We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bussum Jan Tabak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in adjoining rooms with our two teenage children. Yes the rooms have old style TV's but with plenty of English speaking channels. It has a mini bar, tea and coffee with a kettle, desk, desk chair another chair very comfy beds a large bathroom with smellies . Wifi which was free worked perfectly and yes we did have business emails to attend to
At the end of each floor there is a table with complementary sweets and bottled water.
The staff were lovely .
Breakfast can be taken outside if the weather is good. Friday's breakfast was excellent with cereals, cold meats, cheeses, rolls, pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice, bread, jams, fruit, savoury items plus hot eggs, Saturday's although the same didn't seem to be replenished.
Perfect base for Naarden which is a beautiful town where our friends got married and easy distance for Amsterdam by car.
We will be back!
We will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaineeBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    104
    60
    13
    6
See reviews for
37
91
11
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and corridors are badly in need to some paint and renovation. My shower didn't work properly. Wifi did work. Breakfast was OK. Overall though this hotel needs some work, the experience was average at best. Staff friendly, no complaint about them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The NH Jan Tabak is located where Naarden, Bussum, and Huizen meet, just off the A1 expressway. This is likely to be a very convenient location for those visiting this area. If you do stay here, the old center of Naarden ("Naarden Vesting") is an adorable old fortress town with several decent restaurants.

First some good things. The public areas are quite nice. The hotel is quiet (as is the neighborhood). The restaurant is quite good, and the staff are pleasant. The have both flat and sparkling water available on each floor by the elevator. The breakfasts are decent.

If you don't have a car, the location is pretty bad. It is about a 2 km walk to the train station in Bussum and a 2 km walk to Naarden. The neighborhood is an upscale residential neighborhood with lots of 2- and 3- story pretty brick houses. And no amenities.

But the rooms. The television is not a flat screen -- which gives some indication as to the last time the rooms were updated. Worse, it had a rather "snowy" picture, nostalgically reminding me of analogue TV sets in my youth.

The desk lamp did not work. Even after asking three days in a row to have it fixed. To the credit of the front desk, they did provide another lamp by the bed. I guess "desk lamp" is ambiguous. The lamps by the bed seemed not to work, because the knobs to turn them on were loose. I eventually figured out that they turn on through switches above the bed. I'd like to point out that this is much harder to figure out in the dark.

The desk in the room did not have a desk chair. However, the cushioned chair in the room was adequate.

The problem with the internet service is not only the speed. You have to input a code and password at least every 24 hours for each device. These are printed on sheets by the front desk, in about a 9 pt font. This is hard to read when there is no lamp by the computer on the desk. And, after a few days, you have quite of few of these sheets.

One of my pet peeves is cleanliness in the bathroom. The grout lines in the shower had staining (mildew ?) where the shower water splashes. Also, hot water was plentiful, but extremely hot causing a legitimate danger of burning.

The hotel itself claims to be four-stars on its web site. They are not a four-star hotel. Although it has many nice qualities, the rooms desperately need updating, and they management should prioritize this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GL_from_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

That I stayed in the NH hotel Jan Tabak in Bussum was again a mistake. The free internet is so slow that it is in fact not usable at all. If you want to surf or download your email attachements, you need to upgrade for 9,95 euro per 24 hrs, otherwise you have to stay up all night.
The same speed was experienced int he bar of the hotel. We needed to search for someone who could give us something to drink. Not once, but for every refill we had to search again. As if customers do not exist!
The breakfast is sufficient but their offer to bake you a fresh egg is only a slogan. There is no cook available to do this. Again I had to search for someone, without success. To summerize the service. Fawlty Towers would do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent nine days biking through Holland. Hotel NH Jan Tabak in Bussum was our headquarters for the entire trip. This hotel worked well for us. The rooms were very large, lots of room for our biking stuff. There was a bike rack in the underground garage where we could lock up our bikes at night. There was good, free wifi throughout the hotel. We had a yummy, hot breakfast every day. The staff was very helpful and friendly, very professional. We would stay here again, very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good location if you need to be in the neighbourhood, enough parking space, friendly efficient staff, comfortable rooms, … If you know why you stay here and get it at a good price it is deal.

If I read some of the other reviews some people seem to expect what is not there: this a not suitable for a romantic getaway, a touristic visit to Amsterdam, a culinary escape.

Indeed the décor is a bit tired, you have to pay for Wi-Fi and the art of cappuccino-making still needs to be taught, but I paid EUR 80 and happy with that.

If you are up for some fun after work try one of the bars in Blaricum or Laren.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years, although haven't been for a few years until this week, and yes the decor and rooms are 'tired' but the staff remain extremely efficient and friendly and make this hotel for me.

WIfi free all over the hotel for guests which is how it should be and not the rip off as offered by so many hotels these days!

Will continue to use the Jan Tabak as it is a decent business hotel, especially if you can get a good deal as I did this time @ €60 inc breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astellsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bussum
2.3 mi away
NH Naarden
NH Naarden
#1 of 2 in Naarden
3.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
3.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen
4.3 mi away
Amrath Grand Hotel & Theater Gooiland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bussum Jan Tabak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bussum Jan Tabak

Property: NH Bussum Jan Tabak
Address: Amersfoortsestraatweg 27, 1401 CV Bussum, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Jan Tabak)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bussum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bussum Jan Tabak 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Bussum Jan Tabak is situated 30 minutes from Schiphol Airport in the heart of ´t Gooi, a region whose natural beauty is rivaled only by its historic charm. Cultural excursions, outdoor sports and recreational activities wait just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, NHHotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your NH Bussum Jan Tabak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing