We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a tourist hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is not a tourist hotel, the location is just on one end of a big shopping center, but that's all. On two sides is the highway, on the the third side the shopping center and finally a local road on the forth. The location is suitable if you drive a car and are doing business in the area.
The rooms are spacious enough. They have a television service (as other hotels by Thon) made to make you pay. You have to push a lot of buttons to get access to what you would like to watch. The most interesting channels are for free. The bathroom amenities are soap on the wall. Don't expect to find anything else. There is a hairdryer there. Room was clean and even thougt it was facing the hihgway not to noisy. Migth be another person would tell you the opposite because you could here the traffic all night.
As a small group we had ordered a three course dinner for the complete group. The first course (salmon) was soaked in lemon and you could not taste the fish. The second was supposed to be ducks breast, but turned up to be ducks leg (no problem with the taste). The last one was something looking like a panacotta, but the consistence was far from it. When asking for a wine suggestion the waiter answer was "I don't know". We asked the waiter to go to kitchen and ask the chef and finally we got a fairly good Italian wine.
The bar and restaurant area are in the middle of the building and the feeling is "cold". Not a place you realy want to stay for the evening.
Front desk was OK.

Room Tip: No room facing the highway please.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50_years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear 50_years,
Thank you for your feedback. This helps us to improve.
We are renovation our hotel lobby until the end of May, and we will work hard to make a warmer atmosphere with better service in the future for both business and leisure guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Oslofjord
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 347 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel when on business.

Room basic but comfortable. Lacks the little details such as shower caps, complimentary toiletries, etc.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

My evening meal was delicious. Breakfast is buffet style and there's plenty of choice.

Good value for money in a rather expensive country.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassandra0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Cassandra0905,

We do not have shower caps and other small toiletries in the rooms because our hotel is an environmentally friendly eco-lighthouse. We have dispenser shampoo & shower gel and dispenser hand wash.

Toiletries, shower-caps etc. are available for free at the reception desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

the hotel is standard, the food is not too bad and clean. you have to make sure that you ask for the room looking inside to avoid the noise from motorway. the fitness room is in the basement and rudimentary. the personel is friendly and trying to help. still most of the time the price is very high compared to what hotel offer. At the moment they are undergoing the renovation of the dinning main dinning central area - causing some discomfort. Shoping is just next to hotel but very expensive and the train station is at walking distance if you don't get lost on the way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ella0333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear "ella0333",

Thank you for your review!
Our main common areas are now renovated so can can enjoy our free breakfast a modern and fresh restaurant with a new open kitchen.
We continune now and renovate 26 hotel rooms and 2 meeting rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is what it is, a modern business hotel. That is not in any way a criticism, just a fact. It was very clean, usual facilities and located next to a large shopping centre (if you have £600 to spend on an anorak then this is the place). The style of the building is a bit impressonal but the staff are very friendly.
The dinner menu was OK and breakfast buffet very generous. My checkout time was before 6am so standard breakfast was nat available but there was coffee and pastries in reception. This is a nice touch that other hotels could easily take notice of.
The only big criticism I can make is that the rooms are REALLY hot! I found it difficult to turn off the heating and the first night resorted to having all the windows open. One more minor gripe is that if you put something in to be cleaned you have to collect it from reception.
Overall it is a good hotel and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear "darkscot",

Thank you for your feed-back!
If you want the most cold room please ask for an ouside room to the quiet backside of the hotel away from the sun.

With our new restaurant and bar we will try to make our hotel more personal and not only "business".

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Every time I stay here, I get a good room. Breakfast and staff are also great. Good facilities for conferencing, and even some family rooms with bunk beds.

This is a higher class hotell right next to (30 meters) Sandvika Storsenter, which is the biggest shopping "mall" in Norway, and also just 15 minutes by train from Oslo.

Room Tip: The view is not the best, so if you get an internal or external room is just the same. Internal room...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRN-NO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Hotel is right by the motorway (E18) with a lot of traffic. The hotel is curently beeing refurbished with ofcourse a lot of noice! One would therefor maybe think that it would be much cheaper to stay here, but oh no! NOK 1215,- for one night incl breakfast. You have to run around to find out where you were supposed to eat. The rooms are old, but I don't know if they are going to be redecorated. If so, I wonder how long time this is going to take. The rooms are very warm, and even with the temprature turned down to the lowest (and the VERY noicy fan going) it was still very warm. Training room should be cleaned much better. I know that a lot of the problems are because of the refurbishement, but I know I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fortunamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen/Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Fortunamor,
Thank you for your feedback.

We are currently refurbishing our atrium, but breakfast is served in our banquet halls, Færdersalen bar in lounge Langøytangen and a la carte dinner and lunch in restaurant Lindholmen.

We are sorry about any noise or other inconveniences from the renovations. The atrium will be ready 10th of April 2013, and then we will refurbish the old reception for a few more weeks. Works with noise are not allowed between 19:00 - 9:00 and no noise in the weekends.

Most of our hotel rooms are already renovated and we continually painting and changing the furniture in rooms.

We know our inside atrium rooms can be too hot for someone, but it is possible to request or change to outside room where you can open the window.

Our prices range from 995 weekends to 1845 weekdays. We do not charge to full prices this period.

We have a large well-equipped gym, but we will work harder to make it more clean and look more modern.

We are very sorry you did feel you did not get value from your stay, but we hope the new lobby, bar and lounge will give more value and a better experience.

We take your comments very seriously.

You are welcome to contact us for any matters!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

It is a bit difficult to review this hotel as it is undergoing a major refurbishment. At present the new reception & bar/dining area are under construction and are due for completion some time in April. Once this is complete the builders will start on other areas of the hotel including the rooms at some point. I expect that it will be some time before all the work is complere.
Having said that I didn’t find the work too intrusive on my stay, there was a temporary bar and dining room in one of the conference rooms.
The food at the hotel was good with breakfast being a buffet style with a wide choice to suit all tastes, the quality on offer was very good and it was even possible to get excellent coffee thanks to a Nespresso machine.
All the staff I met were very friendly and helpful , never too busy if you needed assistance.
Hopefully when the refurbishment is complete the hotel will offer a high standard to its guests but until it is finished there is little point in speculating.
It may be best to check what work is on-going before booking this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

The renovation of the atrium will be done 10th of April 2013.
Then we will start a much smaller renovation of the old reception that will take 3 weeks.
Most rooms are renovated and we are continuously painting and changing the furniture in our rooms.

Thank you for your feedback and you are welcome to contact me for any matters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandvika
Scandic Fornebu
#2 of 3 in Fornebu
686 reviews
Quality Hotel Expo
#1 of 3 in Fornebu
533 reviews
Thon Hotel Vettre
#3 of 3 in Asker
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saga Hotel Oslo
#6 of 102 in Oslo
829 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
THE THIEF
#3 of 102 in Oslo
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Oslofjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslofjord

Address: Sandviksveien 184, Sandvika 1337, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Sandvika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Price Range: $136 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Oslofjord 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslofjord in Sandvika is one of Norway's biggest seminar and conference hotels, centrally located in Sandvika, only 10 minutes from Oslo city centre. The hotel offers free parking, easy access with public transportation and large guest rooms.Thon Hotel Oslofjord features 248 large rooms (from 22 square meters), 20 superior rooms and 19 large business rooms. All of the rooms have TV, hotel cinema, minibar, telephone, wireless Internet, large wardrobes and bathrooms with bathtubs. All rooms are air conditioned. All guests at Thon Hotel Oslofjord are offered free coffee and tea in our lobby.Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.The hotel has a fitness room with a sauna. This is open from 06:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslofjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Sandvika

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing