We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service food atmosphere faultless”

The Fisherman's Shack
Ranked #15 of 194 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent service food atmosphere faultless”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a must and we went on trip advisor recommendations. It may not be on the busy marina and not have the views but I would recommend this every time the food was first class turbot 15e incredible value the steak was also to die for. The service first class the waiters and waitress were very friendly the atmosphere cosy and friendly everyone in the restaurant was of the same opinion and many were regulars. This place is a must.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank plumbowl2163431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    126
    38
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Food Yummy”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We all enjoyed our meals which is unusual, l they also do a set menu 3 courses for 18 euro which my son had and he enjoyed all the courses, great food the only fault is that may be thay need to update background music bit of a bore but apart from that highly recommended

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARKEYLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“restaurant for a fishionado”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As a seafood lover this was a place I had not been to before but am very glad that I did. The service, table presentation, etc was excellent -spotless clean linen and cutlery and waiter attention at all times (topping up drinks servings of cataplana, etc) - we literally only had to lift the food and drink to our mouths; we were treated like royalty. The food itself was of the highest quality; we had the Cataplana with monkfish and prawns after a starter of pate. This was quite simply delicious and we metaphorically licked the bowl clean. Washed down with a very smooth house white this was the best restaurant I have ever been to in Portugal. It was onlyt spoilt later in the evening by the arrival of a large group of about 12 rowdy golfers who thought they were the life and soul of the Algarve. Fortunately it was time for us to leave by then.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fodenman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Difficult to fault this establishment, even the confusion around our repeat booking was handled reasonably well and didn't take the shine off the evening as the quality of the food and old school environment stands out. The only restaurant we returned to during our recent stay in Vilamoura. The pasta dish with Pernod was great as was the Turbot dish with prawns. My wife felt similarly about the Sole and the Bass (Fish will be filleted at the table if required). Approx. 30 / 35 Euros per head on our visits with a nice wine. Set Menus available at 14.95 (2 course) and 17.95 (3 course). Only advise I would give them is to slow down their service as I did feel the need to turn them away from our table a couple of times. Open 6.30pm to 10.30pm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RandRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scunmy”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great to see nice Brits with their children enjoying excellent food service and hospitality with others from around the world...dinner at 9.30pm with the kids is just FABULOUS! Fish is excellent...if you enjoy Seabass whole... .its the place to come

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NWJAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fisherman's Shack also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to The Fisherman's Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing