We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual accomodation in lovely surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Unusual accomodation in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rorbuers are fishermen's cabins beside the water, and much more fun to stay in than the average hotel room. There is a bedroom (small but adequate), bathroom with shower and a living/dining room (with kitchenette) to spread out in. They are very warm and cosy, and a short walk from the hotel restaurant, and a 10 minute walk over the bridge from the town of Svolvaer. The WW2 museum is a must and the owner full of interesting and entertaining stories about his many (often rare) exhibits.
The restaurant was great - a good spread for breakfast, and very tasty evening meals. Cod was usually on the menu in some form for starter or main (cod drying racks are all over the island), amnd we also had smoked reindeer, pork neck and chicken breasts - all in delicious sauces. The chef made a real effort to cater for the individual needs of some members of our group. The waiter, Andre, was very entertaining and helpful.
We were lucky enough to see the Aurora Borealis while we were there, and also went on a Sea Eagle trip by boat. The eagles fly over and alongside the boat to collect fish that is thrown for them and so it is a great photo opportunity.
As everyone has said Norway is VERY expensive, so you do need to budget for this.

Room Tip: Ask about the facilities in your rorbuer as they do vary - the newer ones are larger and some have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    124
    27
    7
    2
See reviews for
68
167
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife decided for her 70th birthday to visit the Lofoten Islands and I booked an individual package tour with Simply Sweden. The highlight of our eight-day tour was the four nights we spent at Svinoya Rorbuer. We arrived by boat from Harstad and it was dark when we reached Svinoya Rorbuer, so we were unable to take cognizance of our surroundings. The welcome we received from Andre was excellent, we booked our evening meal and then made our way to our allocated cabin. We stayed in one of the original fishermen's cabins (I believe that there are newer cabins with additional facilities such as a sauna and bigger bedrooms) and on opening the door we were entranced. The cabin was spotlessly clean, nicely warm and cosy with everything we could need including free Wifi. It had a lovely bathroom with a great shower and under floor heating. The bedroom was on the small side with two twin beds and not a lot of room, but adequate storage space - we were comfortable enough and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The views from the island are just fantastic and we enjoyed our walks into the town centre and around the island itself. If staying there for any length of time I would recommend hiring a car. We hired for three-days and didn't regret the extra expense. We decided that we wouldn't drive for miles and miles but just take our time driving around the islands. The only problem is that you want to stop every 100 yards or so to take more photographs. We were told that it was unusually mild during our stay - we'd packed thermal everything but didn't need them even in late February/early March; a tee-shirt and fleece was all that was needed. (Our Damart, socks, long-johns, vests etc returned home unused). We stayed out of season and there are not that many places open which was a little disappointing, but it didn't spoil our visit. The restaurant attached to Svinoya Rorbuer (Borsen Spiseri) is a little gem and is fabulous inside. Andre was really helpful in helping us decide what to choose. Between us we tried everything on the menu. I loved the Artic Char and Lofoten Lamb as did my wife. The Sockfish Royal (air dried Cod) was very pleasant as was the Reindeer steak. I would suggest trying the Plate of Lofoten Delicacies as a starter: the smoked whale meat was substitute at my request with smoke reindeer. Breakfast is available in the restaurant and is more than adequate, but disappointingly for me there were no fish dishes provided. It's a great place to stay and like another reviewer I would strongly recommend adding it to your bucket-list and also include the Hurtigruten trip from Harstad to Solvaer - 10 hours of shear bliss with endless spectacular views.

Room Tip: Depending on what you want I would suggest one of the original fishermen's cabins but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lasapiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

These little cabins are really warm and cosy and very inviting to come back to after a day out in the Norwegian cold, and the little island on which they are situated is very interesting to walk around, with beautiful views. Only criticism of ours was that the bedroom was very small, with scarcely room for anything apart from the beds! The hotel reception area used to be a shop and is now like a small but fascinating museum. The restaurant does good and quite inventive dinners, though there is not a lot of choice. Wine is very expensive, but then that is always the case in Norway. Good breakfast. Don't miss the war museum in Svolvaer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The cabins are in the style of old fisherman's cabins, but with all mod con. Very comfortable, quiet and very warm (we were there in winter), large sitting/kitchen area and surprisingly good shower in the bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Bedrooms are twins and a little small, but very comfortable - might not be if you're very tall (I'm not). Superb views all around, the whole area is stunningly beautiful. Little light pollution, we were treated to a magnificent display of the Northern Lights right outside our cabin.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke excellent English. We were on half-board and the food in the restaurant was really good, especially breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was our first time so far north - November snows & minus temperatures. But the welcome at reception, our little cabin, & each meal service at the restaurant was genuinely so warm. We were there for 3 nights taking in a rib boat ride, an eve out to see northern lights & daytrip to Viking museum & fishing villages. Sadly it was cloudy - no lights - but the experience of being in such raw magnificent terrain was truley awesome. Constant twilight added to the magic. The cabin, as other reviewers have said, was extremely cozy & well provided for - even under floor heating in the bathroom! Each of our 3 evening 3 course meals were varied, well presented & good portion sizes. They gave as a real taste of local fare. Add to a list of a 'place to see before you die' being so way out of our experience.

Room Tip: All cabins are within 5/10 min walk of reception/restaurant & all have wonderful views across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in a one-bed cabin for 5 nights. We were pleasantly surprised how cosy and comfortable the cabin was with a great little, well equipped kitchen and underfloor heating in the shower room. We had amazing views from the lounge/kitchen and the bedroom - we endlessly watched the to and firing of the fishing boats and sea eagles circling. It is bait of a trek into town over the bridge and on day two we hired a car which out of season was a must given the lack of buses running. We had a good meal in the restaurant but as all things norwegian it wasn't cheap. We would love to stay here when there was snow on the ground its such an amazing place and a great base from which to explore the islands. PS: we had incredible cold, crisp, sunny weather and we also experienced an incredible display of the northern lights but that was just a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is our second time staying in Svinoya Rorbuer. The stay experience in Svinoya Rorbuer beats staying in a typical hotel room nearby. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin. The cabin has a cozy living room, with dining table and kitchen facilities. Great if you would like to cook meals yourself.

Parking of the rental car is convenient and is free of charge.

Great overall stay experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Thon Hotel Lofoten
#1 of 6 in Svolvaer
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#4 of 6 in Svolvaer
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 9 in Vagan
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
92 reviews
11.0 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten

Property: Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten
Address: Gunnar Bergs vei 2, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Svolvaer and Svinoya Rorbuer | Open all year round Our Rorbu Resort is located in the harbor of Svolvaer the capital of Lofoten, and we provide accommodation, dining and activities on both land and sea. Our Rorbu cabins are beautifully located on the waterfront. We are Lofoten in a miniature, with a walking distance to the town center and a short drive to all transportation hubs. On our island you find the sea on one side and the dramatic mountains on the other, offering great views everywhere you lookWe also offer package deals for individuals, groups and cooperation's with accommodation in our original Rorbu cabins, newly built Rorbu Suites and Suite Hotel. We have excellent conference facilities and our renowned restaurant Borsen Spiseri serves locally produced food. With our local identity, knowledge, network and experience, we deliver world class experiences and memories for life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Svinoya Rorbuer - BaseCamp Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svinoya Rorbuer Hotel Svolvaer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing