We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great aparthotel, good value for money”
Review of Resort Bad Boekelo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort Bad Boekelo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boekelo
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great aparthotel, good value for money”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We made the reservation through the hotel website. Check-in within 5 minutes. We were very surprised that the apartment was well and cosy furnished. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, one very small with toilet and shower and the other one with a bath and toilet. The kitchen including combi micro wave and dishwasher was enough for our family of 4. We had a groundfloor apartment which is nice with the big garden in front, especially for the children. Quality of the matrasses were fine, although the masterbedroom is of higher quality. Nice is the corridor from the apartmentbuilding to the main building, also easy for the children to go to the swimmingpool by themselves. Swimmingpool area is fine but the floor might be cleaned more often. A pity is that their is no children animation on Sunday while there are so many kids. Better take a day off on Monday in stead of Sunday.
We did not used the restaurant as there are better and cheaper restaurants in the Enschede area. The lounge bar is quite expensive and has not much choice. The staff is friendly and used to the many families with children who stay in this hotel.
We had a very pleasant stay and like to come back in spring, when the landscape is green. It was really good value for money in comparison to other holiday vacation rentals.

Room Tip: We had no. 54, groundfloor apartment in 2nd apartmentbuilding with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunraytjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton F, General Manager at Resort Bad Boekelo, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Google Translation
Hartelijke dank voor uw enthousiasme en vooral positieve review naar aanleiding van uw verblijf in één van onze appartementen. Het feit dat u in het voorjaar weer terug zult komen voor een nieuw verblijf, is voor ons een bevestiging van ons "gastvrijheids principe". Wij verheugen ons er nu al op.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    432
    198
    38
    11
See reviews for
144
529
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A colleague recommended this hotel saying it was one of the nicer places. Not knowing what to compare it to, would say it average at best.

My biggest surprise came when I learned that this spa resort had no fitness center. I was told I could the many trails in the forest. Which might be ok, except it was cold (December) and it was very dark at 6 AM.

The room I stayed in was a little worn, and in need of updating. The public areas had the same worn out look, with paint stains on the carpet.

The staff was very friendly. The restaurant was good, but not great. The location was not ideal for me, but I can see how this might be nice in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for recently remodeled, or in newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaddyYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ton F, General Manager at Resort Bad Boekelo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Ofcourse we regret that our hotel was not the hotel you have been expected. The negative points you have mentioned will be taken very serious and if we have the possibility to change these we will not hesitate to do so.
Ton Falkmann, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel, at least in the Autumn, seems more a business than a family hotel, in spite of its resort name. Located in the woods it is convenient by your own car from Enschede, about 8-10 mins. My bathroom refurbished, the room itself could do with new carpeting. Otherwise fine. Overall average to what one might expect, with good price quality ratio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked a long weekend at Resort Bad Boekelo in one of the appartments. The setting of the hotel (in the woods) is pretty & check-in was fine. However, when we arrived in the appartment the bathroom stank of boiled cabbage/sewers. We called reception and were told we could move to the appartment next door. We went there for a look/sniff but the problem was just as bad there. The manager explained that it was because the appartments hadn't been used in a while and that if we let the water run for a while the stink would disappear. We did and it did. What I don't understand is why a member of staff didn't do this before our arrival.
On the plus side, the appartment was well-equipped and the living area is nicely decorated (the bathrooms haven't had the same facelift yet). The pool is free for residents and is heated and a decent size. The children had a ball there each morning.
One 'area for improvement' is staff training. The staff are friendly but somewhat incompetent. I asked a number of questions and repeatedly got the answer "I don't know, I'll check with my colleague (checks..),...sorry, he/she doesn't know either". This became a running joke between my husband and I over the course of the weekend!
Another point of irritation is that - aside from the pool - everything else comes at a price (sauna, bowling, air hockey etc etc).
The area is very nice, we drove over to Bad bentheim in Germany & visited the castle there - a nice day out.
With a bit of investment Resort Bad Boekelo could be very good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ykemichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed at Bad Boekelo for 2 nights in October. Lovely location and surroundings in the woods. slightly off the beaten track but they have an ample supply of bicycles available. Had a room on the ground floor, reasonably quiet. Carpeting and walls need much TLC as there are years of stains and damages everywhere. rooms smallish, we found the beds a little too soft. bathroom adequate with no amenities to speak of. Showers wets the entire floor despite a curious glass half-door that doesn't work. TV of the old type (instead of an flatscreen on the wall which would save a lot of room). Vending machine for sodas and snacks.

Hotel-bar, coffeshop, open fire all very nice. Bar a tad expensive but which hotel bar isn't.
Breakfast area quite large, breakfast itself very good actually. Dinner was quite good on the 1st night but on the second it all went south. Eventually the issues we resolved quite satisfactorily once we found a manager......or waiter.....or barstaff. pity that.
Check-in and -out quick and efficient and nice staff at the desk. Didn't use the pool and on used the spa for a pleasant massage. Adjoining the hotel is the appartment-complex. We didn't go there so we have no opinion or comments. They are profiling themselves as a family hotel now so be prepared for lots families with children.

Room Tip: get a room on the 1st floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icepackbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in the apartment and we nicely surprised by it (certainly for the price). It has been renovated, tho the toilets have been left original it seems tho it wasn't falling apart or anything. Just simple plain white tiles and cabinets. apartment itself was comfortable and stylish. Kitchen fully equipped, they provided dish cloths and dishwashing liquid/tablets too. We didnt try the restaurant but it wasn't expensive (30 eu for a 3 course). Nice that we could order croissants etc in morning. Not much to do in hotel itself. Spa was well laid out and provided a good range of services. Tip: there is a discount coupon in the booklet given by the hotel which gives you some euros off the spa. Also if you bring your kids to the Labyrinth place across the road, get a discount card from those advert things hanging in the lobby. Pool warmed to good temperature (I come from the tropics!) Around the hotel its beautiful for biking, the two bigger towns nearby are great for a day or half day trip. All in we had a pleasant trip and the hotel met our expectations.

Room Tip: Aptm rooms on ground floor lets your kids play outside whilst you can keep an eye on them and call t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotel-prowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
228 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Some people have written few critical words about Bad Boekelo but I have spent 4 nice days there.
Location is good, close to Enschede and Hengelo but in the country. The place encourage to bicycle trips or walking. Few old trees and sea of greenery gives shelter to many birds. My visit was in May so I could enjoy morning and evening singing.
Hotel is targeting by organized groups, mainly pensioners. Some business people stay there as well.
Service is nice. Reception people are helpful joyful.
Rooms are average but with balcony. Beds are rather soft. Internet access is free and works well. Towels are changed every day and room is kept tidily.
Breakfast is decent. Restaurant compensate the ordinary morning offer during the evening. Bad Boekelo employs good cook and waiter team is very nice and professional. Unfortunately, prices are rather high and no other option in the range of 2 km. I would also prefer if shutting time for food order was extended over 20:00 (!).
Summary - very relaxing place without any significant disadvantages.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdaandKristof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boekelo
4.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - De Broeierd Enschede
12.1 mi away
Theater Hotel Almelo
4.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - City Hengelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Enschede
4.5 mi away
Tuindorphotel 't Lansink
5.2 mi away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Bad Boekelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Bad Boekelo

Property: Resort Bad Boekelo
Address: Oude Deldenerweg 203, 7548 PM Boekelo, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Boekelo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boekelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Bad Boekelo 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resort Bad Boekelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing