We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Don Alfonso

Don Alfonso
Ranked #13 of 193 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Been to Don Alfonso two years on the trot. Lovely clean restaurant, and the food is really good. I had lamb and it was beautifully cooked and well presented. Staff buzzing around we're terrific and attentive. Not sure about TV in the restaurant but maybe that is just me. We enjoy this more than any other Vilamoura restaurant and it is handy for taxis and the Marina bars. One disappointment was that last year they had a waitress who sang beautifully at the end of the evening but apparently she has left. Still highly recommended. Mike Vaudin. Guernsey

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJudge546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    168
    43
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Kirby
Level Contributor
163 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food, classy design, good service”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

An altogether super evening, restaurant is very classy, great design and layout. We had super steaks, good value and good service. Handy
For the marina. This place was recommended to us by a nice couple from Ireland who we met golfing in the area.Good recommendation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TisGed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another good visit - a year on!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

As we visited the restaurant in 2012, we decided to give it another try on 2013.

It was a warm evening in October and the large doors were open which give it a nice feel. The staff were attentive and helpful.

We had a range of starters (8 of us dined). The foie gras I had for starter was excellent. All of the other diners were happy with their starters and there were no complaints.

I opted for fillet steak for main which was accompanied by a nice mushroom sauce. The rest of our party had steaks and Chateaubriand with Bearnaise Sauce. The meat, sauces and vegetables were all cooked to perfection.

Another successful visit and will definitely be on our list to visit again when we are back in Vilamoura in 2014.

Top class food and service!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

You would be mad to visit Vilamoura without going to this restaurant. Both the steak and seafood were excellent. The waiting staff polite and well informed. The best meal we have had on our trip. Please visit!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncater
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don alfonso, don alfonso, so good we ate there twice”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went on the recommendation of a friend who is involved with the European golf tour as this is where they eat.
From start to finish the welcome, the service, the quality of food and the wine list were without fault
A lovely place to eat, away from the harbour but close enough to access.
Fresh sole, expertly filleted at the table was some of the best fish I've had in a long time.
Returned three nights later as it was so good and sampled the lamb which again was terrific.
Would definitely return and would recommend anyone travelling to the Algarve to try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markY462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Alfonso also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Don Alfonso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing