We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel and pleasant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tummers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tummers
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our overnight visit to Valkenburg! The hotel is across the street from the train station, very convenient for riding into Maastricht, and has a lovely bar and restaurant on the ground floor - we dined in town, but came back for coffee. We enjoyed talking with the friendly staff and thought our room was charming and very quiet-with a lovely bathroom and small balcony. The breakfast included with the room was extensive, one could even make fresh orange juice! We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margrete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
53
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice hotel with good location near Valkenburg town center, right across the train station.
The room had a very modern interior with new furniture and a massage shower.

The hotel provides free Wifi that was ok in speed, but sometimes dropped connection.

The room temperature was always very warm; maybe due to the in-room sauna cabin. This made the room not so comfortable to sleep.

Breakfast buffet was good and quite extensive, although it could have contained some more sweets to have "breakfast dessert".

We stayed in the Wellness-part of the hotel, located in an adjacent villa. What makes it "Wellness"?: the fact that there is an infrared sauna cabin in the room and a treatment room in the building for supplementary health treatments.
So do not expect too much on the Wellness part. It is a bit misleading terminology, almost false advertisement, but if you know that in advance it is no problem. The cabin in fact was a very good one at that. For a refreshing full day of relaxation and full wellness experience, you can always go to the nearby Thermae2000 like we did.

The hotel provides parking for a fee (per night: 5€ outdoor, 10€ indoor), but we parked our car in the street for 4.5€ per day [10:00-20:00].

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our family stayed in a two bedroom suite for a night, and we couldn't have enjoyed it more! We were met at the front desk with an enthusiastic and helpful staff member, and we had a wonderful walk to our room and a personal tour. The suite was well appointed and comfortable with a mini-kitchen and a fantastic "spa" bath with outstanding shower, deep tub and danish sauna. All in all, the room was terrific. While visiting Valkenburg for the Christmas Market, we ate at the hotel for a lunch and breakfast, and both were done very well. Be advised that the booking agencies may not be clear that the hotel charges for more than one child, even though you're paying for a two bedroom suite, but other than that irritation, the hotel was friendly, spacious and well executed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We arrived from London 7 trains later and after a challenging 10 hour rail ordeal due to the Belgian strike on Wednesday 22nd December! The fact that the Hotel is located opposite the station is very convenient but there are other hotels closer to the heart of Valkenburg. First impressions are good with a flamboyant reception area and ornate restaurant leading off to the right. We were helped to our room (23) on the second floor (no lift) by a very cheerful and pleasant member of staff. The room was well appointed and spacious with a good bathroom and facilities . Being tired after the marathon train journey we ate "in" - excellent.... the only slight criticism is that we needed a lot of help with the menu as no English was version available. This was a shame as undoubtedly there were many excellent dishes that we were unable to decipher. The old town and first class cave network (the location of the Christmas Markets) are about 10/15 minutes walk. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay but I feel the hotel should have a few more staff on hand and in particlar a waiter/waitress to assist at breakfast would be helpful...particularly to make sure the eggs and bacon were kept hot!!!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.8 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#8 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tummers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tummers

Property: Hotel Tummers
Address: Stationsstraat 21, 6301 EZ Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tummers 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant Tummers**** allows you to experience the Limburgian hospitality all year round. Remarkably located opposite the oldest Railway station in the Netherlands, where also our Brasserie, meeting rooms and Art Gallery is located. In our restaurant you can enjoy an excellent French cuisine and in our Wellness Residence you can relax whilst having a massage. In short… If you just want a little bit more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Tummers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing