We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cheap, clean, old, friendly owners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, old, friendly owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You can't expect a 4 star hotel for the prices they charge. It's an old Hotel, the room we had was small but clean and all right for the price we paid (april 2013, € 30,- p.p. incl. breakfast).
We had a dog with us for which they charged € 5,-, this is very reasonable. We made some hikes in the area for which this is a good hotel. In Valkenburg there are lots of nice restaurants, the hotel kitchen is not in use but the nearest restaurant is opposite the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
8
18
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
iom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went on a school trip and stayed at this hotel. Acommodation was very poor. The matress was hard, the shower was either too hot or too cold, we also had holes in the walls. The food was bellow standard. For breakfast there was only 1 type of cereal, no fruit juice only water, tea or coffee, no fruit and the milk was more like water. The evening meal was also bellow standard. All meat was processed and there wasn't a lot of vegetables, once again there was no fruit juice.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Go to the one next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwljake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed here whilst on a school trip. The hotel, to be honest, was very disappointing. The rooms were manky, bed sheets unclean, the room we were in had a window which wouldn't open and we found the food below average.

Not a terrible experience but not a good one either.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostDocuments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

To be fair, this is Good for the price, my wife and 16 year old have just come back from this hotel, there is no lift ,so if you do happen to be allocated on the 4th floor, bad luck !
The rooms differ in size, if you have a large family for 4 or 5, management can supply a room for all of you. We booked 2 rooms , one for my wife and myself, and one for our son.
We had heard that Amsterdam never sleeps at night, so when we booked about 4 months ago, we asked if we could have rooms at the quiet part of the hotel, which was the back of it. To be fair to them they didnt let us down.
If it's large bathrooms your after?, then your in for a surprise, you have a sink , toilet, and shower all in one, this didnt bother me ,yes it was small but it did the job I wanted so I wasn't bothered. The room was clean and tidy, and it came with a fan, as it is a warm time of the year, you can have a hairdryer on request at reception, also a remote control for your television, to be honest the only thing that this room needed was a bit of paint .!
Breakfast is supplied outside your door in the morning, a continental, of one roll and a slice of cheese, I didn't bother with that, as this hotel is small, it doesn't have a restaurant, so in the morning I got up, got out of Dam Square, took a walk towards centraal station, leading up to the station are about 4 -5 hotels that are happy to serve non residents breakfast, one was a coffee house/restaurant on the left hand side, 4 shops from c and a , that were doing a full english ,(even with chips, if you wanted them) at only 5.50 euro.
I tried not to go too far from the square at night, I had been warned earlier in the day by a dutch policeman that pick pockets , and muggers were targeting tourists in the area, so its best just to keep to pubs and bars in your hotel street, especially if like me you've had a few drinks by 1am in the morning.!
Yes ,We had a Great time, I would recommend this hotel, but only if you don't expect too much, it is a budget hotel that is Good, that's all,and it COULD do with decoration !, the staff were friendly to us, and nothing is too much trouble, when you go out watch out for the cyclists, I almost had one or two over, or one or two almost had me over?, , If you want to save money, and go to 25 places FREE of charge, then get the 'I am Amsterdam ' card from the Tourist information building, opposite Centraal station, for only £16.55 a day, you can save pounds, it pays for itself on the first day ! Have Fun !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wertypenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lahaye
Hotel Lahaye
#18 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlas Eurotel
Atlas Eurotel
#46 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#20 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palanka
Hotel Palanka
#23 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel De Herberg
Hotel De Herberg
#14 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riche
Hotel Riche
#11 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont

Property: Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
Address: Nieuweweg 27, 6301 ES Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our cozy family hotel you will find clean rooms (all with shower , fridge, TV and free wifi), a rustic bar with conversation and relaxation space ( including a TV and pool table ) and a fine breakfast room every Friday , Saturday and Sunday an extensive buffet running . On weekdays we serve our breakfast " to measure" . Our hotel is 5 minutes walk from the center of Valkenburg . Lying train and bus station '' around the corner ' ' at 2 minutes walking distance. A perfect starting point for various day trips for example to Maastricht , Heerlen or just across the border in Aachen ( D ) and Liège (B). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing