We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Luxury at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from 8 night stay, if I was a golfer wow but alas not. The Hotel is lovely and very clean, the rooms are more than adequate, pools big, sunbeds plenty and comfortable. Negatives are that something is missing, the place lacks soul especially after 6pm, even though it has various bars they are empty. 2 days running the pools were closed most of the day as kids had poohed in them, surely some rules should be in place alas no the management informed me its the fathers fault? The bus to town is a nice touch but could be more frequent as the alternate is a good 60 minute walk or at least 12 euro each way taxi fare. Why the maids choose to turn the beds and bring clean towels after 10:30 at night? And why charge 15 euro per day for wifi, or why charge 15 euro for a burger or sandwich by the pool its just unnesecary. I will usually gladly pay the going rate wherever whatever but for quality and did pay here but it doesn't mean I agree, in summary we would return for a short weekend relaxation

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have nice views but the top (3rd) floor obviously has no one walking above you at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,058
    927
    222
    51
    33
See reviews for
843
1,501
77
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

my first comment of this hotel was that everything was spotlessly clean so I therefore can not fault the hotel and commend them for maintaining the hotel so well. It was a very luxurious hotel and beautiful to look at being compartively more modern and appealing than the other tivoli at the marina. The pool staff were very approachable and willing to help and the pool facilities especially sunbeds were of the highest quality.
However, upon arrival you could immediately criticise reception. They appeared rude and obnoxious and efficieny certainly wasn't there high point as receiving their service took a fair amout of time. When asking for services from reception they seemed very arrogant and unwilling too help. which in a 5* hotel shouldn't be the case.
Another criticism of the hotel is that at 10.30 pm they were still running turn down services, so if you were trying to have an early night, you were disrupted and one night at 11pm all we could here was banging and moving of furniture as the maid was cleaning the room next door, this was simply inapropriate.
The hotel was quite frankly in the middle of no where, a minimum 10euro taxi drive to the marina which obviously gets quite expensive. Although they ran a shuttle bus this was not near frequent enough in comparison to the Hilton which was half the distance to the marina and they had frequent transfers.
The hotel also took advantage of the hotel being in the middle of no where by charging ludicrously high prices, although this is expected in 5* resorts they took this to the extreme in price discriminating as quite simply you had no place else to get lunch or drinks as the nearest bars and restaraunts were at the marina.
Another criticism of this hotel was that there was no adults pool which was particularly problematic. A few times during a visit both main pools were closed off during children having, 'uh-oh issues' which is simply not acceptable. They should have an adults only pool so if this accidents do happen adults have some place to go and cool off. when we suggested this to reception yet again she very abruptly told us it wasn't their faults it was the parents, which although true, you would expect them to consider criticisims as most 5* resorts usually have a designated adults session.
All in all, my stay was very relaxing and revitalsing, however the hotel did manage to irritate me at times, especially with the pool situations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natallielclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on bed and breakfast for a week in June 2013. It is a 5 star hotel and in my opinion lives up to this status.I really enjoyed my breakfast every morning where you can either sit inside or out on the patio.

My room number was 120 which overlooked the swimming pool and Victoria Golf Course. The room was fabulous with a walk in shower and a separate bath. It also had a large flat screen TV, mini bar and coffee maker. The bed was extremely comfortable and I enjoyed a great nights sleep every night. The room also had a large balcony with a luxurious sun bed. The swimming pool also boasts the best sun beds I have every used in my life. There is also a poolside bar and the staff are very attentive. Similarly, the house maids are pleasant and my room was always made up by the time I returned to it.

Although the hotel is located outside Vilamoura, it does provide a courtesy shuttle bus to/from Vilamoura Marina around 4 times a day. Seem to recall that the last bus left Vilamoura Marina around 11pm. Just ask reception for a note of the timetable. You can walk into Vilamoura but it will take you around 20-25 mins. The paths are flat so it is an easy walk.

There is a spa located on the top floor of the hotel and you can gain free access to the web in a room just across from the reception. If you play golf, why not hit balls on the range at the Vicoria Golf Course. As a hotel guest you are given free range balls. You can hire clubs to use at the range for about 5 euros.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. I know that I will return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have just returned from the Trivoli Victoria after a 5 day stay at the hotel...

The hotel is beautiful and amazing, the surrounding are gorgeous and the location isn't too bad. There are FREE buses that take you to the Vilamoria Marina which run all Day and all night, easy to pick up right outside the hotel. So why worry about location when you can get a 15 minute bus to the beach or the marina!

The rooms..... WOW... Huge shower, huge bath, walk in wardrobe, comfy bed, flat screen tv, double bed on the balcony, it was lovely, clean and spotless. Maids came daily with fresh towels and sweets left off the bed with the weather forecast for the following day!!

The sunbeds!! The quality of the sunbeds are very posh, like memory foam mattresses on double beds and big circle beds and also big wooden bed with shade for children. Yes people do reserve the sunbeds but there are plenty of sunbeds and at 9am
When we used to get up we were one of the first one on the sunbeds. Why people moan about other people reserving sunbeds is silly as why would you want to stay in your room till midday and then come and try and find a sunbed. Come on , make the most of your holiday and enjoy the sun :) I don't see any problems with the sunbed situation at all. We certainly always had the choice of many places to choose from even at 10am in the morning!

The waiters and pool staff are very helpful and will help to ensure you are happy at all times.

I would say the only thing that lets this hotel down is the price of the food and drink. It is quite pricey but there are ways to be able to do things cheaply.

We were only bed and breakfast and we used to take fruit back to the room so we could snack on it during the day and also down Vilamoria we spent 20 euros at the supermarket and that done food for lunches for 5 days.

So although it is quite pricey think smartly and there are ways you don't have to spend a fortune to eat and drink!

All in all I absolutely loved this hotel and would 100% return and recommend it to friends and family.

Thank you Trivoli for making our stay enjoyable and pleasant :)



  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuandchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
314 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Firstly we did not stay at this hotel but were allowed to use the pool as we were staying at the Residences which is part of the Tivoli group...
The reason for the review is due to the sun bed situation... I cannot believe that a hotel of this calibre allows people to go downstairs at stupid o'clock and reserve sun beds... On all 3 occasions when we went to the pool, bearing in mind it was 9 o'clock in the morning, the majority of the sun beds had been reserved. For the best part of an hour and a half there was only us (6 people) and a mother with her 2 young children and at around 10.30 people decided to come and sit on the beds that they had reserved earlier. Some people didn't even get on the sun beds they had reserved until after lunch.
Unfortunately the sun bed situation seems to be the same wherever you go except for a hotel we stayed in in Cape Town - they had a striclty 'no reserving sun beds' policy. This should be the same in ALL hotels. First come first serve...
We ate a couple of times at the pool - the service was slow and expensive for what you got.

Room Tip: Clearly management aren't concerned about people reserving sun beds so if you are staying at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Residences in a 2 bed overlooking the pool and Golf Course - Block 4. The first week was lovely as not all schools had finished so could go down at 11 and still plenty of beds but the second week - those with little ones were up and round the pool screaming at 8am so if you go in height of season and want a lie in you may want to choose another block.
Apartments are clean spacious and have everything you would need to cook and live comfortably . Beds are a bit hard but that's a personal preference. Cleaning everyday - very thorough and no complaints here.
There is really nothing to do for 12 + kids - great kids club for 8 and under but the complex could do with a play pitch or animation team for older children as we are used to with the Rui chain. If you like golf and going to bed early this is the holiday for you
but beware - there is an all night open air nightclub across the other side of the golf course which starts at midnight and finishes at 6.30 with the revellers not fully departed until 7.30am - you can hear everything - every beat every song car horn drunk singing and motorbike - we resorted to having the security shutters down to keep the thumping out . It is only open for 6 weeks last two weeks of July and all of Aug and for 6 nights a week - when I complained to reception they were well aware of it and had made their feelings known to the owners as it could be heard in every block up to the reception.
The hotel pool is nice to pop to in afternoon but v expensive - you can take your own drinks in cans and plastic round the residences pool but at the hotel its €5 for a beer and 4€ for a water - there is no atmosphere in the hotel in the evening and everyone pretty much goes out.
The bar in the residences closes at 8.30 so there is nothing to do there either . We didn't eat lunch at either as €8 for a toastie is a bit steep and the menus weren't all that inviting .
We normally stay nr Gale and have lots of favourites restaurants but the ones in the Marina are overpriced and not that impressive. €20 for a starter and €20 for a steak with no sides - its like eating in the Ivy every night so not impressed with the selection when two courses for 3 was £150 per night although Akavit was the pick oft the bunch but you have to book and they only have two sittings 8 and 10 .
The nearest supermarket is 10 mins( Alisuper) drive away- you can get fresh rolls and milk and little bits ( like a spar) and the nearest cash machine is practically at the Marina so if you don't have a car you will be really stuck for essentials - Continente( Like Tesco) at Algarve Shopping or Appolonia ( like Waitrose)n Amancil are great for food shopping but everything is pricey in Portugal so even for us it is becoming too expensive so may resort back to HB Rui Hotels as they offer much better value and entertainment for Adults and Teenagers.

The golf is great and they offer a summer special when 1 child per adult goes free so a round after 11am was between €43 and €79 per round depending on the course. This is the real reason we went so were impressed with the courses and Luis at the Reception and Jose the Victoria Pro coach were excellent and would highly recommend them both .
Would return but only if we could get a good deal on the accommodation price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudge74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

On day 3 of a 14 day holiday and I think I'd rather go home. Very, very little to do if you dont play golf.

Visually everything is impressive, the views, the multiple pools and the rooms. Staff are friendly.

The small bar area has a small selection of food - the fresh pizzas are good, but you will tire of this, burgers and hot dogs.

But the biggest problem, quite recently I think, is that staying on residences across the road from the hotel, and all you can hear until 7am is the loud distorted nighclub music. Total nightmare - did I really pay nearly 400 euros a night for this??? Until someone shuts that club down - Avoid avoid avoid

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AElmariesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilamoura
2.3 mi away
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
Tivoli Marina Vilamoura
#6 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,804 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Vilamoura
Four Seasons Vilamoura
#2 of 36 in Vilamoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Vilamoura - Algarve
1.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
6.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort

Property: Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort
Address: Av. dos Descobrimentos, Vilamoura, Quarteira 8125-309, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Quarteira > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Vilamoura, the Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort is pure sophistication. From the amazing rooms to the panoramic views out over the beautiful fairways of the Oceanico Victoria Golf Course, designed by the legendary Arnold Palmer, the surroundings of this 5 star resort make it an authentic 360º experience. For Conferences, events and meetings which require the highest quality, the facilities at the Tivoli Victoria include rooms with a total area of 900 m2 and capacity for up to 950 people as well as the latest in audio-visual technology. And for pure leisure, at this hotel near the beach in Vilamoura in the Algarve, take a dip in one of the 4 amazing swimming pools (one exclusively for adults - +16 years - from 1 July to 30 September) or sit down to some culinary delicacies prepared our chefs in one of our many restaurants and bars. For a touch of the Far East, revive your spirits by pampering yourself at the Elements Spa by Banyan Tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura
Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort Portugal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing