We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but that's about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Theater Figi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Theater Figi
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Zeist
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OK, but that's about it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not overly impressed by this hotel. I stayed one night and the room was really spacious, but the layout was really odd. None of the sockets were in useful places, with most in the corners of the room where there was no furniture and none near the table that held the Tv which was the only piece of furniture you could use as a desk.

The bed was really comfy and the shower lovely and big, but the smell from the drains in the bathroom was awful.

The worst thing for me was that the hotel is situated opposite a lovely building that looks like a town hall, and the clock strikes every single hour. I had stupidly thought it might stop late in the evening, but no, every single hour you heard the appropriate number of chimes, and believe me, I heard all but 1 and 2am! Hence I didn't get a very good night's sleep and was looking forward to a nice big breakfast. Hmm....very disappointing, the only thing I could find that I fancied was some fruit (that hadn't been washed) and a couple of bread rolls. I am not really a ham or cheese person in the mornings and the selection was extremely poor given the cost (19 euros)

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the clock chimes opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    138
    47
    15
    3
See reviews for
28
122
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friends and I spent a week in The Netherlands before embarking on a cruise ship out of Amsterdam for 12 days. We selected Hotel Theater Figi because it was centrally located in the country, and each place we visited was an hour in any direction. Although we didn't have breakfast there each morning, which was supplied by relatives who live 5 blocks away, we did have continental breakfast on our last morning. The hotel was very well priced, about $350 for 6 nights, including free parking. The rooms were neat, very clean, quite comfortable beds, and perfect after a long day of visiting and sight seeing. The first night, a Saturday, however, we were kept up all night by the bar crowd in the street below. We had terrible jet lag after flying over night from the U.S., so needed the sleep. But the partiers were in full swing and we got no rest. The next morning we asked to be moved to a quiet side of the hotel; the management told us that the rest of the week would be quiet so we took our chances. They were right. It was quiet and peaceful. So I guess the warning is not to stay there on a Saturday night, at least in a room that overlooks the street. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and made our stay quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: No spa or gym to work out in. Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianfiremaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The mattresses are very soft - making turning over in the night a bit difficult - and are combined with rock hard pillots, which doesn't help.

The room was clean, quiet and covered all the things you need in a hotel room.

Breakfast if fab - all bases covered, the orange juice is great! If you can get a good price I can think of few places better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 5 top floor, our bed was broken, whilst we reported this nobody fixed it !! We stayed 2 nights and they didn't vacuum the floor, there was still hair in the bath from other guess (juk!!!!!) complaint but staff just say yes sorry but didn't resolve it - eg useless !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrslider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I presently have occasion to visit Zeist on business and have recently stayed three times at the Hotel Theater am Figi in the centre of town.

I am normally pretty jaundiced by the entire affair of hotel nights, as I have travelled extensively and get pretty fed up with the entire process but, after three stays with the same impressions after each I think a positive view is in order.

First tip, you should look around for prices; they are very variable and some really good deals can be found on the booking sites if you are lucky. You can certainly book here for less than 50% of the rack rate on a good day.

Second tip, the bar at the back of the hotel through the gathering area outside of the theatre is to be recommended, all you have to do is persevere and find it.

The rooms here are enormous by modern day standards, wifi is free, albeit a little slow and perhaps a touch intermittent and the location is very good. All of the staff I have met have been friendly, professional and helpful. The beds are comfortable, with good mattresses and bedding, always a litmus test and breakfast is good but, if you want eggs freshly prepared to avoid the shoe leather that passes for scrambled eggs in the warming plates (which looked like it had been prepared the previous day) then order as soon as you arrive in the restaurant, as I think they send someone out to find the hens while you wait, my only criticism.

As to the most important question,"Will you return?" I have and I shall. QED.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CymraegBeirniaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked this hotel through booking.com for special prce (Smart deal) which cost us 30-40% of regular price for a 4-star hotel with breakfast.
Free parking in parking complex just outside the hotel.
Room for two was spatious with a workplace, TV, mini bar, king-size bed. Bathroom included a bath and many accessories like face napkins, 4 towels per person.
For cons - it's a bit noisy at night, might infere one's sleep if one didn't have a very busy day walking aroud Amsterdam for example.
Breakfast is diverse and delicious, good coffee and tea and real orange fresh :)
Staff was very helpful, provided us with directions, and iron when needed.
Overall impression is... PERFECT :) We were driving around Netherlands ant its about 30-40min away from Amsterdam and Rotterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yana8090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

At first sight the price is quite cheap. Then we were reminded that the booking coupon from olotel.com is excluding breakfast, which cost 19 euro per person.....

Anyway with free parking and downtown location, there is nothing more to complaint. Except the bed is too soft for me.

As for the design of the hotel, it is artistic and elegance. Quite an unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Upnordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zeist
2.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Oud London
1.0 mi away
Kasteel Kerckebosch
Kasteel Kerckebosch
#1 of 6 in Zeist
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel De Bilt- Utrecht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Steyn Hotel & Apartments
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mitland
Hotel Mitland
#3 of 22 in Utrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Theater Figi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theater Figi

Property: Hotel Theater Figi
Address: Het Rond 2, 3701 HS Zeist, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Zeist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Zeist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Theater Figi 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Theater Figi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theater Figi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing