We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my god...”
Review of Thon Hotel Lofoten

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Lofoten
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence
Tromso, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Oh my god...”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I spent one night there for work in June 2013 and I was almost scarred by how luxurious everything was... The view (complete with goggles !), the breakfast, the location, the rooms... That's gotta be the best hotel I've seen in Norway ! Totally recommended !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    184
    48
    17
    15
See reviews for
46
211
32
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

There are some rooms that are very miserable, tiny, grey and very gloomy with the view on the grey wall. The Lobby itself reflects what some rooms are, as it's gloomy and grey as well and reachable through a kind of corridor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Land00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eriktaraldsen, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Lofoten, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your feedback. This hotel has 161 rooms where most have view towards the sea and mountains that surrounds Svolvær. Unfortunately we have some rooms without view and they also has to be used when we are fully booked. We also have some upgraded rooms where the view is guaranteed. Basically we inform all our guests about the possibility to book an upgraded room with guaranteed view, although the vast majority have one. Best regards Erik Taraldsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We, a group of 7 people in their best ages (!), started our one-week bicycle tour of Lofoten from this hotel. We arrived by the Hurtigruten in the evening, and stayed for one night. We were warmly received, got our rooms straight away - and was amazed by the quality and views they offered. This was midsummer eve, and as the sun started to come out at 10 pm (!), the room my wife and I shared had a fantastic view over the nearby islands. After a stroll and a beer, we enjoyed the room's comforts. Good beds, ample size, fine bathroom, coffe-maker, wi-fi - all the trimmings were there. The hotel is clearly new, with that nice freshness. What really amazed us is that the outer wall of the room actually is a big window. It offers splendid views, both towards the sea (as our room), or towards the mountains.
The following morning, after a good sleep, breakfast was another treat. Large choice, fresh bread, omelettes and other breakfast specialities made to order, and a very good selection of fish. I would especially recomend the smoked salmon made by a local fisherman, ask for it! It melts on your tongue.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, giving us good assistance with parking our bikes and sending our luggage to our nest destination.
Highly recommended, I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: High floors give you better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npkarlsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The staff were really helpful and accommodating. Good breakfast and stunning views from large conference room. Lunches good and meeting rooms excellent. Rooms light and quiet as well insulated. Wish we had booked it for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is your best base to climb or ski in the Lofoten Alps or to explore the unique Lofoten archipelago by boat or car. It is built on the square of the regional capital, Svolvær -- and for some mysterious reason the Thon chain was given permission to build ten floors in this tiny town. As a consequence, the rooms -- and more so the outstanding conference venue on the tenth floor, the Anna Kaarbø Hall -- have spectacular views of the wild, protruding mountains and the surrounding water. It is an exceptional view of nature by any standard. On the ground floor you can enjoy very decent meals at the Bojer Restaurant. All in all, this establishment will provide a very good base for your visit to one of the natural wonders of Europe, the Lofoten Islands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had a very nice stay.
The bed was a bit soft, but I sleept like a baby.
The view was the ocean - very beautiful.
The room was just so nice.
Breakfast was excellent.
Nice location, right on the square of this lovely town.

Room Tip: I stayed in 704 - had a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvik, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Friendly staff that is always trying to give you that little extra service.
Clean and nice rooms with the best wiew Norway can offer.
Best breakfast in the contry. !!
Staff makes omeletts, eggs and bacon, and smoothies in the resturant among the guests. You tell, they make whatewer you want.

I have more than 20 nights at this hotell, and see no reason not to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the higher floors gives the best wiew. Free internet. Free fitnes senter for guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svolvaer
0.2 mi away
Scandic Svolvaer
Scandic Svolvaer
#4 of 6 in Svolvaer
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anker Brygge
Anker Brygge
#2 of 6 in Svolvaer
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
Nyvagar Rorbuhotel
#2 of 9 in Vagan
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vestfjord Hotell
Vestfjord Hotell
#3 of 6 in Svolvaer
85 reviews
10.6 mi away
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
Henningsvaer Bryggehotell
#1 of 2 in Henningsvaer
131 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lofoten Arctic Hotel Knusarn
Lofoten Arctic Hotel Knusarn
#2 of 2 in Henningsvaer
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Lofoten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Lofoten

Property: Thon Hotel Lofoten
Address: OJ Kaarbos gate | Torget, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Lofoten Islands > Vagan > Svolvaer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Svolvaer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Lofoten 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Thon Hotel Lofoten - a new and top modern conference hotel in Svolvaer, the hearth of Lofoten! Thon Hotel Lofoten is located right on the sea front of the harbour in Svolvaer. Only a few metres away from Hurtigruta and within walking distance of the many attractions of Svolvaer, the main centre of Lofoten. Thon Hotel Lofoten will have 161 modern rooms and wireless internet access points throughout the hotell. Most of the rooms will have a spectacular view of the Lofoten sea. Eating and drinking: Restaurant Bojer is located on Kaien (The Quay) in Svolvaer. The restaurant serves food made from local foods, like Cod and Stockfishk from local fishermen, whale meat, local cheese and the Lofoten lamb. Outdoor service in the summer season. Conference at Thon Hotel Lofoten The conference department has a capacity of 750 persons in the largest hall and an additional 20 meeting rooms allow for maximum flexibility. Maximum total capacity will be 1 100 persons. We can arrange banquets and parties for up to 750 persons. Thon Hotel Lofoten - A perfect starting point for exciting experiences in beautiful nature! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Lofoten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing