We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cityhotel-Restaurant Stadskanaal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Got a lovely welcome, found all staff friendly. Happy enough with the room(s), two short stays.
Breakfast okay but nothing special. Standard of other food, dinner etc. much better, quite popular with the locals. Stadskannal not touristy but is a nice place to stay if travelling through Holland but hotel is essentially for business. Agree with yorkiebar...slowest lift ever. That would be the only negative. Good value, decent rooms, all round pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Low floor because of lift.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Cityhotel-Restaurant Stadskanaal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used this hotel as it was at a convenient point on our journey. It was quite nice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable. However it was quite difficult to find and it took a couple of attempts to finally reach the (ample) parking adjacent to the hotel. (Some roads closed) Evening meal was expensive so we went elsewhere (Pizzeria Vittoria) Breakfast was satisfactory but limited on the jam front - only plum jam! Don't miss Bourtange fortified village which is close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelicityBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had to stay in that hotel for two times now, business related.


The hotel is directly in the towncenter and give a great view over war "water-rich"-towndesign.

The hotel offers some very tight parking slots, so if you're not very safe with you car, better park outside.
The rooms are at best "medium", of course, 4star standard, with a working place and an acceptable roomsize.
The staff in the restaurant, for dinner and breakfast was very friendly and helpful, the selection of foods was good, and all I tested was good.

But nethertheless the hotel is getting older, and thats easy to see, a lot of scratches and damages, all very small - typical town center hotel.

For "just sleep" a good selection, if you prefer bigger rooms, and are flexible with the location, there are some much better options in the small towns aroud stadskanal

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robinkrumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2007

The lobby doesn't look much but the hotel makes up for it when you get into your room. However it takes a while for you to reach your room though as the lift is VERY slow. So after the first day I used the stairs.

My room was lovely, very large and airy. It had large floor to ceiling windows which went out onto a balcony. The views were lovely at night looking out to the South of the town.There was even a small porthole window which looked out to the West. I had booked a double which turned out to be two singles put together. The condition of the room was clean are there was the usual amenities - coffee, tea, shampoo etc.

My only slight grumble (and this wasn't really the Hotel's fault) was I stayed over Easter when nearly all the shops of Stadskanaal are shut. If you want to bring back food as holiday gifts you are suddenly faced with a large bill. I ended up buying Pickwick tea through the hotel and Edam, waffles through Schipol airport. Not the most cost effective way of ending your holiday!!

The hotel charges for car parking but there is a free carpark 1 minute away just nextdoor to the theatre (which is nextdoor to the hotel!) Put it this way I could see my car from my balcony.

There are 2 foodstores very nearby which were very handy (when they were open!)

Altogether I like my stay here and will be staying again on my next visit to Stadskanaal in July.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yorkiebar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

The room was clean, we arrived late and asked if we could have an extra room. This was no problem and even got the same great internet rate.

The breakfast was ok, room and bathroom clean and bedsheets and furniture in mint condition.

The elevator is a little slow but did not bother me. The people at reception told me a new elevator will be installed in september 2005.

The only thing is that was really missing in our room was having an affordale (wireless) internet connection. We stayed in room 604 and the 'computer' connection was not wired at all. I managed to hold the laptop on the balcony terrace and was able to check my mail through a free signal from one of the neighbours.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Impressionen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mitsumasa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stadskanaal
14.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Emmen
13.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen - Zuidbroek A7
16.8 mi away
Fontana Resort Bad Nieuweschans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Restaurant Hotel Bieze
1.1 mi away
B&B Creatieve Chaos
B&B Creatieve Chaos
#2 of 2 in Stadskanaal
3 reviews
5.8 mi away
No photo provided
De Hiddinghhoeve
#1 of 2 in Stadskanaal
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cityhotel-Restaurant Stadskanaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cityhotel-Restaurant Stadskanaal

Address: Raadhuisplein 30, 9501 SZ Stadskanaal, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal)
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Stadskanaal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Price Range: $83 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cityhotel-Restaurant Stadskanaal 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cityhotel-Restaurant Stadskanaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stadskanaal
Stadskanaal Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing