We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Alfonso

Don Alfonso
Ranked #13 of 186 Restaurants in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“top class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Top class restaurant in Villamoura. One street back from the marina at the taxi rank and Cabin bar, excellent value for money. Food and service was top class. The restaurant is quite busy which is always a good sign. Good selection of food, well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    160
    38
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good food in contemporary new surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have been going to Don Alfonso now for a number of years. My family and I go to the Vilamoura area 3 or 4 times a year and we always eat here at least once. The restaurant has been updated in some way a number of times over the years but the latest is the most comprehensive and now offers a very modern decor and ambience.
The food has always been of a high standard, not Michelin star quality but good, tasty well-cooked food. This year was no different over 2 visits in 4 days. All the fish dishes we tried were fabulous and, although the steaks we had on our second visit were not quite of the same standard, they were also cooked precisely as requested and were still very good indeed.
Service on both visits was friendly and attentive and the cost of the food is not excessive.
Highly recommended restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“average for price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

lovely restaurant,very busy.food was only average for price.i ordered seabass which was put in front of me no offer to fillet it.goats cheese stater was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Really good food in a nice restaurent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

It's always a very good standard and they continually update the restaurant. We go back year after year.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poxyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Refurbished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Recently refurbished that gives the restaurant a really niice modern feel to it. Food was good with varios choices. The fish of the day was sole whicch came in varios sizes and was very good. Service was ok but could have bee a bit sharper. The only complaint would be that there was not enough vegatables and sides with the mains, so order extra. Not cheap but well worth the visit and a place we would go back to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Alfonso also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Been to Don Alfonso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing