We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“The one and only hotel in Stadskanaal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The one and only hotel in Stadskanaal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the privilege to spend 8 days at this premises. The price were suspiciously low (considering it included half board), however to be the one and only option of accommodation in Stadskanaal I am rather satisfied. The hotel is located at the town's main square and are close to the bus station (To actually get to Stadskanaal from Amsterdam is a adventure in itself but this is not the right forum for that story :)). Given that I spent such a long time at this hotel and considering that I don't eat meat the hotel had quite a limited option ingredients to work with. However, they did the best they could and I really appreciate their efforts (8 days of mustard soup with different additives). If you want to exercise there is a fully equipped gym a 5 min walk from the hotel which will let you in for €5. The rooms are very average, their most positive feature is the big bathtub, and negative the 14inch old box of a TV.

The hotel is probably the tallest building in Stadskanaal with its 9 floors and most rooms features a balcony with a rather low fence. Given this and the brick square next to it I guess this is a rather great option if one would be suicidal. If you consider yourself belonging to this category, book the half board option and you will be so eager to see what the staff will be able to cook with their extremely limited amount of ingredients that you most likely won't go through with it.

Bon apetit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    24
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
34
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NB
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being used to North American Best Western hotels, we decided to book this hotel when we had to make a trip to Stadskanaal. This hotel was one BIG disappointment. Weird entrance, not so clean hallways, small room ( and a little smelly ) and I can't remember the last time I had seen a tube TV.
When we asked for a second key ( which we didn't think was weird to ask for ), they gave us a hard time but finally dug one out of a little basket full of keys.
Oh, and did I mention the cook checked us in?
Anyhow, once but never again!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel will be better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stadskanaal hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A nine storey building with a great location in the centre of a quiet town, this hotel is close to plenty of restaurants and shops. If, however, you decide not to go out to any of these restaurants, then the in house restaurant is pretty good.
The stand-out feature of this hotel is the staff, who are friendly, accommodating, and really know how to make you feel at home.

I stayed here for 3 weeks whilst working nearby and I would stay here again in the future if I was back in the area, which really says it all.

Room Tip: High floors have a great view of the town, but the elevator is possibly the slowest I have ever expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugswab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead, tyne & wear
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Got a lovely welcome, found all staff friendly. Happy enough with the room(s), two short stays.
Breakfast okay but nothing special. Standard of other food, dinner etc. much better, quite popular with the locals. Stadskannal not touristy but is a nice place to stay if travelling through Holland but hotel is essentially for business. Agree with yorkiebar...slowest lift ever. That would be the only negative. Good value, decent rooms, all round pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Low floor because of lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used this hotel as it was at a convenient point on our journey. It was quite nice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable. However it was quite difficult to find and it took a couple of attempts to finally reach the (ample) parking adjacent to the hotel. (Some roads closed) Evening meal was expensive so we went elsewhere (Pizzeria Vittoria) Breakfast was satisfactory but limited on the jam front - only plum jam! Don't miss Bourtange fortified village which is close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FelicityBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recklinghausen, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had to stay in that hotel for two times now, business related.


The hotel is directly in the towncenter and give a great view over war "water-rich"-towndesign.

The hotel offers some very tight parking slots, so if you're not very safe with you car, better park outside.
The rooms are at best "medium", of course, 4star standard, with a working place and an acceptable roomsize.
The staff in the restaurant, for dinner and breakfast was very friendly and helpful, the selection of foods was good, and all I tested was good.

But nethertheless the hotel is getting older, and thats easy to see, a lot of scratches and damages, all very small - typical town center hotel.

For "just sleep" a good selection, if you prefer bigger rooms, and are flexible with the location, there are some much better options in the small towns aroud stadskanal

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinkrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

The lobby doesn't look much but the hotel makes up for it when you get into your room. However it takes a while for you to reach your room though as the lift is VERY slow. So after the first day I used the stairs.

My room was lovely, very large and airy. It had large floor to ceiling windows which went out onto a balcony. The views were lovely at night looking out to the South of the town.There was even a small porthole window which looked out to the West. I had booked a double which turned out to be two singles put together. The condition of the room was clean are there was the usual amenities - coffee, tea, shampoo etc.

My only slight grumble (and this wasn't really the Hotel's fault) was I stayed over Easter when nearly all the shops of Stadskanaal are shut. If you want to bring back food as holiday gifts you are suddenly faced with a large bill. I ended up buying Pickwick tea through the hotel and Edam, waffles through Schipol airport. Not the most cost effective way of ending your holiday!!

The hotel charges for car parking but there is a free carpark 1 minute away just nextdoor to the theatre (which is nextdoor to the hotel!) Put it this way I could see my car from my balcony.

There are 2 foodstores very nearby which were very handy (when they were open!)

Altogether I like my stay here and will be staying again on my next visit to Stadskanaal in July.

  • Liked — The size of the room, lightness and balcony
  • Disliked — Easter Saturday meant no room service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkiebar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stadskanaal
18.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek
9.1 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Hunzebergen
6.2 mi away
Hotel Hartlief
Hotel Hartlief
#1 of 2 in Buinen
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Emmen
15.1 mi away
Hotel ten Cate
Hotel ten Cate
#3 of 4 in Emmen
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
10.9 mi away
Royal York Hotel
Royal York Hotel
#1 of 2 in Winschoten
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal
Address: Raadhuisplein 30, 9501 SZ Stadskanaal, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Stadskanaal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stadskanaal
Stadskanaal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing