We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medemblik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Medemblik
Ranked #1 of 4 Medemblik B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
215 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel Medemblik is at the end of the main street next to the canal; very pretty setting. We stayed there on night 2 of our cycling tour of the Isjelmeer. Our room was spacious, very clean with a large bathroom. The staff are very helpful. The evening meal (duck) was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. I would recommned it as a stopping point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Medemblik on the Ijslemeer inland sea in Holland. It is eight years since I last stayed here and recently the hotel has undergone a complete makeover to give it a modern new image and what a good job they have done. I can't say anything negative about this hotel. It is just lovely. It is smallish, very comfortable, clean, well located for touring North Holland and the service and staff are excellent. Like all Dutch people, they cannot do enough to make your stay a happy one. Food in the hotel is very reasonably priced, excellent quality and very, very nice. The breakfast included in our package was typical of modern European hotels and this too was very good in terms of the quality on offer. Medemblik has several very good restaurants in addition to the hotel including traditional Dutch, Greek and a variety of others.
If you do visit this area, the Hotel Medemblik is a great place to base yourself.
Medemblik is a lovely town and typical of others in North Holland such as Hoorn and Enkhuizen all of which are worth a visit. Amsterdam is only 30 minutes away by car and can also be accessed by train from Hoorn. Other villages further south such as Volendam are worth a visit but are a bit more touristy and so attract many day trippers from Holland and further afield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
147 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 2 nights for bussiness. Rooms are great and look like they have been recently renovated. Staff is very friendly and the "Wapen van Medemblik" restaurant is great. It offers little choice but for instance the special called "Varkenshaasspiesje met friet en sla" is very good. Staff is friendly and accomodating. What's wrong, well the room was a bit warm and now way to control the temperature. Parking is free after 18.00 hours and before 08.00. Breakfast is basic but OK.

Room Tip: If you want to open you're window to cool you're room don't go for a room on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nice room with great views, quiet and good quality beds. Food in the restaurant was excellent, the staff helpful and attentive without being over the top.
On my second night I was working late, too late for 9 pm service finish, the staff offered to make me some food , but instead I went elsewhere on their advice found a great local Italian place.
I had to leave early the following morning before breakfast so they made a box of goodies to eat for breakfast at no extra charge. Little things like that are very rare, and make this hotel stand out as a shining example of good customer services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevaDave27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, SC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Had no real expectation here. Figured it would be an old hotel with stairs and small rooms. We got a brand new room that was very well appointed. Our room overlooked the canal. Very quiet.

The restaurant is one of the best we have visited. The selection is wide and all the food outstanding. The hostess ensures your satisfaction.

No free wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob1eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in Hotel Medemblik with my husband and 6 week old daughter. Service was excellent from start to finish. The food in the restaurant was second to none with a selection of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes. The rooms though a little dated in the decor stakes was spotlessly clean and had the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The bathroom appears to have been recently renovated and was gorgeous with a huge bath that you cold practically swim in!! Breakfast was buffet style with a large selection which was well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LelliMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medemblik
8.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
7.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Wieringermeer
Van der Valk Hotel Wieringermeer
#1 of 1 in Wieringerwerf
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel De Koepoort
Hotel De Koepoort
#1 of 5 in Enkhuizen
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hotel de Magneet
Hotel de Magneet
#2 of 5 in Hoorn
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
7.8 mi away
De Halve Maan
De Halve Maan
#1 of 1 in Bovenkarspel
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Medemblik
Bed & Breakfast Medemblik
#2 of 4 in Medemblik
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medemblik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medemblik

Property: Hotel Medemblik
Address: Oosterhaven 1, 1671 AA, Medemblik, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Medemblik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Medemblik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medemblik 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Medemblik is a comfortable, stylish hotel, offering traditional hospitality in a historic setting, situated in the heart of the oldest city at the IJsselmeer Lake. Situated near the three yacht harbors of the city, Hotel Medemblik is the perfect place to stay, whether you are on a transit or on a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Medemblik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing