We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, modern but warm room”
Review of Hotel Tummers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tummers
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice hotel with good location near Valkenburg town center, right across the train station.
The room had a very modern interior with new furniture and a massage shower.

The hotel provides free Wifi that was ok in speed, but sometimes dropped connection.

The room temperature was always very warm; maybe due to the in-room sauna cabin. This made the room not so comfortable to sleep.

Breakfast buffet was good and quite extensive, although it could have contained some more sweets to have "breakfast dessert".

We stayed in the Wellness-part of the hotel, located in an adjacent villa. What makes it "Wellness"?: the fact that there is an infrared sauna cabin in the room and a treatment room in the building for supplementary health treatments.
So do not expect too much on the Wellness part. It is a bit misleading terminology, almost false advertisement, but if you know that in advance it is no problem. The cabin in fact was a very good one at that. For a refreshing full day of relaxation and full wellness experience, you can always go to the nearby Thermae2000 like we did.

The hotel provides parking for a fee (per night: 5€ outdoor, 10€ indoor), but we parked our car in the street for 4.5€ per day [10:00-20:00].

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 157 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our family stayed in a two bedroom suite for a night, and we couldn't have enjoyed it more! We were met at the front desk with an enthusiastic and helpful staff member, and we had a wonderful walk to our room and a personal tour. The suite was well appointed and comfortable with a mini-kitchen and a fantastic "spa" bath with outstanding shower, deep tub and danish sauna. All in all, the room was terrific. While visiting Valkenburg for the Christmas Market, we ate at the hotel for a lunch and breakfast, and both were done very well. Be advised that the booking agencies may not be clear that the hotel charges for more than one child, even though you're paying for a two bedroom suite, but other than that irritation, the hotel was friendly, spacious and well executed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We arrived from London 7 trains later and after a challenging 10 hour rail ordeal due to the Belgian strike on Wednesday 22nd December! The fact that the Hotel is located opposite the station is very convenient but there are other hotels closer to the heart of Valkenburg. First impressions are good with a flamboyant reception area and ornate restaurant leading off to the right. We were helped to our room (23) on the second floor (no lift) by a very cheerful and pleasant member of staff. The room was well appointed and spacious with a good bathroom and facilities . Being tired after the marathon train journey we ate "in" - excellent.... the only slight criticism is that we needed a lot of help with the menu as no English was version available. This was a shame as undoubtedly there were many excellent dishes that we were unable to decipher. The old town and first class cave network (the location of the Christmas Markets) are about 10/15 minutes walk. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay but I feel the hotel should have a few more staff on hand and in particlar a waiter/waitress to assist at breakfast would be helpful...particularly to make sure the eggs and bacon were kept hot!!!

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TummersValkenburg, Front Office Manager at Hotel Tummers, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank AngeliqueWaalwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Besoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 559val_rieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 46 in Valkenburg
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tummers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tummers

Address: Stationsstraat 21, 6301 EZ Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: $98 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tummers 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant Tummers**** allows you to experience the Limburgian hospitality all year round. Remarkably located opposite the oldest Railway station in the Netherlands, where also our Brasserie, meeting rooms and Art Gallery is located. In our restaurant you can enjoy an excellent French cuisine and in our Wellness Residence you can relax whilst having a massage. In short… If you just want a little bit more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Tummers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing