We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For One Night, perfect place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Beatrix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“For One Night, perfect place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I reached the town of Den Helder already late at night, was participating in a Press Tour and visit the Naval Base and Shipyard in Den Helder. Fast and efficient service, cozy hotel, next to the lighthouse that marks the entrance to the shipping channel. Luxury with simplicity, good bed, bedroom correct and well equipped. TV, high-resolution, standard bathroom, I found just the low ceiling in the hallway, but I have one meter and ninety-four inches tall, so it always happens ... We left the morning meeting with the beautiful lobby of the hotel .......

Room Tip: room clean, well lit, easy to use lamps, high-resolution TV, wardrobe as usually found in hotels of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCaiafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
12
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed recently for one night on a business trip; it's the recommended hotel for our work at the nearby den Helder airport.

The hotel itself is lovely - potentially a little dated in decor for some tastes, but that's purely cosmetic. I note a couple of points from earlier reviews, and could concur - the light switches do seem a bit illogical, so that takes some time to work out; and there's no welcome pack in the room. However, when the receptionist is as helpful as she was, there's little need for a pack!

Hotel is a little out of town so not much choice for eating & drinking in walking distance; and being on my own my colleagues recommended I just stay in the hotel for dinner. However, that turned out to be the best choice - the restaurant was absolutely fantastic. If I'm honest, not at all what I'd have expected based on the decor and style of the rest of the hotel. Staff were great, as was the menu selections - the food was more than great!

Tip - make sure you've got cash on you. The taxis didn't take cards, and a trip from the airport to the hotel was 20-odd Euro each way. Having said that, when wiped out of cash and asking for the nearest cash machine, the receptionist helpfully offered a "cash back" facility the next morning when I settled my bill.

If there's a downside, it is as others mention - the stairs. In a way, it's obvious now looking at the photos of the exterior. My room was on the first floor - took the elevator up one floor from reception, but I swear I must have gone down at least two-floors worth of (steep) steps. For most folk, there's not so many steps as to be a real problem - more of an inconvenience, particularly with baggage. (I took my bags with me to breakfast, so I left from there - rather than make the trip back to the room after breakfast again). For the less agile, and particularly those with real mobility issues, check with the hotel before booking to request accessible rooms.

Room Tip: If you've any mobility / fitness / agility issues, please phone in advance to check out room ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mm-ennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forchheim, Germany
Level Contributor
291 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed for four days in the Hotel on a business trip, while I was working in the port of Den Helder close by. The hotel is classic dutch, a bit dark, carpets and so on. It's just a few metres away from the Dijk and the North Sea, as I was there in the european holiday season it was busy with tourists both on and off bicycles. Room and bed are excellent, I had a room to the back, which I don't mind on working trips. WLAN was excellent all over the place and free, the breakfast was ecellent as well. I went to the restaurant one evening and found the prices a bit hefty, but the service was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Beatrix during a recent stay in Den Helder as this hotel was the best rated of the region.

The hotel itself is ok, although everything looks a little old and more worn than one would expect from a 4* hotel. Although the hotel is on the seaside, it's peculiar architecture does that only a handful of the rooms actually have a straight sea view. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was of limited variety but tasted good.

The staff was very nice and friendly. It also positively impressed me by taking the spontaneously put a wine bottle (which I had brought from France and left in the minibar) in a bucket of ice so that it would be ready for my return to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel is located on the seafront on the outskirts of Den Helder. Most people will arrive in Den Helder by train, and it's a 10 Euro fare to the hotel from the train station or about 25 minutes on foot.

My room was located on the first floor, which involved climbing up two sets of stairs, going through a door, and then going back down another two sets of stairs. This arrangement isn't the easiest if you have a few bags and a suitcase. The key for the room is attached to a heavy metal keyring which is slightly too bulky to fit comfortably in a trouser pocket, and you have to lock the room door when entering or leaving the room - the doors don't automatically lock.

The room was modern and clean, with a small balcony giving a great view of the red iron lighthouse which dominates the local skyline. The lightswitch as you enter the room only seems to switch on a single light, and after that it's a case of switching on various lamps around the room to get enough light to read with. There wasn't the usual "welcome" folder in the room, giving details of the hotel facilities etc, but the lady on reception was helpful enough in answering my questions. The double bed appeared to be two single beds joined together, and the duvet was actually two singles that overlapped in the middle.

On a previous trip there was a small bistro/bar to the right of reception which also served tasty food and drink, but on this visit, only the upmarket fine dining restaurant was available due to "renovation work". The fine dining restaurant serves a limited range of very well prepared dishes, with seasonal local ingredients (mostly seafood). The prices reflect the high standards, so don't expect any change from 60 Euro for a 3 course meal with a glass of wine or a couple of beers. The waiters/waitresses were cheery and very helpful.

Breakfast is actually served in the bistro bar next to reception, and consists of a choice of cereals, breads, cold meats and chesses, yoghurts, fruit, plus some scrambled eggs and bacon.

A high percentage of the hotel's clientelle appear to work in the offshore oil and gas industry who start work early. This means you are aware of doors being opened and closed from around 6am, and by 8am there wasn't a great selection of breakfast remaining as some items had ran out and weren't replenished.

If the fine dining restaurant isn't to your taste or budget, then I would recommend the Nodal Wiedus restaurant about 200m from the hotel, located on the top of the dyke with excellent views over the sea (arrive early for a window seat). The menus are in Dutch only, but the friendly waitresses are happy to translate and provide advice.

Checking out of the hotel was quick and efficient, and the bill was accurate despite me not signing for any food or drink during my stay.

Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms, great location for seaside walks, friendly staff
Cons: Limited dining options, average breakfast, quirky, a bit isolated, wind noise throgun balcony window.

I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMBStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Having frequented this establishment on numerous occasions it just seems to get better with each visit.The food presentation,taste,seasonal variety, local produce(Texel lamb,tiny shrimp and fish ),is just outstanding. The restaurant and its staff cannot be surpassed by anything within 100 kilometres, the hotel and its rooms are of an excellent standard.The location is right on the seafront in a quiet area,and would be an superb base for short strolls along the dyke to Den Helder or maybe catch the ferry across to the popular island of Texel

Room Tip: if it is possible, ask for a room away from the local Kerk as the clock chimes may well interrupt yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CortezLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Beatix. They gave us a fantastic family room (two rooms next to eachother with and adjoining hall) and a third room nearby. Dinner in the restaurant upstairs was too upscale for my mac and cheese kids, but the manager was happy to refer us to a great kid-friendly place on the sea wall across the street. The pool was not large, but perfect for our needs. The hot tub was a big hit, as well. Included breakfast buffet was adequate, but not overwhelming. I could not get my Apple product to connect to the free high speed internet.

Warning, the place has more stairs than an Escher painting. If stairs are a problem, be sure to get a room near the lobby or elevator.

We found the rooms clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The hotel may have not been the cheapest choice on the mainland, but we found it well worth the money. Thank you!

Room Tip: Upper floors have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyGirlAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huisduinen
1.6 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Den Helder
Hotel Den Helder
#4 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
#2 of 3 in Callantsoog
3.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
8.4 mi away
Strandhotel de Horn
Strandhotel de Horn
#1 of 3 in Callantsoog
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
23.4 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Beatrix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beatrix

Property: Grand Hotel Beatrix
Address: Badhuisstraat 2 /10, 1789 AK Huisduinen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huisduinen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Beatrix 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New restaurant C'est La Vie Wine & Dine (jan2011) in Grand Hotel Beatrix Huisduinen/Den Helder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Beatrix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Huisduinen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing