We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thon Hotel Lofoten
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$135
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
$163
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveler rating
324
205
53
18
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
205
53
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomelettefantastic breakfasttown squareexcellent hotelbreakfast buffet isgreat viewmodern designtop floorclean hotelnext morninglofoten islandshurtigruten cruisestayed here for two nightssuperior roomcoffee machinegreat selectiongoat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 618 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014

very good location in the centre of Svolvaer right at the harbour. Very modern hotel, got it for a good price. Tasty breakfast but try to be there as soon as possibly, bus of german seniors could disturb your breakfast peace easily. Smaller rooms though clean. Perfect big windows with a sea view.

Room Tip: avoid low floors, ask for a sea view, new building.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domenico330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

Am glad you had a nice stay here with us. During the summer we are at max capasity and we do have a bit of a challange if every one dine at the same time. We are trying to get people spread out during the breakfast hours so that there is not 400 pax at the same time dining. So hopefully you where able to enjoy your breakfast without to much distrubent.

Thank you for your feedback. It helps us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Very nice view and the building is only some meters from the sea. Very good restaurant, we had calibut. The room could be a bit warmer and it was not very well cleaned. The staff were a bit unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback

Will go through our routines and take into evaluation your feedback. But all in all I am glad you had a nice stay here with us.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

we had a wonderful comfortable business corner room on the 4th floor , view over the fjord,excellent breakfast with variable food ,espresso machine in the room,free wifi in the room,location of the hotel at the center of Svolvaer

Room Tip: business corner room ,viewing the fjord
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roro1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback.

This I liked to read. Thank you.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope to see you here again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great service and location. Very good value, and we were absolutely amazed by the breakfast that included pretty much anything you can think of. Free wifi and coffee/tea. We parked the car out in the street, so also free. Also worth mentioning, the view from our room was "svolværgeita":)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hege N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

Sounds like you had a nice stay here with us. And that makes me happy. It`s allways nice to reply to comment like this. We pride ourselfs in our breakfast where we use local products made from the Lofoten Islands.

Hope to see you here again.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ended our Lofoten week with two nights in Svolvær and we were very happy that we picked this hotel with the most magnificent view. We checked in early and the staff was really friendly, helpful with a touch of humour.

Unfortunately we were given an ordinary room (7th floor) and not the superior room we had booked, but as the hotel was fully booked they could not move us until next morning. The first room was nicely decorated but a bit small, not much room for suitcases. There was a magnificent view over the square and harbour. The only negative thing was that the room got very hot and had no air condition. They provided us with a small table fan which actually didn't help.

The next morning our suitcases were moved to our new room at the 9th floor. They even moved some leftovers from the minibar and bathroom!

The new room was nicely decorated, a bit larger and with the most wonderful view of the square, harbor and sea. Because of the large windows you may sit in bed and enjoy the magnificent view. The only problem was that the room got so extremely hot that we could barely stay there and nor sleep.The next morning our room held 33° C! Too bad they do not have a proper air condition installed in such a nice hotel. But warm weather is a bonus in the northern parts of Norway and the experience of being able to sit outside and enjoy dinner late in the evening was wonderful. I will not downrate the hotel because of the warm weather!

The new room, which actually must have been a Business room according to the extras (coffee machine, iron, safe, a selection of toiletries, bathrobe and slippers) but we didn't see the announced travel magazines. One floor up there was a terrace where we enjoyed watching the arrival of Hurtigruten.

The breakfast was one of the best we've had in a Norwegian hotel, with everything you wish for. You may also have fresh omelettes and pancakes. We had dinner at the hotel our last night and the food was good but a bit small portions.

We were promised a lower rate to compensate the room incident and we were happy with the way they fixed the problem and the reduction the offered us. If I go back to Svolvær Thon hotel will definitely be my first choice. This hotel seems to care for their customers.

Room Tip: Top floors gives a magnificent view
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekbno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

My appologizes for having to change rooms. But once you did I am glad we took care of it and made everything easier for you. And yes, we uppgraded you to a Business room cause of the misstake upon check in.

This year we had the warmest summer in a long time, and our ventilation could`nt handle the heat, so the rooms were a bit warmer then usual. Sorry if that caused problems for you but at least you had wonderful weather during your stay here.

Our breakfast is one of the best in Norway, and we pride ourselfs in the varity of local products beeing used in the breakfast. So I am glad you liked it.

Hope to see you again here at Thon Hotel Lofoten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews