We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just What We Needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resort Bad Boekelo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Resort Bad Boekelo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boekelo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel was an excellent stop off point when cycling around Holland/Germany. The staff were great and ordered us take-away pizza as the restaurant was closed due to our late arrival.

Away from the restaurant I would recommend a visit to the steakhouse in Bad Boekelo. Very impressive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Advisorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    399
    188
    34
    10
See reviews for
133
485
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lichtenau
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and very inexpensive. There a lots of things to do on the hotel premises. Bowling alley, pool table, fussball, ping pong, swimming pool sauna, playground, out door trails and bike rentals. There is a restaurant onsite food was great, ......Service not so much. I feel like we were singled out being the only Americans. (just the feeling we got) Our waiter was very short and impatient with us, service took forever. there were 4 of us in our party 2 people got their food in a timely manner, my husband and I didnt receive ours until we brought it to their attention and it still took another 15 min. (we ordered at the same time and the same dishes) So needless to say we were the VERY LAST people remaining in the restaurant almost 3 hours later. Other than the restaurant evening staff the rest of the staff were friendly and accommodating. Could use a steam cleaning on the carpets throughout the hotel but other wise very nice. not 5* or anything but still a cool outdoorsy weekend getaway
* train* if your looking to take the train anywhere the closest one is under construction and you have to take a bus from the train station to the next town over. found out the difficult way. we traveled to Amsterdam by train (2hrs and 85 euro for 2 people!) a little expensive for the hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton F, Manager at Resort Bad Boekelo, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate when guests are giving us feedback on their stay. Unfortunately the service in our restaurant was not as it used to be. Offcourse this wil be discussed with our restaurant staff. I would like to apologize for this. All your other feedback is really nice and I would like to thank you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed there for a few weeks and there is good and bad to this. First off, the service is very good. The people are always helpful and always have a smile for you. They are very knowledgable about the area and are willing to help you with whatever you need. You can rent bikes from there and since the area is so scenic its great to do. Its about 5 miles to the center of Enschede. There are bowling alleys in the hotel and a pool. Massage chairs that cost 2 euros for 5 minutes but its way longer. THe only problem is the rooms. First off, dont go there in the heat of the summer. You will literally sweat to death. Most of Europe does not have AC and even though it does not get too hot in the Netherlands, if you get a few 80 degree days it gets super hot on the top floors and in the hallways. The carpets need an upgrade as well. The rooms are clean though and the bathroom is big. The beds are a bit small but are fine. The restaurant was very good and the buffet was super. The buffets in Europe are not like in the US. They are clean and not creepy like in the states. If they put in some sort of cooling system and updated the look of the place it could be a super place to stay.

Room Tip: If its the summer, stay on the bottom floor to stay cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton F, General Manager at Resort Bad Boekelo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we appriciate your enthousiasm about our hospitality ans staff.
We are aware of the negativ points you have mentioned. Some of them are having high priority on our list.
Hope to see you next time in Sandton Resort Bad Boekelo when you visit this region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We made the reservation through the hotel website. Check-in within 5 minutes. We were very surprised that the apartment was well and cosy furnished. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, one very small with toilet and shower and the other one with a bath and toilet. The kitchen including combi micro wave and dishwasher was enough for our family of 4. We had a groundfloor apartment which is nice with the big garden in front, especially for the children. Quality of the matrasses were fine, although the masterbedroom is of higher quality. Nice is the corridor from the apartmentbuilding to the main building, also easy for the children to go to the swimmingpool by themselves. Swimmingpool area is fine but the floor might be cleaned more often. A pity is that their is no children animation on Sunday while there are so many kids. Better take a day off on Monday in stead of Sunday.
We did not used the restaurant as there are better and cheaper restaurants in the Enschede area. The lounge bar is quite expensive and has not much choice. The staff is friendly and used to the many families with children who stay in this hotel.
We had a very pleasant stay and like to come back in spring, when the landscape is green. It was really good value for money in comparison to other holiday vacation rentals.

Room Tip: We had no. 54, groundfloor apartment in 2nd apartmentbuilding with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunraytjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton F, General Manager at Resort Bad Boekelo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Google Translation
Hartelijke dank voor uw enthousiasme en vooral positieve review naar aanleiding van uw verblijf in één van onze appartementen. Het feit dat u in het voorjaar weer terug zult komen voor een nieuw verblijf, is voor ons een bevestiging van ons "gastvrijheids principe". Wij verheugen ons er nu al op.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A colleague recommended this hotel saying it was one of the nicer places. Not knowing what to compare it to, would say it average at best.

My biggest surprise came when I learned that this spa resort had no fitness center. I was told I could the many trails in the forest. Which might be ok, except it was cold (December) and it was very dark at 6 AM.

The room I stayed in was a little worn, and in need of updating. The public areas had the same worn out look, with paint stains on the carpet.

The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was good, but not great. The location was not ideal for me, but I can see how this might be nice in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for recently remodeled, or in newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton F, General Manager at Resort Bad Boekelo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Ofcourse we regret that our hotel was not the hotel you have been expected. The negative points you have mentioned will be taken very serious and if we have the possibility to change these we will not hesitate to do so.
Ton Falkmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel, at least in the Autumn, seems more a business than a family hotel, in spite of its resort name. Located in the woods it is convenient by your own car from Enschede, about 8-10 mins. My bathroom refurbished, the room itself could do with new carpeting. Otherwise fine. Overall average to what one might expect, with good price quality ratio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked a long weekend at Resort Bad Boekelo in one of the appartments. The setting of the hotel (in the woods) is pretty & check-in was fine. However, when we arrived in the appartment the bathroom stank of boiled cabbage/sewers. We called reception and were told we could move to the appartment next door. We went there for a look/sniff but the problem was just as bad there. The manager explained that it was because the appartments hadn't been used in a while and that if we let the water run for a while the stink would disappear. We did and it did. What I don't understand is why a member of staff didn't do this before our arrival.
On the plus side, the appartment was well-equipped and the living area is nicely decorated (the bathrooms haven't had the same facelift yet). The pool is free for residents and is heated and a decent size. The children had a ball there each morning.
One 'area for improvement' is staff training. The staff are friendly but somewhat incompetent. I asked a number of questions and repeatedly got the answer "I don't know, I'll check with my colleague (checks..),...sorry, he/she doesn't know either". This became a running joke between my husband and I over the course of the weekend!
Another point of irritation is that - aside from the pool - everything else comes at a price (sauna, bowling, air hockey etc etc).
The area is very nice, we drove over to Bad bentheim in Germany & visited the castle there - a nice day out.
With a bit of investment Resort Bad Boekelo could be very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ykemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boekelo
4.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede
4.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Enschede
5.2 mi away
InterCityHotel Enschede
InterCityHotel Enschede
#1 of 8 in Enschede
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
6.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo
7.0 mi away
Hotel Frans op den Bult
Hotel Frans op den Bult
#1 of 1 in Deurningen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Bad Boekelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Bad Boekelo

Property: Resort Bad Boekelo
Address: Oude Deldenerweg 203, 7548 PM Boekelo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Boekelo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boekelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Bad Boekelo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Resort Bad Boekelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing