We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sesimbra Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sesimbra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a stop over before travelling south to the Algarve. Great hotel, the room was just superb, vast and with enough wardrobe space to satisfy anyone. But then we discovered they were having a make-over and were running late. No restaurant, no outside pool, no breakfast unless you had it in your room; which we did for two days. Such a pity because it is right on the beach and very well appointed. We shall want to return if only to see what they are like when fully operational!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Corderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 594 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

A perfecf place to relax. Very good facilities. The spa service is excellent. Very good Food and service. The view from room is simply beautifull and inspiring. It's a very good choice for a relax weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

In Lisbon, I'm in love, I would have lived there, all that familiar and nice looking, all friendly, the subway we always helped with maps, all with a smile. But this country is not for felting on the beach, from our town 45 minutes and you are in Lisbon, costs 4.5 euros each way. By Metro thumb, took a trip to all the excursions on the open bus, visited one of the largest aquariums in the world, visited the zoo, but do not forget about the ocean of course. In June, it was 32 ​​to 38 degrees, the water is not very warm.
The hotel is super, there all rooms with sea view, huge, at 30 meters!! All modern, clean.
I always try to go to the hotel only after reading the good reviews and did not lost. Fed too well, we took only breakfast, there are many restaurants nearby, but it is considered a fishing village (Sesimbra), so there is solid fish dishes, delicious grilled salmon and swordfish.
In general, all the five and for the hotel and of course for the country! I would like to come for a few days in Lisbon, Porto buy their fortified wine, very sweet and tasty))))

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

went there on a package holiday bought on a discount website so can't comment on value to much. hotel was lovely, walk out front door on to beach pretty much. went in January so hotel not very busy. nice weather, great view from hotel balcony. wasn't a double bed, 2 singles put together. got a meal in the hotel one night, was quite nice. breakfast was included and really really nice, great selection and fry was very good. spa ess nice but was relatively small so not sure what would be like at busy time of year.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went there for one night and it was very very good. An amazing view from the balcony of the ocean and you can hear the sound of the waves which was very soothing. Rooms are spacious and bathroom big and all very clean. Location is great as the beach is right there and small cafe shops around. Staff were very helpfull. We ordered room service and it arrived very quickly and the food was hot and delicious. We didnt eat at the restaurant. I would definetly come back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kppk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is very good. Rooms are excellent. Must disagree with James M about service, we found the staff to be exceptional, from the cleaners to the top dog, Whoever he was!!. or She. The only down side was the restaurant, which is why we only ate there the 1st night. Buffet only, even though there was an a.la carte menu. I hate buffet food. If you are there when it's fresh, not to bad, an hour later, forget it. Anything spending more than 5 seconds under an infared light is rubbish. So, we ate at Velho e o Mar the next 4 nights. So would recomend the hotel but not the restaurant, Maybe it's better in high season. We were there in October. Sesimbra is a wonderful place. Still a working fishing port and town, no drop dead villa's like the Algarve, just really nice people. Visit the castle and go round the Arrabida Natural park and wander round the town, go in local bar's and tascas, they will not bite your head off. I will go back again but maybe the Sana Sesimbra, which is next door to this one.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Floors 8-9-10 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johndaf186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The rooms merit four-star rating but not the service. You are handed a security card and told your room number and left to find your own way there. Bedroom and ensuite are spacious and luxurious. With your veranda door open, you can fall asleep listening to the waves on the beach – once the music from the bars on the ground floor has stopped. On Friday night that was about 1.30. At breakfast a notice asks you to wait to be seated but there is no staff to do this. Your half-finished orange juice disappears while you go to collect your second course: I suspect the staff has been trained in crowd control rather than customer service. But the food is excellent, especially the fresh fruit salad every morning. If enjoying the beach and getting a suntan are your main priorities, this is a good place to go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesimbra
0.6 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 7 in Sesimbra
656 reviews
11.0 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
10.9 mi away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel dos Zimbros
Hotel dos Zimbros
#4 of 7 in Sesimbra
127 reviews
15.8 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
638 reviews
11.1 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sesimbra Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sesimbra Hotel & Spa

Address: Rua Navegador Rodrigues Soromenho, Sesimbra 2970-773, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Sesimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Sesimbra
Price Range: $85 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sesimbra Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the balcony of your room, contemplate the strong blue ocean and, using the imagination, feel yourself sailing in the undulating capricious, either quiet or rough waters. The Sesimbra sea, in Portugal, it is so; a sea with personality, beauty and intensity. With prevailing view over the Atlantic Ocean, the Sesimbra Hotel & SPA, in Sesimbra, Portugal, has a privileged location at the seaside, next to the California beach. The eyesight, the direct access to the beach, the proximity to a rang of points of tourism interest in Sesimbra and Serra da Arrabida (Arrabida Mountain), make the Sesimbra Hotel & SPA your best Hotel choice in Portugal. The sea fills out the roomy Sesimbra Hotel & SPA inside. The Hotel melts down with the sea, through a refined decoration where the blue and beige colours prevail as well as a diversity of sea motives. Everything in the Hotel speaks about the sea, from the colours to the lovely paintings spread by the corridors and rooms. Enjoy an absolute comfort the whole year through. Visit Sesimbra, in Portugal, enjoy the Golf and feel delighted with the Sesimbra and Serra da Arrabida landscape and its rich environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sesimbra Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sesimbra Hotel And Spa
Sesimbra Hotel Sesimbra
Sesimbra Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing