We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Thon Hotel Lofoten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in Thon hotel Lofoten in Svolvaer for two nights in the beginning of June. We did some hiking and shopping, eating good in the restaurants near by and just enjoyed the smell of the sea. It was a nice stay, with nothing splendid, but also nothing to remind of. We had a room on the eight floor and the views were really nice from the room, both to the small harbour as well as to the mountains. We give a high value for a good breakfast and we often choose the hotel because of the breakfast. It was good in Thon, but somethings could have been better. For example the scrambled eggs was not really a success, as it was so raw, and fatty, could´t eat it at all. There was an other chef checking at the work at the restaurant, and he gave some tips for the breakfast chef not to leave it so raw. But all in all, good and a lot to choose from. If we come back to Svolvaer, we would choose the same hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible, there are the best views from the top of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madventures_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Front Office Manager at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hello.

Thank you for the feedback. We will go through our rutines and make sure that every thing is the way they are suppose to be :)

Glad you enjoyed the view and that you liked our breakfast and I welcome you back at any time.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 568 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

We spent three nights at the Thon and couldn't be happier with our hotel choice. The staff was amazing. Our rooms are clean and quite small with great views (even provide a set of binoculars in the room). The bathroom and shower are large by European standards. Breakfast Buffett is amazing and even the latte's are wonderful. The staff (especially Stein-ove and Julian) went out of their way to help us plan excursions, find good restaurant recommendations and let us stay for a really late check out. Cheers to the staff- you won't go wrong with choice.

Room Tip: Over the square is a nice view, floors 6 and higher. The harbor view is lovely as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear about our Amazing service :) It`s something we value and take pride in, and the staff here does an excellent job :)

We(Stein-Ove and I) are glad we could be of assistance. And hopefully you found the way to Henningsvær and excursions we sent you on.

Best regards and hope to see you here again. :)

Julian and Stein Ove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We loved our stay at this hotel. It was very convenient to the Hurtigruten ship and our room had a beautiful view over the ship, the harbor and the Lofoten islands. Good wifi connection. The hotel also had the most beautiful breakfast buffet we have had on our trip so far - including countries in Europe and the UK.

We would love to return here, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: The reception staff thought the mountain view rooms were the best, but we opted for the sea view - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Claire4896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Resepsjonssjef at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014
Google Translation

Hei og takk for din tilbakemelding.

Vi vektlegger frokostbuffeen og synes det er morsomt når våre gjester legger merke til det. Det at vi har en av de bedre i Europa og Storbritannia er jo kanon og det skal jeg videreformidle internt til kjøkkenssjefen. :) Vi er heldige som har så kort vei fra hurtigruten og utsikten er det ingen ting å si på .

Håper vi sees her igjen og så får jeg ønske dere god tur videre.

Med vennlig hilsen
Julian Halmøy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

A great Saturday to Sunday weekend get away. Flew over Saturday morning with Widerøe and stayed one night at this hotel. Extremely courteous and helpful staff. Nice size room with a great view over the harbour and the hurtigruten dock. Breakfast was very good with a nice selection for all. A nice touch with staff serving coffee at your table. Located sentrally and in easy walking distance of everything. Highly recommend this location and hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Resepsjonssjef at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014
Google Translation

Hei og takk for din tilbakemelding.

Godt å høre at du hadde et vellykket opphold. Og ved neste opphold håper jeg du blir lengre. :)

Vi setter pris på at du legger merke til kaffeskjenkingen vår i restauranten, dette gjør vi for å komme nærmere våre gjester og for å slå av en liten prat ved frokosten.

Ønsker deg hjertelig velkommen tilbake og håper vi sees her snart.

Med Vennlig Hilsen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

With a wonderful breakfast and nice view from the room, this was allmost a top score. The straff is friendly and it's walking distanse to pretty much anywhere. But the internet connection is to slow and the temperature of the water was to unstable. I'm not a big fan of the "be green theme", but creds for thinking of the enviorement. The only reason it does not get top score is because I think top score should be a bit of a reach, some small changes and you got it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Resepsjonssjef at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.

We are glad you liked our breakfast and our friendly service. That`s important to us and it`s always nice to here. The internett connection can be a little bit slow during busy times but there is allways a possibillity to upgrade your line and next time I will make sure we offer that to you.

We in Thon Hotel Lofoten are a environmental proved hotel and it`s important for us that we save when we can.

I welcome you back to Thon Hotel Lofoten and will take it as a challange to get the top score :)

Best regards
Julian Halmøy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Seems this hotel is a combination of two buildings. We were given a room in the old section. We needed a family suite. This is a room with a double bed and set of two fold down beds on the wall (think bunk beds). You must navigate two small flights of stairs AFTER getting off the elevator. There is no access without using stairs. Our first room had a broken heater. We were given the same room one floor down 2nd floor). The fold down beds are a bit noisy. Creaking each time the occupant moves. Otherwise the room was adequate, though the lighting was a bit dim.

One saving grace was the fantastic breakfast which was included in our rate. The lounge area was also quite nice and accommodating.

I suggest requesting a room in the new building.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Dawne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian H, Resepsjonssjef at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hi and thank you for the feedback.

For your next stay here at Thon Hotel Lofoten we could provide you with two rooms next to eachother in the main block. Our family rooms are located in the lower section and I am glad to here that you found them adequate, and the lighting will be checked. So thank you for the feedback.

Our breakfast is our heart. Its put togheter in harmony with focus on local ingriediens from Lofoten. I am glad to here that you enjoyed it.

Best regards
Julian Halmøy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Very nice Thon hotel. Dinner was very good and so was the buffet breakfast, lots of variety, and pleasant friendly service. Every table has a bottle of cod liver oil for you to try,but we didn't. Good central hotel, and very very clean. We had a room overlooking the Harbour, and another "for" was "free" internet, very good connection!!
This hotel is a short distance to get the Hurtigruten ship, which we needed as we were on a "GREAT RAIL JOURNEY" for the next leg of our tour.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor and harbour view well worth it. Don't go on the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flower1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eriktaraldsen, Leder  at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Thon Hotel Lofoten and we are proud to be a very nice Hotel. On your next stay here you must try the local cod liver oil. It's amayzing and prodused locally in Lofoten.

Hope to see you here next year on the Great Rail Journey.

Best regards
Erik Taraldsen
General Manager
Thon Hotel Lofoten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#2 of 4 in Svolvaer
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 4 in Svolvaer
95 reviews
10.6 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 7 in Svolvaer
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 25 in Vagan
132 reviews
19.6 mi away
Lofoten Panorama
Lofoten Panorama
#2 of 2 in Stamsund
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Lofoten

Address: OJ Kaarbos gate | Torget, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range: $196 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thon Hotel Lofoten - a new and top modern conference hotel in Svolvaer, the hearth of Lofoten! Thon Hotel Lofoten is located right on the sea front of the harbour in Svolvaer. Only a few metres away from Hurtigruta and within walking distance of the many attractions of Svolvaer, the main centre of Lofoten. Thon Hotel Lofoten will have 161 modern rooms and wireless internet access points throughout the hotell. Most of the rooms will have a spectacular view of the Lofoten sea. Eating and drinking: Restaurant Bojer is located on Kaien (The Quay) in Svolvaer. The restaurant serves food made from local foods, like Cod and Stockfishk from local fishermen, whale meat, local cheese and the Lofoten lamb. Outdoor service in the summer season. Conference at Thon Hotel Lofoten The conference department has a capacity of 750 persons in the largest hall and an additional 20 meeting rooms allow for maximum flexibility. Maximum total capacity will be 1 100 persons. We can arrange banquets and parties for up to 750 persons. Thon Hotel Lofoten - A perfect starting point for exciting experiences in beautiful nature! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing