We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good service, good rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Beatrix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good service, good rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice location right on the beach, but a little out of town. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms nice and clean, but quite "cozy" and sound travel between rooms was not great. No iron in room, but available from reception, but no ironing board available so was advised to put a towel on the desk and use that instead!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thehensters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    35
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
12
4
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a recent business trip to Den Helder. It is a decent hotel with good amenities. Service at the hotel is good at both the desk and they restaurant on the top floor. Rooms include breakfast, nothing fancy but a good solid Dutch fare. It's pretty far away from Den Helder, I had a car so it was not an issue. The room doors use real keys, which I have not seen in years (except for another hotel in Denmark -- must be a European thing) I'd stay here again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
222 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights last week while having to conduct business in Den Helder. It's a nice hotel located right behind a dike so only being a few meters away from the sea. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are good (nothing more, nothing less). You will have to lock the door manually each time going in and out of the room since it doesn't lock itself. TV reception in the room was good and clean, the beds are comfortable, the internet connection was so poor that it was not usable. The breakfast is very minimal and doesn't get restocked, so if you're planning on sleeping a bit late (in other words eat breakfast on or after 8 AM, expect even less). There's a really nasty petrolium smell when you enter the restaurant which right-a-way makes sure your hunger is gone.

The hotel does have a small swimming pool and squash tracks. It is within walking distance to a lighthouse which you can visit during certain times. The hotel seemed to be impossible to reach by public transport. A taxi ride from the central train station in Den Helder to this hotel costs about 20 euro one way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NL_Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I reached the town of Den Helder already late at night, was participating in a Press Tour and visit the Naval Base and Shipyard in Den Helder. Fast and efficient service, cozy hotel, next to the lighthouse that marks the entrance to the shipping channel. Luxury with simplicity, good bed, bedroom correct and well equipped. TV, high-resolution, standard bathroom, I found just the low ceiling in the hallway, but I have one meter and ninety-four inches tall, so it always happens ... We left the morning meeting with the beautiful lobby of the hotel .......

Room Tip: room clean, well lit, easy to use lamps, high-resolution TV, wardrobe as usually found in hotels of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCaiafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed recently for one night on a business trip; it's the recommended hotel for our work at the nearby den Helder airport.

The hotel itself is lovely - potentially a little dated in decor for some tastes, but that's purely cosmetic. I note a couple of points from earlier reviews, and could concur - the light switches do seem a bit illogical, so that takes some time to work out; and there's no welcome pack in the room. However, when the receptionist is as helpful as she was, there's little need for a pack!

Hotel is a little out of town so not much choice for eating & drinking in walking distance; and being on my own my colleagues recommended I just stay in the hotel for dinner. However, that turned out to be the best choice - the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. If I'm honest, not at all what I'd have expected based on the decor and style of the rest of the hotel. Staff were great, as was the menu selections - the food was more than great!

Tip - make sure you've got cash on you. The taxis didn't take cards, and a trip from the airport to the hotel was 20-odd Euro each way. Having said that, when wiped out of cash and asking for the nearest cash machine, the receptionist helpfully offered a "cash back" facility the next morning when I settled my bill.

If there's a downside, it is as others mention - the stairs. In a way, it's obvious now looking at the photos of the exterior. My room was on the first floor - took the elevator up one floor from reception, but I swear I must have gone down at least two-floors worth of (steep) steps. For most folk, there's not so many steps as to be a real problem - more of an inconvenience, particularly with baggage. (I took my bags with me to breakfast, so I left from there - rather than make the trip back to the room after breakfast again). For the less agile, and particularly those with real mobility issues, check with the hotel before booking to request accessible rooms.

Room Tip: If you've any mobility / fitness / agility issues, please phone in advance to check out room ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm-ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim, Germany
Level Contributor
291 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed for four days in the Hotel on a business trip, while I was working in the port of Den Helder close by. The hotel is classic dutch, a bit dark, carpets and so on. It's just a few metres away from the Dijk and the North Sea, as I was there in the european holiday season it was busy with tourists both on and off bicycles. Room and bed are excellent, I had a room to the back, which I don't mind on working trips. WLAN was excellent all over the place and free, the breakfast was ecellent as well. I went to the restaurant one evening and found the prices a bit hefty, but the service was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Beatrix during a recent stay in Den Helder as this hotel was the best rated of the region.

The hotel itself is ok, although everything looks a little old and more worn than one would expect from a 4* hotel. Although the hotel is on the seaside, it's peculiar architecture does that only a handful of the rooms actually have a straight sea view. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was of limited variety but tasted good.

The staff was very nice and friendly. It also positively impressed me by taking the spontaneously put a wine bottle (which I had brought from France and left in the minibar) in a bucket of ice so that it would be ready for my return to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huisduinen
1.6 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Den Helder
Hotel Den Helder
#4 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
#3 of 3 in Callantsoog
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
8.4 mi away
Strandhotel de Horn
Strandhotel de Horn
#1 of 3 in Callantsoog
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
23.4 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Beatrix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beatrix

Property: Grand Hotel Beatrix
Address: Badhuisstraat 2 /10, 1789 AK Huisduinen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huisduinen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Beatrix 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New restaurant C'est La Vie Wine & Dine (jan2011) in Grand Hotel Beatrix Huisduinen/Den Helder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Beatrix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Huisduinen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing