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is a recent hotel (one year) and so it may need to consolidate its service. Staff is efficient and friendly at bar, reception, concierge, restaurant. Maid service is one which has room for improvement... but no worries about cleanliness just a question of 5* in europe should be 5* by standard in any item. Location is fabulous if you are looking for beach holidays... and getting fun and entertainment as bonus: beach is short walk (1 minute), casino is next door, Marina and restaurants are within 10-15 minutes walk. So everything is there. Rooms are very nice and modern and most of them have "innovative" bathrooms (glass as walls... but if you like privacy there is a way to do that even you lost the style). Balconies are great and so If you like sunrise choose "Quarteira side" ; if you like sunset choose "Vilamoura side" ; if you like sun and have money to upgrade... choose front seaview ! Pool is OK despite not warm... I would say it was ICE !!! plenty of sunbeds and "chairs" BUT for sunbeds around pool if the hotel is full can be difficult as people does the usual "towel party" ... booking in advance and left for hours which is nice to see as pool towels are red and so nice touch in opposite to grass green. I do not like when hotel ask for fees for indoor pools and a daily 10 euros/each can be expensive. Bar and drinks are expensive (and be careful with Nespresso coffee machine in rooms... if you use... 3,5 euros each). Breakfast is OK but it is not the top (again because this is a 5* hotel) namely the so called orange juice is something not acceptable for an hotel in Algarve... the region has great oranges and it is cheap fruit there... I do not understand what are the drink called as orange juice but if the one I had for 4 days is the usual so we must complaint.
Overall this is a very good hotel can be used for business and leisure and has almost everything to be one of the best in area... location, price and quality . With some improvement they will deserve the 5* they have.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUREJIC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel is well appointed and probably just about deserves its 5 star rating. The rooms have been recently refurbished and the bathrooms are excellent. If you want to know what facilities the hotel has, you need to print off the page on the website or use the in room television and read the A-Z guide. The drinks at the hotel are a bit expensive and the evening entertainment was rather average - but we dutifully clapped after every song! This hotel has a great indoor pool and jacuzzi, but it will cost you 10 euros per person for the day. During our visit to Portugal 19/04/11 - 24/04 /11 it never stopped raining, so use of the spa was very useful - if not expensive (2 adults x 6 days - children under 12 are free). Also, there is a very good, under used and not very well advertised, tennis court which doubles up as a 5 a side football pitch at the side of the hotel (see if you can find it!!). Internet is available but it isn't free

Room Tip: Good chinese buffet resturant on high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiceoneFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

This hotel was lovely, the ambience was glowing. A true stylish and indulgent hotel. The room was very modern and clean and beautifully decorated. The outdoor facillities, pool and large beanbag beds were fantastic. Breakfast held a good selection and staff were friendly and helpfull. Minuites from the beach and around 10 minuite walk to Villamoura. A little expensive for poolside drinks, but nothing any different to other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PipkinLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
1.1 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#5 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,746 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Ampalius
Vila Gale Ampalius
#7 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dom Pedro Marina
Dom Pedro Marina
#8 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve

Property: Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
Address: Rua do Oceano Atlantico Algarve, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-478, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#9 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated, the Hotel offers 327 spacious rooms and suites, all with private balcony, individual air conditioning, wireless high speed internet, TV, Nespresso coffee machine and in room safe. Other facilities include a dedicated Golf Reception desk, an outdoor Putting Green and a Multi-sports area. The Almond Tree Wellness Spa includes treatment rooms, Hamman and dry Sauna, a modern Fitness Center, indoor heated pool and extra large whirlpool. Also available is an outdoor pool with apx. 1000 m2 and a large sundeck, with full view over the Vilamoura beach. Local and International gastronomy is available in the Restaurant Cataplana with daily buffet, a la carte options as well as dinner Al Fresco in the Patio. The Caravela Bar & Lounge by the pool area is the perfect choice for enjoying a drink or having a light snack. For Meetings & Congresses the Hotel offers 1488 m2 of meeting space, all on same Floor, equipped with modern technology and benefiting of natural sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Hotel Vilamoura
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing