We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with a big heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Small hotel with a big heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Atlanta is only a small hotel but it is a great place to stay,it is very clean and the staff are great.
Eating at this hotel is a pleasure and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The location is ideal as it is only yards from restaurants, bars, shops and the Christmas markets.
All the shops and streets were decorated which gave it a really great Christmas feel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
35
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent 3 nights in the Atlanta Hotel over the New Year 2009 to 2010. The hotel was very nice, friendly staff, rooms were clean and well serviced. We had evening meals and the food was excellent. There was a keyboard player playing on New Year's Eve and a great time was had by all. The people from our coach part mixed well with the Dutch locals and we shared each others customs and songs.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I was lucky to find this place on Expedia for a very cheap rate given the costs of the other hotels in this town. I wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel was way better than I imagined. It's small, but the room was great and I loved the bathroom. There was no view from my window but it opened and allowed a wonderful breeze in at night and I felt very safe in doing so. The staff were very helpful (walking me to my room and making sure everything was to my satisfaction), the bed was really comfortable and the whole place was spotless. The breakfast was also quite good. Their elevator is one of the most unique I've ever been in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

Firstly the staff are friendly, helpful and for the most part speak good english. We stayed 3 nights and forgot that some continental hotels still permit smoling in rooms. Long time since I slept in an ashtray. The rooms were simple and our room was not very warm. I heard this complaint from other guests, although one did say hers was like a sauna!
Ensuite bath and shower excellent with plenty of towels and soap etc.
This would only merit 2 stars in England I'm afraid, not tye 4 stars advertised.. Food average although they had difficulty understanding that vegetarian meals didnt include turkey. Apparently if you book a veggie meal they will prepare one. Trouble is they only prepare the number booked so if someone who hasn't booked eats your meal, you are in trouble.
Great breakfast choice though. Lovely town and we didn't let the niggles spoil the holiday. If you smoke then probably a good place for a bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor quality for star rating
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gingernut999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend away at Hotel Atlanta in Valkenburg. It is a pity that this hotel has been awarded 4 stars as that leaves you expecting some kind of luxury and then you run the risk of being disappointed. However, for those looking for a decent 3 star hotel situated a few minutes' walk out of the town centre this could just be the place for you!
Our family room was situated on the third floor at the back of the hotel. The room is ideal for families as the children had their own room with a washbasin. The room looks like it has been recently painted and was clean. The bathroom suit was rather dated, but again, recently painted and clean. The shower, however, had to be held and wasn't very practical at all (certainly not 4 star!). Plenty of clean towels, howver, the quality not 4 star again. Nice clean carpet.
The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of cereals, rolls, various different types of bread, jams, cooked meats, cheeses, Dutch breakfast toppings (hagelslag, chocolade vlokken etc.), boiled eggs, tea, coffee and juices. We had dinner in the restaurant and again the food was good. There was a special children's menu which was great. Children are well looked after. There were reading books, colouring pencils and books on the table at breakfast and dinner.
The hotel bar has also been recently refurbished and was cosy. Note that there aren't any mini bars in the rooms.
Most of the staff are pleasant and helpful, others unfortunately are a little grupmy and even rude. This is such a shame as you tend to forget the nice friendly staff. You can either park next to the hotel or in the carpark across the road. Small fee to be paid. All in all we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't rule out another visit.

  • Liked — Great location, breakfast buffet and attention to children
  • Disliked — Shower, towels
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

My wife and I stayed in Valkenburg for one day and night at the Hotel Atlanta. It doesn't look very attractive but the bedroom was comfortable and the reception was friendly and helpful. They provided a small front door key to save lugging the weighty room key around.
Parking was either on a small plot next to the hotel and you had to leave your key with reception in case they had to move it. Better still they have a secure garage for several cars opposite and they control the door with a remote from the hotel.
Very convenient for the short stroll into town and a few minutes away from the cable car.
There is also an attractive roof terrace with bar service. The breakfast was fine and I wouldn't hestitate to stay there again.
We visited the caves which I have been to and enjoyed for the magical Christmas Markets but the train tour commentary was in rapid Dutch only so we had to guess what was being explained.


Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank reevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Property: Hotel Atlanta
Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing