We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find”

The Fisherman's Shack
Ranked #17 of 187 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited this restaurant 3 times in a 7 night stay as the food and service were both excellent. We tried the sea bass (off the bone), the fillet steak, king prawn piri piri and the homemade chocolate mousse was to die for.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoe905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    110
    34
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mediocre old seadog.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Located in the somewhat dingy and uninspiring Olympus hotel complex, so no chance of a nice pic with concrete as a backdrop. The sea food was average to say the least. Mussels marinere were rubbery and lacking in number (6). Lobster was missing its claws. Ironically (considering the restaurant name) the non-seafood stood it's ground better, my 9yr old enjoyed the spare ribs. Service was OTT with our glasses (sometimes the wrong ones) filled far too frequently. Toilets clean but tissue bins in the ladies overflowing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mixed catch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Cosy restaurant away from the Marina. Lovely atmosphere and attentive and entertaining staff. Our food was a bit mixed, which is why we've only given 3 stars. The kebab was very disappointing as some of the fish on it was very overlooked. The glass of port at the end of the meal was a nice touch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A lovely meal (of fish of course) and beautifully served and presented. Just short of 100 euros for 3 with one bottle of wine was a bit steep. Hmmmm..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eileendover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food, great staff. Must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lovely it here. Had 2 meals here on our recent holiday both were fab. Reasonable food, great selection, staff very friendly and helpful. My husband had the Shanghai Steak (Beef) and it was lovely and I had the Monkfish which was excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank momster_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Shack also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to The Fisherman's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing