We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, very little!!”

Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach
Ranked #3 of 134 Restaurants in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $97
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Three reception rooms in the living quarters of the aristocratic family that used to live in the Chateau now accommodate a top-quality a la carte restaurant. Each room is furnished in its own distinctive manner, and in full harmony with the original painted walls and ceilings. The comprehensive menu is oriented towards French cuisine – and our renowned wines form perfect complement to the culinary art of our chef Otto Nijenhuis and his kitchen staff. On sunny days the splendid patio is particularly appealing to diners. Six stylishly-furnished rooms offer groups from 5 to 300 guests marvellous surroundings for festive and business gatherings.
Hoeilaart
Level Contributor
237 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Very good, very little!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and me were part of a party of some twenty guests I guess. The set menu that was served was of excellent taste and creativity. In my opinion really Michelin star level of all four dishes and the amuses served. However when we left the table we both were still hungry because of the small quantities served. The sizes of the dishes were just like we had four courses from a 10 course dinner, which was obviously not the case. I went to the hotel bar for peanuts afterwards.
A small other disappointment, the dessert was exactly the same as I had on another occasion nearly two months ago. For this pretended level, that shouldn't be.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    46
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, Elegant Setting”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our party of six shared a delightful meal in the former library surroundings of this converted 'chateau'. The food was delicious with beautifully prepared and presented 'amuse-bouches' between courses. This helped to pass the time as the food was obviously prepared to order and was very tasty to eat. My venison main course simply melted in the mouth. The wine waiter's attention could sometimes be difficult to attract, but the wine itself was excellent. Overall, the restaurant has a very pleasant ambiance and is a splendid spot for a memorable meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidFOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great holiday feeling”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This chateau is very interesting and in the most beautiful setting. Take a walk in the surrounding or park, visit the church an have a wonderful lunch in the garden.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNetherlandsJessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fine dining in a classic environment. Three and a half hours reflects the relaxed experience. The staff were very professional.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Formal but exquisite”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The old-world decor, spotless linen, classical music and slightly formal staff may make you feel uncomfortable at first, but as soon as the first dish hits the table, you know you have come to one of the very rare places where perfection in cuisine is the norm. This is a temple for the real foodie, simply because of the brilliant, exquisite, creative and tasteful cooking. The love of good food and passion for perfection creates an experience second to none. The wine suggestions complement the dishes perfectly. If you have a food fetish, this is the place to be!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seolferwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach also viewed

Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Maastricht, Limburg Province
 
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 

Been to Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing