We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ok hotel, very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Beatrix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Beatrix during a recent stay in Den Helder as this hotel was the best rated of the region.

The hotel itself is ok, although everything looks a little old and more worn than one would expect from a 4* hotel. Although the hotel is on the seaside, it's peculiar architecture does that only a handful of the rooms actually have a straight sea view. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was of limited variety but tasted good.

The staff was very nice and friendly. It also positively impressed me by taking the spontaneously put a wine bottle (which I had brought from France and left in the minibar) in a bucket of ice so that it would be ready for my return to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
12
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel is located on the seafront on the outskirts of Den Helder. Most people will arrive in Den Helder by train, and it's a 10 Euro fare to the hotel from the train station or about 25 minutes on foot.

My room was located on the first floor, which involved climbing up two sets of stairs, going through a door, and then going back down another two sets of stairs. This arrangement isn't the easiest if you have a few bags and a suitcase. The key for the room is attached to a heavy metal keyring which is slightly too bulky to fit comfortably in a trouser pocket, and you have to lock the room door when entering or leaving the room - the doors don't automatically lock.

The room was modern and clean, with a small balcony giving a great view of the red iron lighthouse which dominates the local skyline. The lightswitch as you enter the room only seems to switch on a single light, and after that it's a case of switching on various lamps around the room to get enough light to read with. There wasn't the usual "welcome" folder in the room, giving details of the hotel facilities etc, but the lady on reception was helpful enough in answering my questions. The double bed appeared to be two single beds joined together, and the duvet was actually two singles that overlapped in the middle.

On a previous trip there was a small bistro/bar to the right of reception which also served tasty food and drink, but on this visit, only the upmarket fine dining restaurant was available due to "renovation work". The fine dining restaurant serves a limited range of very well prepared dishes, with seasonal local ingredients (mostly seafood). The prices reflect the high standards, so don't expect any change from 60 Euro for a 3 course meal with a glass of wine or a couple of beers. The waiters/waitresses were cheery and very helpful.

Breakfast is actually served in the bistro bar next to reception, and consists of a choice of cereals, breads, cold meats and chesses, yoghurts, fruit, plus some scrambled eggs and bacon.

A high percentage of the hotel's clientelle appear to work in the offshore oil and gas industry who start work early. This means you are aware of doors being opened and closed from around 6am, and by 8am there wasn't a great selection of breakfast remaining as some items had ran out and weren't replenished.

If the fine dining restaurant isn't to your taste or budget, then I would recommend the Nodal Wiedus restaurant about 200m from the hotel, located on the top of the dyke with excellent views over the sea (arrive early for a window seat). The menus are in Dutch only, but the friendly waitresses are happy to translate and provide advice.

Checking out of the hotel was quick and efficient, and the bill was accurate despite me not signing for any food or drink during my stay.

Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms, great location for seaside walks, friendly staff
Cons: Limited dining options, average breakfast, quirky, a bit isolated, wind noise throgun balcony window.

I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMBStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Having frequented this establishment on numerous occasions it just seems to get better with each visit.The food presentation,taste,seasonal variety, local produce(Texel lamb,tiny shrimp and fish ),is just outstanding. The restaurant and its staff cannot be surpassed by anything within 100 kilometres, the hotel and its rooms are of an excellent standard.The location is right on the seafront in a quiet area,and would be an superb base for short strolls along the dyke to Den Helder or maybe catch the ferry across to the popular island of Texel

Room Tip: if it is possible, ask for a room away from the local Kerk as the clock chimes may well interrupt yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CortezLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Beatix. They gave us a fantastic family room (two rooms next to eachother with and adjoining hall) and a third room nearby. Dinner in the restaurant upstairs was too upscale for my mac and cheese kids, but the manager was happy to refer us to a great kid-friendly place on the sea wall across the street. The pool was not large, but perfect for our needs. The hot tub was a big hit, as well. Included breakfast buffet was adequate, but not overwhelming. I could not get my Apple product to connect to the free high speed internet.

Warning, the place has more stairs than an Escher painting. If stairs are a problem, be sure to get a room near the lobby or elevator.

We found the rooms clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The hotel may have not been the cheapest choice on the mainland, but we found it well worth the money. Thank you!

Room Tip: Upper floors have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyGirlAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Location was OK, but not reflected by the pictures
Service was OK, but not really fantastic

so Ok hotel, but did not meet my 150 euros a night for a remote place..

The restaurant is though impressive (lacks air conditionning). the food was excellent (even though pretty stright tastes). I definetely recommend (count 80 eur / person)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odzodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huisduinen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

LOL, this place is not luggage friendly, there are multiple sets of steps up and down per hall., pack a shoulder bag. The rest of the experience makes up for it though. The view of the lighthouse ay night from 33s balcony is stunning to say the least.. You need look no further for your dinner either. I was served the best meal I have had in a long time (catch of the day) by a very pleasant waitress.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last few years when working in Den Helder. Although I should point out that this hotel is not actually in Den Helder, but Huisduinen which is about 5km outside of the town. This is not too bad, but it does mean that you need a car to get about.

The rooms in the hotel are a little dated, but perfectly acceptable. They are always clean and tidy. The hotel does have a free wi-fi service, which is realiable and a lot quicker than others I have used at the hotel. However the big selling point is the food. In one word, it is excellent. When I stay at this hotel I always eat there. Just one minor thing, as an Englishman, I wish they wouldnt put such a big head on the beer, especially with the cost of it in Holland! If you do want to eat somewhere else, Nogal Weidus, which is a couple of minutes walk is good too.

The staff have always been helpful, friendly and attentive, with one exception. A couple of years ago I had to leave the hotel at 6am to get a flight from Amsterdam and went to check out then, only for the man behind the counter to complain saying that I wasnt supposed to check out after 9pm or before 7am. That would have been ok, assuming I had been told! However I have had no problems since then.

One thing that does take a bit of getting used to is the beds. The beds themselves are actually quite comofortable, but they are actually two smaller beds pushed together. I had adapted after the first night though.

Overall it is a good hotel, and I will be staying here again on my next visit to Den Helder.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huisduinen
1.6 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Den Helder
Hotel Den Helder
#4 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
#2 of 3 in Callantsoog
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Lands End
Hotel Lands End
#1 of 4 in Den Helder
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
18.8 mi away
Blooming Hotel
Blooming Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bergen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Forest Hotel
Forest Hotel
#3 of 4 in Den Helder
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Beatrix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beatrix

Property: Grand Hotel Beatrix
Address: Badhuisstraat 2 - 10, 1783 AK Huisduinen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huisduinen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Beatrix 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New restaurant C'est La Vie Wine & Dine (jan2011) in Grand Hotel Beatrix Huisduinen/Den Helder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Beatrix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Huisduinen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing