We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and charged for tap water!”

Familierestaurant De Schulpwei
Reserve with
Familierestaurant De Schulpwei is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 65 Restaurants in Wassenaar
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located just around the corner from Duinrell Attraction Park! Why not stop by for a bite to eat on your way to the beach ? We have an outdoor seating area overlooking the forest! If you want to plan a party for business or pleasure we have a private party room! Known for our friendly service and delicious food! Wheelchair access & good prices!
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor service and charged for tap water!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have visited this restaurant several times in the past en route to the beach at Wassenaar. At lunchtime today, it took 45 minutes to finally get the pancakes and one chicken salad we ordered. As we were not in a rush, I was not too bothered about the very long wait for our food and decided not to complain on this occasion. However, when the bill arrived I was shocked to see that I had been charged 2 euros and 75 cents for a jug of tap water which we had asked for in addition to several soft drinks consumed during our long wait for the food. When I questioned this charge with the Manager, he told me this practice was perfectly normal in Holland (which it is not! He obviously assumed I was a tourist). He then proceeded to point to the menu, where on the back of the menu it allegedly states that a jug of water is available at a cost of 2.75 euros. After profusely complaining and reluctantly paying the bill, the Manager then took 3 euros in change out of his pocket and put it on the bar. I am very disappointed and would not now go back to this restaurant again. So, be warned by ordering a jug of tap water - you will be charged by this restaurant!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaS2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
281 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The perfect recipe”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great place to go for many types of visits: they are family-friendly, tourist-friendly, and just plain friendly. This restaurant sees a lot of seasonal business, but it never feels anything other than welcoming and genuine.
The menu is varied (for a pannenkoek place): they have at least 80 varieties of pannenkoeken and lots of other entrees for those who want fish or meat.
The restaurant is exceptionally clean and there is on-site parking. I took business associates there who had just spend 2 years traveling the globe: they loved it. I'd say that was a pretty good recommendation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we went back the next day.”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Looks like things have improved since the last review, cos we really couldn't fault this place. Lovely modern interior, handy for Duinrell (where we were staying), good value (mains 6-9 euro), friendly service, and my fussy kids actually liked the food. Result!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zer0_Gravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid choice for food and ambience. But can get very busy”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a GOOD place, have eaten there many times and 85 % of the time excellent. Can get very busy in summer on a Sunday afternoon, and therefore can have some issues with service. This is MUCH MUCH better than the nearest alternative just outside Duinrell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CloggifiedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced food. Apalling service. Arrogant and unhelpful manager.”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We went to this restaurant with our children aged 7, 8 and 11. The service was terrible - we had to find the waitress each time we wanted to order something and the whole ordeal took over 2 hours - essentially for chips/grilled food plus some pancakes. When I politely complained, and explained that I was unhappy to pay the full price for the meal, the manager's excuses were quite rude: "You have to understand that we're busy". This was after she and other colleagues has been sitting around being waited on by staff while we were subjected to lengthy waits. Other people in the restaurant were fed up too. There are much better places to eat in and around Wassenaar.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayfamilyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Familierestaurant De Schulpwei also viewed

Wassenaar, South Holland Province
Wassenaar, South Holland Province
 
Wassenaar, South Holland Province
Wassenaar, South Holland Province
 
Wassenaar, South Holland Province
Wassenaar, South Holland Province
 

Been to Familierestaurant De Schulpwei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing