We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay in Svolvær” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anker Brygge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anker Brygge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Svolvær”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed two nights, and loved the place ! High standard cabins, nice staff and excellent service. The beds are very good and the bathroom and all the rooms warm and cosy a cold december night.

We recommend Lofoten during winter!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in one of the cabins. The site is pretty extensive with a lot of cabins and a hotel. We thought Svolvaer was a pretty depressing place - the pictures of the cabins on the waterfront make it look idyllic but in fact you are right in the middle of a busy harbour, and Svolvaer itself was not attractive - it is the main service town in the area. Anker Brygge had a restaurant but we wouldn't eat there as they sold whale meat.
The cabin we had had 2 bedrooms sharing a kitchen and living room. I'm not sure whether they let the 2 bedrooms separately or whether you always have exclusive use of the living areas - no one else came along but I did wonder whether we were suddenly going to find ourselves sharing. It would be worth checking if you are thinking of booking. Having said that, the cabin was very nice indeed - lovely bathroom, big bedroom and good kitchenette with dishwasher. Our only complaint was the lighting was dreadful. I don't know whether it was supposed to be authentic, but as it got dark we had to go to bed (there were good reading lights over the beds) as we couldn't see to read! The breakfast were also excellent - everything you could think of and more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MortyMo, Director of Sales at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for staying at Anker Brygge. I would like to comment on your question about whether you would have exclusive use of the living areas. And the answer is easy; you do! If you rent a double room in one of our rorbu suites we would never let anyone have the other room. That is one of the reasons for us not being on the cheap side of pricing. Hope to see you again in Lofoten! Best regards, Morten Moe, Market manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very comfortable and quiet surroundings, which with the evening sun on the deck, made for an enjoyable stay. The staff at the desk were very helpful and friendly and gave us good advice on places to visit and helped us organise our Arctic snorkelling. Also, when their was a special Royal visitor (King Harald) to Svolvar, they let us know the times and where to get the best view.
The hotel offered 2 forms of evening dining, either an outdoor meal ( catching the last rays of the
of the evening sun), including hamburgers/grilled salmon/fresh prawns/pizzas or at their quaint restaurant which was full of Norwegian character. The meal choice is limited, but had, as part of the menu: duck with honey, reindeer, lamb and their speciality - whale meat. The food was cooked well and the service superb.
We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water, so you can catch the evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCLEANSatATHOLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Anker Brygge is very conveniently situated on a small island in Svolvær Harbour (which it shares with the adjacent Rica Hotel). This hotel is in Svolvær and should be listed as such on Tripadvisor.

The accommodation, which is in converted rorbuer, has lots of character. Its web site describes the accommodation as “unmatched in this region”; it does not really live up to this claim. We stayed at Anker Brygge twice during our trip, so we sampled two different rorbuer. In between we stayed at Reine Rorbuer (in the beautiful southern part of the Lofoten Islands), where we had similar converted rorbu accommodation. Anker Brygge’s rorbuer were more spacious, with a separate lounge, but not as well furnished as the Reine Rorbuer. The bathrooms in Anker Brygge were OK though, in one of our rorbuer, the shower was poorly fitted.

We note that another review mentions that no one who cannot climb a ladder should stay here. The rorbuer vary considerably; all our accommodation was at ground level.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was quite good. Housekeeping could be better. Rooms were serviced daily, but – although the duvet was neatly folded - the lower sheet was always left untouched, so we had to smooth it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petropolis, RJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I slept two nights here during a recent 3800 km motorcycle tour of Norway. The Lofoten Islands are clearly one of the most beautiful places on earth and this hotel - actually a group of fisherman´s cabins - is probably the stopover that still remains in my memory. Very quiet. Curtains deal well with the fact that it doesn´t gey dark in June. Breakfast excellent. Service tends to be poor in Norway this time of the year and this was no exception: The lady at the front desk knew as much about the town as I know Sanskrit. No problem, walk 5 minutes to the tourist information office and they know everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brazilgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Rooms are in wooden fishing cottages - split into 2 or 3 aparments. We were lucky and had one facing the harbour with a seating area on the decking outside. Each apartment has a combined living room/kitchen (very spacious), separate bedroom (bit of a weird arrangement - bunk bed, and then ladder to loft area where furhter double bed and single bed - dont come here if you are not physically able to climb a ladder!) and separate bathroom. The curtains in the bedroom were a bit thin so didnt block out much of the midnight sun which shines all night in July.
Good central location for hotel and good choice at breafast - very good service from receptionist who helped us book our ferry trip from Svolvaer to the mainland.
Good stay - but I would probably recommend the RIca hotel instead if you want easy access to your bed - some rooms there had balconies that looked over the harbour - would recommed choosing a room with a balcony.
Svolvaer itself was a little disappointing, but it is a great place to be based for and the Lofuten islands are hugely scenic with very high mountains all the way down them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MortyMo, Director of Sales at Anker Brygge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Anker Brygge!
I would like to point out that we have different types of rorbu suites. A few have beds you have to climb into, but most of our beds are regular double or twin beds. You should not need to be an athlete to use these :-) And if you want to avoid one, please just ask us!
Regarding balconies; we use the quai as balcony for our rorbu suites and our regular suites have ordinary balconies. Best regards, Morten Moe, Market manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Anker Brygge Hotel is one of the better hotels – rich in local theme -- in the central tourist district of Svolvaer, Norway. It is a collection of charming little cottages in a harbor very busy with a hodgepodge of architectures and surprisingly not very busy with boats. The Anker Brygge is staffed by seasonally employed young adults. The surrounding area smells of seacoast and fishing. The location is outstanding for getting to town and seeing the few sights of Svolvaer. We stayed two nights at the beginning and the end of our exploration of the Lofoten Islands.

Our accommodations were comparable to a 2 bedroom condominium or apartment. In addition to the bedrooms [we only got a key for one], we had a nice living room, and a small kitchen with apartment sized appliances. The interior decorations were a mixture of ‘country’ and ‘nautical’. The in addition to a charming décor we had the advantage of being right on the water [or more accurately half over the water]. There was some feeling of simple authenticity and that we were in accommodations of same size and style as locals. However, it is difficult for us to know whether the atmosphere was genuine or contrived.

The construction was very solid with good quality materials. For instance the bathroom had heated floors. The walls and floor were wood paneling. Our unit was very clean. The bed was comfortable with good linens. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The shower worked fine although it was a bit cramped.

The front desk staff had outstanding English. The first day we arrived at 2PM. Our room wasn’t ready. They informed us it would be about an hour [it was an hour and a half]. The conversation was easy. We left some luggage that would not be needed while we explored the country side. That conversation was also easy. When we returned 6 days later, the front desk staff recognized us and went directly to get our luggage. Since we were having so much luck with English we thought we would ask for a bit of help understanding some of the local transportation logistics. Unfortunately, the staff are not year round local residents were unable to assist.

Our first night the [free] wireless internet worked great. We had some large files to download and I was impressed by the speed. The second night we could not see the signal and had to walk outside our unit. The front desk understood our disappointment [good English] and went to try to reset the equipment. Unfortunately their efforts did not get us a signal.

Breakfast was included with our room. There was a relatively large selection except very little fruit.

Meals at Anker Brygge are served in a nearby historic building. Prices are very expensive. In the main dining room, entrées are $50-60 USD each. We opted for a meal at the Pub where a 0.5L beer costs $12.50 USD. The first night they were only serving pizza and it was $40USD. Our second night two burgers, a beer and a coke cost $75 USD. We checked prices elsewhere in town and they were comparable. The Pub seemed to have the nicest atmosphere along with a cozy fire and the shortest walk. So they got our business.

Overall the Anker Brygge easily earns 5 stars. The high prices however are a rough for a North American budget. One can understand the challenges of having to cover year round costs during a short tourist season. However, if one explores Lofoten it’s not hard to notice that Svolvaer prices are the highest around. Those wishing a less expensive base from which to explore Lofoten would be smart to select Leknes and its more modest Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 7 in Svolvaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#3 of 10 in Vagan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#3 of 7 in Svolvaer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#4 of 7 in Svolvaer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anker Brygge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anker Brygge

Property: Anker Brygge
Address: Lamholmen, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anker Brygge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anker Brygge consists of highly comfortable rorbu suites spectacularly situated on its own little island named Lamholmen in the middle of Svolvær harbour. The resort is connected to Svolvær city central with a bridge. Living at Anker Brygge you are within a 200 meters range from the Town Square, Hurtigruten and small shops and galleries. All suites are traditionally built and fully equipped for today`s standard – making your stay with us nice and comfortable. From all of our rooms/rorbuer you have an amazing view to the sea and mountains surrounding our world famous islands. On the outside quay of your cabin/rorbu you can enjoy your morning coffee or you might try to catch your own fish? At Anker Brygge we also offer a solid and traditional meal at our highly recommended Restaurant named “Kjøkkenet” . Lamholmen has been inhabitated since the early 1800`s. There were several fish-companies, fish treatment factories, a barrel factory and "rorbuer", barns and houses on the island. The fish products from Lamholmen was mainly exorted abroad to Italy, Spain, Portugal and Brazil. Today you can feel the atmosphere from the old days in all of our rooms. You still get the feeling of the era when life was rough and fishermen came to Lofoten by oars and sails in their small fishingboats from places all over this nations long coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anker Brygge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing