We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more”
Review of Princess Hotel Epe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Princess Hotel Epe
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Epe
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Went there for a weekend with my husband.
Friendly staff at the desk.
Room very small, not enough towels (1 small + 1 large)
We had dinner in the hotel, afterwards we ordered coffee in the lounge. It took 25 minutes :-(
Wireless internet was a great plus.
Sauna was charged separately.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    108
    85
    23
    6
See reviews for
34
130
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This is a good hotel if you want a quiet, isolated location. Just step out the door and you can walk in the nature.

The room was quite small, but an upgrade should solve the problem.
The staff was super friendly and helpful.
Food was quite good, even though at spaces during breakfast not all items would be available. Some minutes of wait and everything should be back to normal.
There is a swimming pool in very good condition.
The hotel was full during my stay, but still it didn't feel busy inside.

It's a good choice to use as a base for visiting the Hoge Veluwe park.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMartins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentulipepe, General Manager at Princess Hotel Epe, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive response. We are pleased to read that our hotel was a good choice and that you had a pleasant stay. We hope that you will visit our hotel the next time you are in Holland. With regards, Tjeerd Holtrop, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here for 2 days with colleagues for team building and strategic planning.

The hotel is beautifully situated in 'the veluwe'. Personally I don't like the architecture of the building, though I must say everything was very well maintained and spotlessly clean.

The room was a bit dated, especially the bathroom, though in terms of comfort this was more then fine. The food and food service was excellent throughout; special compliments to the gentleman in the bar who had to deal with a lot of non-practised bowlers and whom, after a day of meetings and a few drinks were in quite a jolly mood! Also the other staff was very courteous and helpful.

Had a dive in the swimming pool which was excellent, as was the FREE WIFI though it took some initial effort to get connected.

Great place for team building / meetings, or a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

This hotel is in a very nice location in the Netherlands, and claims to be a four-star hotel. Indeed, the reception and sitting area as well as the restaurant certainly looks like "4-star", it has been recently renovated. You will be a bit disappointed when you get to the rooms, which are in need of renovation (holes in the wallpaper, etc) and are quite small. The bathroom is the worst: in our double room, I estimate that the bathroom was 2.5 square metres at most, with a sink, a shower and a toilet, in tiny old moldy tiles, with plastic towel hooks that have been painted white, holes in the walls, - in summary, I can describe the bathroom as amateuristically 'fixed' to last until those are finally renovated to be acceptable. The bathroom do not merit the '4 star' rating.

The service in the restaurant and at reception is good and friendly. The hotel is also very children-friendly. The food in the restaurant is both à la carte and buffet, the hotel decides whether buffet or à la carte is served in the restaurant which can be disappointing if you come down on Saturdaynight looking forward to a nice long dinner with your friends & family - and get served a buffet which is only so-so. The à la carte food is quite good.

Go there for the location, and consider your room as just the place you need to sleep, then it will be very enjoyable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We booked this hotel because it was convenient and reasonable.
Our rooms were small but adequate, the breakfast superb and we loved the situation in the forest. We did not eat in the restaurant but walked to a small place just down the road which served supeb meals.

  • Liked — The situation
  • Disliked — The small rooms on the 4th floor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

The Tulip Inn Epe is located in a lovely wooded setting on the outskirts of Epe. If you are driving to the hotel and not familiar with the area it is difficult to locate the property due to the lack of signage. Best to stop and locate the street on the city map located by each entrance to the city or ask for directions. The hotel has free parking in the lot located in front of the hotel.

The lobby is comfortable but I was surprised by the amount of smoking in the lobby compared to U.S. hotels. Restaurant is located off the lobby and while we did not eat there, it looks very nice and people stated the food was very good. Our room was small with two twin beds pushed together. The room was very clean with basic amenities (coffee/tea, TV with cable and average lighting. The bathroom was very small with a no door/curtain shower that often made the floor in the bathroom totally wet. Towels were of poor quality reminding me of locker room towels. The hotel is very quiet due to the remote location with the only sound being the water noise from adjoining rooms. There is a bowling alley and pool in the lower level as well as ample bikes to rent to see the area. If you do not have a car, this location is difficult as you are a few kilometers outside of Epe. The town of Epe has numerous restaurants, grocery stores and shops to enjoy. The location, near Apeldoorn, is great for visiting the Palace as well as the museums in the area. Overall, a nice hotel which I would recommend to anyone needing accommodations in the Apeldoorn area.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Epe
1.4 mi away
Hotel Dennenheuvel
7.5 mi away
NH Veluwe Sparrenhorst
NH Veluwe Sparrenhorst
#1 of 3 in Nunspeet
794 reviews
10.5 mi away
Veluwe Hotel Stakenberg
Veluwe Hotel Stakenberg
#1 of 1 in Elspeet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Apeldoorn Het Loo
9.7 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Keizerskroon
7.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Mallejan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Hotel Epe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Hotel Epe

Property: Princess Hotel Epe
Address: Dellenweg 115, 8161 PW Epe, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Epe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Epe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Hotel Epe 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
idden between the Veluwe woods and close to the village of Epe, lies Princess Hotel Epe. This attractive and hospitable hotel is located centrally in The Netherlands and easily reached by the A50 and A28 highways. Zwolle, Apeldoorn, Hattem, Heerde, Nunspeet and the Hansa town Deventer are closeby. You can easily combine a business stay at Princess Hotel Epe with a trip to one of these attractive surrounding towns and villages. It's an ideal location to hold meetings, eat, drink, sleep and relax. But Princess Hotel Epe has more to offer than only meeting facilities. Thanks to the forested environment, the many museums and amusement parks in the neighbourhood, the hotel is also perfectly suited for a holiday, a short trip or family gathering. Our hotel is completely non-smoking. Our employees will be pleased to take care of you and your guests and turn your stay in an unforgettable one! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Princess Hotel Epe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Epe
Epe Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing