We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Scheepers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Scheepers
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Spent this weekend in Valkenburg in this hotel. Nice rooms with all the necessary commodities. The owner and his wife as well as the rest of the personnel are very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is a real treat, you have an extensive choice from a nice buffet.
Rooms are nice and clean and have very comfortable beds. Some kind of air conditioning would be nice when having temperatures like last weekend. The rooms got really hot.
Overall a good choice The hotel location is just a few minutes walk from the vibrant center of the town. excellent environment for cycling and hiking. Different wifi connections throughout the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    52
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
74
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited the city and chose this hotel to spend 2 days. It was OK, excellent breakfast and quiet room. I think rooms should have a fan, as it tends to be hot between midday and 9pm. Another disadvantage is that there is no lift. Staff: friendly and efficient. Advice: the rooms on the front have no sun in the afternoon, so they are the best choice for the summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa_Castan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Went for a weekend away with my fiance and had a great time! Not a far walk from the train station and very close to the city center. One rainy day we came back early from galavanting and played darts with a member of the staff. Which reminds me, all of the staff we had contact with were super friendly and eager to help. Breakfast was delicious and filling and the room was cozy and clean. After many adventures in Valkenburg or wherever you go, I can assure you this is a wonderful place to return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolatehug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room we stayed in had a comfortable double bed, a small desk with two chairs, a large flat-screen television, an alarm clock, and a small closet. The room was cozy and clean, but felt a little bit cramped due to a sloping roof and limited space around the bed. The bathroom was large and modern and had a wash basin, shower cubicle and toilet (funnily placed on a higher part of the floor, which gave the impression of sitting on a throne). At times there was quite some noise from the hallway, the other rooms on our floor, or from the bar downstairs. However, at night it was quiet enough, so we slept well.

Service was very good. Everyone we talked to was friendly and helpful. The included (mostly continental) breakfast was also good, with a nice selection to choose from.

The hotel does not have many facilities, but there is free Wi-Fi in all rooms and the aforementioned bar. There are, however, plenty of facilities close by: the hotel is located very close to the touristic center of Valkenburg, which has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. There are also many interesting things to visit for such a small city. If you go to Valkenburg, don’t miss the limestone and coal mines and the castle ruins. A visit to Maastricht is also highly recommended (get there by car or by train).

To summarize: this hotel is not expensive given its location and what it offers. It is clean, nicely decorated, the staff is friendly, and they serve a good breakfast. Visit this hotel for a comfortable place to sleep and for the good value it offers compared to its quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badeendje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Basic 3-star hotel centrally in Valkenburg, very popular among the locals. The hotel is referred to as the best 3-star hotel in the touristy little town and I agree this is probably true. The room was small with two single beds, very clean and equipped with a large flatscreen TV with 25 channels (no international news channels). The private bathroom was large with a shower and plenty of hot water. Also clean. Both rooms were centrally heated with in-room control. Breakfast was remarkable complete and good.
The hotel has a very nice bar popular among the locals in the evening The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner, but there are many attractive restaurants a few steps away.
As in many Dutch houses, the stairs to the second and higher floor are somewhat narrow and steep. No lift.

Room Tip: Two small double rooms on the ground floor might be preferred for guests worried about steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenburg aan de Geul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful. Excellent continental breakfast. Was good value for money, in the centre of valkenberg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Valkenburg by motorbike and the hotel offered secure parking for a few euros. The hotel is in a quiet street a few minutes walk away from the main centre, where you can enjoy a variety of restaurants and cafes. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was superb, with a wide selection to choose from and the lady who served it was very friendly. We will stay in this hotel again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
1,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 47 in Valkenburg
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 47 in Valkenburg
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scheepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scheepers

Property: Hotel Scheepers
Address: Sint Pieterstraat 18, 6301 DR Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scheepers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Scheepers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing