We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scheepers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Scheepers
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Basic 3-star hotel centrally in Valkenburg, very popular among the locals. The hotel is referred to as the best 3-star hotel in the touristy little town and I agree this is probably true. The room was small with two single beds, very clean and equipped with a large flatscreen TV with 25 channels (no international news channels). The private bathroom was large with a shower and plenty of hot water. Also clean. Both rooms were centrally heated with in-room control. Breakfast was remarkable complete and good.
The hotel has a very nice bar popular among the locals in the evening The hotel does not offer lunch or dinner, but there are many attractive restaurants a few steps away.
As in many Dutch houses, the stairs to the second and higher floor are somewhat narrow and steep. No lift.

Room Tip: Two small double rooms on the ground floor might be preferred for guests worried about steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Protraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
61
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valkenburg aan de Geul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful. Excellent continental breakfast. Was good value for money, in the centre of valkenberg.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Caitlin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Valkenburg by motorbike and the hotel offered secure parking for a few euros. The hotel is in a quiet street a few minutes walk away from the main centre, where you can enjoy a variety of restaurants and cafes. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was superb, with a wide selection to choose from and the lady who served it was very friendly. We will stay in this hotel again if we are ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier
Level Contributor
215 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We chose to avoid the large city of Maastricht and look for a small town nearby. This was a reasonably good hotel and a short train trip into the city, so it worked for us.
The entrance hall is very nice indeed and the funky downstairs decor was most inviting. There is no lift, so enjoy trotting up the stair case by all means.
Rooms are quite ok but beware the unexpectedly high step out of the shower recess.
Evening meals are not served at this hotel, but there are plenty of other options close by.
The staff are really very nice here, and went out of their way to advise how to secure last minute tickets to the Andre Rieu concert in Maastricth the night we arrived. What a blessing that was: first class tickets purchased at two hours' notice from the box office!!
The breakfast room is really pleasant, and a cooked breakfast is easily obtained which is not common in The Netherlands. Oh and look for the bottle of bubbly on the buffet at breakfast, makes you float your way through the morning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolMum64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We went on vacation for a week. We were given the biggest room there they helped us find things to do in the area. They eaven hooked us up with a fan for the hot days. All in all a great experience and a great hotel. Would recomend for anybody. Eaven my 1 and 5 year old had a great time there.

Room Tip: Third floor is realy hot if you don't have a fan so bring one or buy one there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Perrin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Prior to heading to the Netherlands, we asked the hotel for directions from the train station (the oldest one in the Netherlands and very picturesque.) The directions came in an email the next day. When we arrived, we were met with a smile and check-in was quick and friendly. The hotel is in a quiet part of town although the hotel bar was quite lively into the night. The staff could not have been friendlier. Our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast each morning was plentiful and great. The woman in the kitchen was extremely helpful expaining things that we were not sure about. We would certainly stay at the Hotel Scheepers again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The owner was extremely welcoming when we arrived soaked through on our bikes and promptly arranged for rooms to be made available so that we could take showers and dry out our gear. Rooms on the ground floor were on the small side but comfortable. Very large dining/lounge area and busy/friendly bar. Well located within an easy walk of the town centre with good range of bars and restaurants also close to Castle ruins. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scheepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scheepers

Property: Hotel Scheepers
Address: Sint Pieterstraat 18, 6301 DR Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scheepers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Scheepers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing