We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible!!”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Taj Mahal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 51 Restaurants in Bussum
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
milano
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“terrible!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we order, they took the drinks, some lousy little sauces with puppadum but after an hour still no food, we left! what else to say, I have never waited an our for Indian food not even in India and the food wasn't going to arrive any time soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Micio1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Would not have expected a great Indian restaurant in little Bussum, a very pleasant surprise. Menu is great, a bit pricy but you get good quality for your money. The service is friendly! If you fancy Indian food and you're in the middle of nowhere (Bussum) try this one, really good experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Indian food between the Channel and the Himalayas”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

You would not expect to find the best Indian restaurant in Europe in a small residential town, but you will. It is for residents, meaning the business is dependant on returning customers, so both the service and the food must be excellent. And they are. If you reference is Brick Lane, the menu gives you an excellent treat close to the best places in London (but you do not need to run for your beer to the nearest shop). Ignore Amstel and take real indian beer - you will be respected for that.

We are coming there every time we have visiting friends. They are always pleased. The waiting times may be long, giving an idea that everything is cooked from the raw ingedients. But you must have patience and beer to wait. It may be suddenly very busy. They will try their best to find a table for you - but you take some risk if you do not book. They do not accept dogs. That's the only drawback we know.

The area around is very nice, but if you are reading this review you already know it, dont' you?

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best authentic Indian food in the whole country!”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I consider myself to be an auhority on Indian food have frequented many Indian restaurants in London, India (!), Singapore, Australia and elsewhere....

This place is the beesknees! Superb dishes. Made with love ( and the right spices). I can't say anything bad about this place other than that it's far away from where I live....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossenbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“interesting menu. I have eaten there 2x and both times the waiter brought a nice variety.”
Reviewed August 3, 2008

interesting menu. I have eaten there 2x and both times the waiter brought a nice variety.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Hilversum, North Holland Province
Naarden, North Holland Province
 
Bussum, North Holland Province
Hilversum, North Holland Province
 
Bussum, North Holland Province
Bussum, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing