We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel what needs A big PLUS for the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Certificate of Excellence
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel what needs A big PLUS for the staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

the formula of Bastion is comfort, good service, good food and still basic, for a fair price.
I think this is right here, but I think this one really needs a big plus for the staff.
Never met staff who where so genuine friendly. Not that friendly because they're boss wants them to smile. But they just are.

I think I don't need to use to much words to give a review to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerRamakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
11
24
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Reasonably priced, the room had all basic facilities and the free wi fi was a plus.

It is conveniently located opposite the station so trips to any part of Holland are easy. Staff are friendly and ready to oblige with train schedules.

The food is ok - the fish dishes are much better than the meat.

It is walking distance to the small Bussum city centre - just shops and restaurants - which was prettily lit and had some decent restaurants. Friday is late shopping - closing is at 9 pm.

I recommend Wong Tong (I think that was the name of this Chinese restaurant - its the first up the main street from Bastion). There are several buffets to choose from - eastern including Sushi - as well as some western dishes.

Room Tip: The rooms either look out on the railway station or on a car park bordered by trees. Depends on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krajjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice stay, clean and right in front of train station. However, you may hear train run by once in a while depending on where your room faces. I didn't notice it much myself. The hotel was a comfortable stay. Keep in mind it cost about $4-5 one way to take train to central amsterdam and same amount coming back to hotel which should be factor into total cost per day if u plan to travel out to central amsterdam each day. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary05uc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Bastion Hotels are generally low cost but perfectly comfortable. This one in Bussum Zuid is right next to the railway station (though you wouldn't know it from inside - no sound). There's not much to see within walking distance of the hotel, but there is a beautiful heathland for long walks. Makes for a much better choice than the overpriced hotel accommodation in Hilversum. Friendly staff. Free wifi. Now that makes a change from hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanMarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Bussum.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I have to say the staff were amazing. From a very friendly greeting through to great table service. The chef can also cook one damn fine steak!

The room was basic but it has everything that was required. Another plus side was the free wifi which enabled me to continue my work back in the office.

Will be going back next month on business and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlingShot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our Bastion Hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed there for one night on a business trip. They had a private, secured parking lot, very clean and nice rooms and the breakfast was excellent. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I arrived quite late in the evening and the girl still offered to make me a dinner. I would stay there again if I ever would need to be in Bussum. With the train station next to the hotel you have a good connection with Amsteradam. Maybe even a good place to stay if visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask a room at the otherside of the building (from the train station). But the hotel is very quite so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Bussum.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Found this one just using Google. All is ok, but staff is much more friendly than other hotels. They run the extra mile, which is really appreciated. All with a smile, aimed to please. I will surely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wouter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bussum
1.4 mi away
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
#1 of 2 in Bussum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
2.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Media Park Hilversum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
NH Naarden
NH Naarden
#1 of 2 in Naarden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Almere
Bastion Hotel Almere
#3 of 4 in Almere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vesting Hotel
Vesting Hotel
#2 of 2 in Naarden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum

Property: Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
Address: Struikheiweg 3, 1406 TK Bussum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bussum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Location / Accessibility Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum is situated on the north side of Hilversum in a natural, green environment. But despite that the hotel is well accessible by car. From the hotel the Utrechtse wolds are well accessible. Guests can find here a number of possibilities of cycling and walking routes. Amsterdam is approximately 30 minutes away. Cities like Hilversum, Utrecht and Amsterdam have a good accessibility by car and public transportation. Rooms The hotel in Bussum Hilversum has 23 comfortable deluxe rooms and 41 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, Air-conditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, air-conditioning, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. Parking You can park your car free of charge at the parking of the hotel during your stay depending on availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing