We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break to Valkenburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Monopole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Monopole
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Short break to Valkenburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First time at this hotel in Valkenburg and we will definitely return. A very welcoming family run hotel. Our room was excellent, comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and even though our visit was during a quiet period, the service was top rate. The Hotel has its own off street car park which made it ideal for us. There was a lot of roadwork going on outside at the time of our visit but the whole town sewage work is being upgraded ( not the hotel fault). We were assured that the improvements will enhance the entire street. This hotel is located within three mins walk of the town centre with its many restaurants and cafes and is within 1 min of the train station with trains to Maastricht running every 15 mins.. This is an ideal location for a visit to this lovely Dutch town

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the whole area is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 139Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    32
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel,underlined our previous experience. The owners and the staff go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
As last time the catering was excellent , and although tea making facilities are not provided a hairdryer was in our bathroom.The beds are really comfortable.True the rooms are a bit shabby but are spotlessly clean. Two or three English channels are available on the room T.V. A three minute walk to the town centre is a bonus.The buffet breakfast consists of a fine selection of cold meats and cheese,cereals, yoghurts,etc. Even the coffee is good! (not too bitter)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline1965190759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here as part of a coach trip to Floriade. The hotel room was a little qurky. It was divided into 3 rooms . The main part with a double bed , wardrobe , tv, 2 chairs and table which lead into a L shaped room with single bed and wardrobe and the compact shower room. The room was clean and comfortable once you got used to the different floor angles !

However don't let this put you off . The staff are all lovely& spoke good english , food was brilliant, some of the best I have had on a coach tour and they have their own drinks system which workd well. While we were there Holland played in the football The staff had decorated the bar and made everthing festive including a free cocktail and nibbles. ~Although Holland lost luckily the maitre de didn't carry out his threat -- not to feed us breakfast the next day if Holland lost !!!

Would reccomend this hotel if travelling independently or with a coach trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dibunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here as part of a huge group attending a music competition quite some time back. the service we received was great, staff were more than happy to go the extra mile and supported tutors and students alike. All of us enjoyed every meal and packed lunch (which is no mean feat with our group). I am unsure how many other non-competition guests were also staying as we didn't see any however this could be because of our meal times and superb organisation. We're all still raving about the hotel now - we stayed in 1991 and by the way we won the music festival. great memories

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz_Simon_Newport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A classic Dutch hotel in the beautiful small town of Valkenburg. Well placed to visit the famous caves (actually limestone mines) and centre of the town. A nice place to spend some time around Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Valkenburg is a delightful town in the hills east of Maastricht and the Monopole is perfectly position to enjoy it's many fine restaurants and bars. Valkenburg is hilly, yes hilly, in perfectly flat Holland. There are steep walks up to a ruined medieval castle and even a chair lift up one Alpine steep cliff. Caves can be visited which date back to the Romans. The 48 room Monopole is excellently managed by its owners Rudy and Marlene Curves. Rudy is also the head chef who cooks first class evening meals. There is a cosy bar to relax in with very reasonable prices and a lavish buffet breakfast. The Curves take a pride in their hotel and it shows. The rooms are spotlessly clean and everything works like clockwork. We loved Valkenburg and the Monopole and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor rooms facing the castle away from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elvinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night to make the most of our visit to Thermae 2000. I had been looking at this hotel including breakfast and dinner and the reviews were quite good although i was very worried as the price we payed was a bargain. So we turned up to the hotel and it looked good, a couple of days before we went i emailed the hotel to see if we could have a free upgrde and when we checked in we got a tower suite room, sounds very grand but it is very basic. But the hotels in valkenburg are not known for grand rooms the hotels are mainly old and contempry feel, although i must say it was still a good room and the extra space was good. The staff very good, friendly and helpful. Dinner in teh hotel was superb for the price as there was only a few residents and a bus tour only staying tehre they did a buffet but it was still good and enjoyable. The resturant is not what you would expect it was very clean and modern. The breakfast was equally as good to. I would definatley recomend this hotel to anybody and when we go back to valkenburg would probaby stay here again if i can get the free upgrade again :-) and the great price.

Room Tip: Try and get a free upgrade if you want the extra room space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoventryCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Property: Grand Hotel Monopole
Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing