We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dismal”
Review of The Zanzibar Restaurante - CLOSED

The Zanzibar Restaurante
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Zanzibar is an Imposing, Grand looking building that offers you the promise of a great dining experience, and it does not disappoint. Whether you choose to eat casually on the ground floor or terrace or fine dine in the beautifully decorated 1st Floor A la Carte dining room, the food is first class. We use only the finest and freshest produce and cook every dish fresh from scratch. The staff are friendly and welcoming when you arrive and are attentive and efficient during your meal. Our only concern is that you have an enjoyable visit and come back often. Our greatest thrill is serving the numerous customers who dine with us again and again.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dismal”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Reopened based on previous reviews. Slow service and meals lacking imagination, good ingredients and taste. No effort being made to compete unlike the restaurants closer to the marina where they have to work hard to attract customer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobA368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“SADLY THE ZANZIBAR IS NOW CLOSED”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

During our visit to the Old village we were sad and surprised to find that the Zanzibar has been closed and is now up for sale or rent.
The owner closed for the winter season and did not reopen.
So if you wish to purchase a restaurant it will cost you 850000 euro.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank hadden23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good surroundings”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have visited this restaurant on several occasions over the last few years.
Food is always excellent and staff very friendly.
Have eaten most things on the menu and everything is always well presented.
Breakfast is good too.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Werdna57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent food, interesting conversation”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

On what appeared at first glance to be a quiet night, soon livened up to a first class meal ... Swordfish and Steak if you ask, the owners were a mine of local information, the Chef outstanding (a former chef speaks trust me) heartily recommended worth the trouble to seek this one out. Late review as only just remembered the name!!

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerryfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Must admit I did not eat here but I went to visit my dear old friend Fabio who works here. I have known him for over 12 years and still the same friendly guy he always was. The food here is good I have seen it for myself and always busy, may sometimes a bit slow but hey we are on holiday - what is the rush. Landed up having a drink (large) on the house cannot say you get that in England when only popping in to say hello and was treated with the upmost respect. Next time I go back I will eat here for sure - situated in the Old Village - and children very welcome - mine alas are now grown up.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vilamoura2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Zanzibar Restaurante also viewed

Vilamoura, Quarteira
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing