We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for Christmas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riche
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Valkenburg
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for Christmas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Visited Valkenberg with Edwards coach company last weekend. Hotel situated ideally for town centre and the caves that are filled with Christmas shops at this time of year. Family run hotel that is warm and friendly. Breakfast excellent, dinner with a choice of 2 three course meals, one fish and one meat main. Our room was ideal for 2, the walls were a bit thin so you could hear others but only needed it for sleeping in. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to go again. In fact we intend to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
14
39
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
330 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here during a busy world championship cycling race weekend. This is an older property at the base of the Valkenburg Castle ruins and near the old central town. Easy access to restaurants and shops. Small, friendly town in Limburg region. US Military Cemetery at Margraten is 6 KMs away. The staff was excellent. All spoke English well and were friendly & professional. Parking was 6.50 Euros a day. Nice bar and restaurant on premise with prix fix menu for dinner; ample portions. The rooms are very small- pretty much a bed with two end tables and small "desk" and wardrobe. Hard for two people to move around it. The bed was a queen sized and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean and modernized but small. Rooms were non-smoking, a plus in a smoker heavy region of Europe. I would have rated this place higher if the rooms were a bit larger and modern. Don't bring in a lot of luggage or you will not be able to move about. Otherwise, it was a charming place to stay. Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Try to get in the house front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice family runned hotel. Good location and clean rooms yes maybe a little small but you're out all day. Breakfast was excellent and people don't forget dutch people don't eat potatoes and stuff at their breakfast. Dinner was a set menu and good. I talked to several people and the fact is that what they serve is the coach company decision. They pay the hotel!!! When you go out the centre is right there and the hotel has a really nice bar with good prices!! To make a long story short a real good city hotel and we will come back!!! + free wifi!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suuske32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not long returned from this trip, hotel was quite basic, lots of odd steps here and there, staff were quite friendly. Meals rather limited and basic. Breakfast was cornflakes, cold boiled eggs, warmish scrambled eggs and the usual meat, cheese and a few other bits. It was tough if you didnt like the evening meal, hubby does not eat fish so there was only one option for his main meal and one night was pork which he cannot eat and there was no alternative. We wanted to use the terrace when it was sunny but we were told it was closed. Not up to a 4 star but on the whole not too bad. Valkenburg is a nice place, we have been here before for the Christmas markets so it seemed a little dull for us. On our free day we took the train to Maastricht, only 10-15 minutes stroll to the station and then a 10 minute journey on the train, a very enjoyable trip. Beware you need the correct change to buy a ticket, 5.80 euros as this is not a manned station and you cannot use your debit card. Foraide is quite spread out so you need to have comfortable shoes on. We had a good day there but it is a lot of walking between the different parts which would be a lot different if the weather was bad. Also quite a walk from the coach to the entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddywack123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We recently returned from a holiday to Valkenburg and Floriade, with Shearings. We were based in Valkenburg and stayed in the Hotel Riche. The location itself was brilliant and there was no problem walking into the centre, which took about 10 minutes easy strolling and has lots of shops and restaurants. The Hotel itself is quite adequate and the staff are really friendly. Tina is exceptional and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was clean, the beds really comfy, however the wardrobe space was limited to say the least, with one tiny cupboard and no drawer space. It just meant, that we did'nt unpack fully. We were also on the front of the hotel, which did inccur quite a lot of trafic noise, as we always sleep with the window open. I believe the rooms at the rear overlook a little patio area and are a lot quieter. Breakfast was quite adequate, but a little limited with cereals and brown or white bread rolls. There were also hard boiled eggs, but no toaster! I think we had been spoiled on previous Shearings holidays with fresh orange juice and fresh fruit salad. It did appear that this was tinned fruit and powdered orange, but acceptable. The evening meal was again alright, but a little canteenish, though we never left the table hungry, On our free day in Valkenburg, we toured the castle ruins. Although there was not much left of the actual castle, it was still very interesting and the view from the top was brilliant. We also toured the underground caves, which I believe hold the Christmas markets. We chose the train, which took about 20 minutes through the caves. It was definately the best way to tour, but the dialogue was only in Dutch. We were issued with an information sheet in English, but it was very limited. There is so much history in the caves, that I would definately recommend reading up about them, prior to the tour. If visiting Floriade, you definately need good walking shoes. There is a considerable treck from the coach, to the actual entrance. Once inside, it is split into different themes and involves a lot of walking. We chose to take the cable car over to the far side and then make our way back towards the entrance, which we felt worked well. The wheather was fab and we thouroughly enjoyed it, but for some reason the concert was cancelled on that day. On the whole though, another Shearings very enjoyable trip and we would love to return in the Winter months.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helen_dewilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We've stayed a number of times since we found this place by accident. (Bookings map link said it was closer to The Cauberg). We've never been disappointed. As Valkenberg is a bicycle race destination so the hotel is very bicycle friendly. (But leave your clip shoes in the foyer if stopping off at the bar.) It has a seperate, more secluded parking lot in the rear for bikes. Car parking is just across the street and included.
Hotel is clean. Staff are friendly and speak english. The breakfast buffet (included) is generaous and of good variety. Rooms vary in size but all are more than adequate. Loves the ones in the rear with balconies.
The pedestrian zone begins one block from the hotel and is filled with shops and restaurants. We the The Ruine Restaurant at the corner and the Marco Polo acrtoss the street.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the rear with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylInMainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

I spent a week in Valkenburg, Netherlands in early October 2011 with a large group of
co-workers from the university I work for.
I loved Hotel Riche! Theo ( the owner) and his son Patrick were hands on daily. The other staff members Luc, Bart, Peter were always there when we needed them. There is a day time receptionist lady for which I cannot remember her name but she was also extremly helpful.
I think it says a lot about a business when you have employee's that have worked for you for 15 plus years. Especially a small business. This group of people went above and beyond. They made sure we had hot meals to eat, clean comfortable beds to sleep in. I am a very picky eater and Theo mawas so kind to cook something special for me to eat.
I will take my family to meet my new friends and to stay in their lovely hotel.
Thank you all again!! I will never forget my amazing experience with you. To Bart who made sure I wasnt late to my confernce everyday. Thank you my friend!!! Luc- I miss you, Patrick- do you miss me yet. hahaha

Thank you all for a experience I will never forget!!

Donna Cooksey

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcooksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 50 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 50 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 50 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 50 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#5 of 50 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riche

Property: Hotel Riche
Address: Neerhem 26, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Valkenburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riche 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Riche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riche Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing