We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly fine seafood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bacalao

Bacalao
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Svolvaer
Price range: $15 - $59
Cuisines: Bar, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We ate the whalebeef which was perfectly fine but not spectacular. The staff was effective but not fond of communicating. All in all an okay place to dine.

Helpful?
Thank Kristoffer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    186
    90
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rovaniemi, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Can really recommend the rock&roll burger. And the location is of course really nice! There was just snacks and burgers, so no fancy a la carte portions you cannot expect to find here. But no need for those in this kind of place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Madventures_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Free refills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Escaping the rain we found ourselves here for most of the day ..Sitting by the log burner.
We had a huge pastry each and my husband drank so much coffee he got a bit wired and hyper.. We went for a walk and came back for lunch. Very relaxed atmosphere and tasty food, good size potions.
We revisited a few days later for a beer whilst waiting for the express ferry to Bodo. The beer glasses came from the freezer, very refreshing. (About £11 a pint)!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PoppySnowdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lunch and dinner is very ok.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Had the traditional bacalao (Fish) for lunch at the restaurant. More than enough Food, and a tasty experience. Try it!

Even though it's not political correct, i had whale beef for dinner, and it was served as it should be (juicy and tender), with a balanced garnish. Beer and aquavit goes Nice togehter with this beef.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrtravelalotaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Despite its name, there's only one dish with stockfish on the menu. However, the choice of food is ample and its quality and taste average to good. We tried the Pier plate, beef with rice noodles and a baked potato with shrimps. Not bad, but not so remarkable either. Portions are ok, prices acceptable. Orders are to be put at the cash desk, not at the table. Recommended, but probably not the best in town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luca_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacalao also viewed

 
 

Been to Bacalao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing