We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel for a long weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klein Zwitserland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Slenaken
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for a long weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is situated in a beautiful location with very nice views over the Limburg hills. The nicest thing about the hotel must be the pool which is on the top floor and has amazing panoramic views to all sides. Although only small and it's nice to have a quick swim before breakfast.
The room itself was nice but nothing special although we did miss a coffee and tea making facility. Although the room might be a slightly cheaper one it was still far more than a budget hotel and in my opinion a kettle is just part of a room in every decent hotel.
We booked the room only without breakfast and had to pay for this separately. The breakfast was ok but again nothing special and to pay 22 euros per person is just ridiculous so we decided to skip breakfast and just go to bakery instead.
Other than that it was a really nice hotel for a long weekend break!

Room Tip: We weren't aware at first when we arrived at the front of the hotel but a little futher on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josua78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    35
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We decided on a last minute break and being a holiday weekend found that are usual preference of B&Bs were all booked. The Klein Zwitzerland came to our rescue and could even offer us a range of rooms. Being three adults we opted for the Family Wellness suite and half board. The hotel has an old and modern part, we were in the modern part, which benefits from great views from the room, but make the room rather like a long tunnel. Saying that it was well designed, great shower, lots of space and access straight out into the garden area. The one downside is the tendency for people to sit outside your room facing your direction to get the last of the sun.

The food is a bit variable, the second night dinner was certainly far better than the first night, but both were enjoyable. The hotel seems to specialize in a single wine recommendation each night (by the glass, ¼ carafe, ½ carafe or full bottle) and the wine the served were of a good standard. Breakfast is pretty basic and you should get there early.

Overall if you want a beautiful and quiet area, with lots of walking direct from the hotel, this is a good place. Or you could just stay at the hotel enjoy the views and facilities and do nothing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondsee, Austria
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We spent a weekend here and probably had the best food we´ve had for quite some time. And at a very reasonable price.
The hotel was nice and although there were some mistakes with the booking in the end all was sufficiently solved. Definitely worth to go for a nice relaxing time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomHK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullibody
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This Hotel is fantastic, beautiful rooms, spotlessly clean throughout the Hotel, staff and owners extremely nice people, could not do enough for you, every wish where possible will be granted. Food of the highest quality. Surrounding area peaceful and rural but a visit to nearby Maastricht is a must.
Cannot recommend this Hotel highly enough, you will enjoy.................
Billy, Margaret, Don, Aileen (from Scotland) and Peter & Brigitte from Holland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stirlingTullibody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Slenaken
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slenakerhof
Hotel Slenakerhof
#1 of 8 in Slenaken
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel het Gulpdal
Parkhotel het Gulpdal
#5 of 8 in Slenaken
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Slenaker Vallei
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Slenaken
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Klein Zwitserland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klein Zwitserland

Property: Hotel Klein Zwitserland
Address: Grensweg 11, 6277 NA Slenaken, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Slenaken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Slenaken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Klein Zwitserland 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Klein Zwitserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing