We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vroenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vroenhof
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hotel Vroenhof is beautifully located in Houthem, near Valkenburg and Maastricht. We were here for a weekend away and enjoyed the local hospitality and the "personal touch" you can find all over the hotel! De rooms are convenient and spacious and the decoration modern and "gezellig". Ideal location if you are visiting any of the cities and towns near by, especially if you're looking for something more personal then what the bigger hotels can offer. Thanks to Gertie and family for the warm welcome! Great value for money!

Room Tip: Ask if there are any deluxe rooms available - super spacious bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidandAfke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is a good option when visiting Valkenburg. I stayed here for business and my experience was wonderful. Location is perfect- Valkenburg Christmas market and Maastricht are very close to the place. Rooms are very clean, big and nicely appointed with necessary things. Washroom looked fresh and functional. Breakfast was excellent and included a great selection. I will love to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Ideally, I'd give this 4 and a half stars, because we really enjoyed our stay here. This is a hotel, but actually has far more of a B&B feel to it.

The good:

* The beds. This was by far the best bed I've ever slept in, in any hotel. Yeah, that includes the 5-star-resort in Mexico. Even for a difficult sleeper like me, who usually does not sleep well the first night in a bed that's not my own, this was perfect.

* The breakfast. It's a buffet that has a big variety and includes something for everyone. On top of what's been put out on the buffet table, the staff comes round to ask if you would also like eggs - any style.

* The staff. The lady who owns the hotel was very friendly, conversational and ready to help us if we had any questions at all.

The less-good (I don't want to say bad, because there was nothing that was bad, exactly):

* If you're used to sleeping in a dark room, you'll have trouble if you stay here during the summer months. For us it was okay, since the sun doesn't come up until past 8.30 anyway, but the curtains don't darken the room at all.

* Our shower was less than ideal. The shower head was in need of replacement, which resulted in half the bathroom being flooded by the time we were done. Although that was more the cleaning crew's problem and not ours. The friends we travelled with had no trouble at all with theirs.

Overall, I loved this hotel. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, it's close to the Valkenburg Christmas market and Maastricht, which is great for shopping. Definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy_Cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
222 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Because of a party in the neighbourhood we booked this hotel as the party hotel was full. I looked for a cheap price and got this.
The small parking was full so we had to park the car in the street, which was not a problem .At checkin we had to pay directly as we were only staying 1 night. You can only pay here with Dutch bankcards. Creditcards are not accepted. So, we had to pay cash.
Room 205 is a double and small; 2 single beds and a small bathroom with shower. A very nice shower I must admit. The rooms are not very soundproof, you can hear your neighbours, and you'll also hear people walking in the hallway.
The curtains are not darkening at all. TV is functioning well.
Breakfast is good with a good choice, and consits of a typical Dutch products: hagelslag.
All in all, I didn't want to pay too much and in that sence I got what I paid for, but it was ok.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — noisy room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
0.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei
1.5 mi away
Hotel de Uitkijk
Hotel de Uitkijk
#32 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Lamerichs
Hotel Lamerichs
#1 of 1 in Geulhem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis ter Geul
Grand Hotel Huis ter Geul
#34 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vroenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vroenhof

Property: Hotel Vroenhof
Address: Vroenhof 40, 6301 KG Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vroenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is characterised by its casual atmosphere and friendly staff that all the stops will pick up to meet your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Vroenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing