We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Time Was Had By All”
Review of Hotel Palanka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Palanka
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This review is a little delayed so my apologies. The Hotel Palanka initially impresses exactly what one might expect from a three star hotel in Valkenburg. It is clean, comfortable and convenient. However, it didnt take long for my expectations to be exceeded. The owner of this establishment, Peter, apparently finds it impossible to do enough for his guests. So much so that he made everyone in our large group feel like family. From cooking meals to hand packed lunches to arranging no cost auto transportation and local excursions, to a cup of coffee or a drink at the bar, Peter was extraordinarily accommodating and an absolute pleasure to be around. I look forward to another drink and the Palanka and another conversation with Peter when I return to the Netherlands. Thank you Hotel Palanka!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 77 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have just arrived back in the UK after a fantastic week in Valkenburg. The hotel Palanka was top notch in every way:
- The room was comfortable and very spacious
- The staff were extremely friendly
- The swimming pool/sauna - a nice touch and very clean
- A free of charge car park - very handy with lots of spaces
- The buffet was delicious

This is a family run hotel and everyone involved went out of their way to make my stay a memeroble experience. I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Palanka for 4 nights in November. Lovely and clean, rooms a little basic but adequate. Pete and Gana were amazing nothing was to much trouble and their local knowledge invaluable. The hotel is located close to restaurants, and attractions eveything was within walking distance. Would definatley consider going again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 9 days in this hotel, and Pete and Gana were great outstanding host and hostess. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bed was only a few months old and no problems with sleeping. The breakfast was also very nice and filling.
What ever you need to make your stay the best, all you have to do is ask pete or Gana and they will make it happen for you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This old hotel is typical of a friendly family run business.The hotel bedrooms are a little old fashioned but are clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the pool and sauna.The breakfast for European was quite good with fried eggs and European bacon.Nothing to
rave about but comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mitchellgcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Welcoming atmosphere. Good Food. Great Location. Will definately return to the Palanka.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cerocqueenNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

Very good helpful staff , Nice swimming Pool , Great Breakfast , 3 stars Family Hotel , good price , on Site Parking

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fluziecancon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#9 of 46 in Valkenburg
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
#35 of 46 in Valkenburg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
54 reviews
0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palanka

Address: Walramplein 9, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: $77 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palanka 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing