We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A mixed bag ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A mixed bag ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First the good news - the staff are very friendly, the public areas of the hotel are very nice, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the food is fine. Then the bad news ... the rooms are small, old fashioned and sparsely furnished. There is no airco and the windows facing out onto the street and road are single glazed - every passing car can be heard as can every passing pedestrian. This hotel is rated as a four-star which is, one must say, a bit of a joke, Dutch hotel ratings are generally too generous, but this hotel takes it to an extreme. On a kind day you might call it a three star ... otherwise the room itself was the same as some two star places. The public areas are certainly much better though. Generally one gets the impression of a hotel where they really try their best but they havent made a sufficient investment in the property - which is understandable given the area

If you want the centre of Valkenburg (such as it is) then the hotel is perfectly sited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hastur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    32
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
38
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here one night in a family room after watching the Tour de France in Liege. Check in was nice and quick. The room was spacious and clean. The kids loved getting their own room with books, colouring in books and games. Kids room has bunk beds, which suits them just fine - in fact they always disagree on who should have the top bunk as they all want it. All very clean, neat and simple. No frills. No English channels on the TV.

Outside, behind the hotel is a nice little sitting area. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Typically what we have come to expect in the Netherlands and Belgium. The dinner was set and was served up quickly and the quality was good. This is not gourmet, just good, honest food.

This town is lovely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cHICAGO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, first of all you must remember that this is a small town in the South of the Netherlands. There are no real 4 or 5 star hotels. Taking that into consideration we can begin to review:

Of the hotels available with the exception of the Chateau this is an excellent choice. The hotel is clean, service is good, breakfast adequate, owner involved establishment that tries to please.

Internet was inconvenient as only available in the small lobby while I was there but the owner said she is working on making it available within the rooms.

Had an issue with the remote for the TV which even with new batteries was sporadic and the main light went off and on.

This is a maybe 3 star hotel in American standards.

Room Tip: You can ask for the new section which used to be the owners apartment as they are slightly more upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FORESTBAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have just stayed at The Atlanta Hotel in Valkenburg, great staff, cosy, friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy, good food... the Hotel was great, I would love to return to this Hotel and Valkenburg was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but I managed without a problem, beware twin beds are together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbabe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Hotel Atlanta being part of a coach party. We found the hotel extremely friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean and the food although not a wide choice was all very edible and tasty.
The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and so it only took around two minutes and you were in the centre on the town which is a lovely old town full of character and plenty to see.
Night time was very enjoyable sitting outside the bars supping 'gluhwein' (mulled wine) keeping warm with the radiators up above.
Altogether a very nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room twelve was larger than some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have just returned from this lovely hotel and was really impressed. There were 36 of us in total and from the minute we arrived, the staff were most helpful and accommodating.
We came to visit the Christmas Markets and such effort was made by the hotel with the Christmas decorations. The hotel had a real WOW factor when you walked in. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and rooms were perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. I stayed in Room 46 ! (see earlier review) and although it was small, my friend and I had not issues with it. Perfect location for the town, with lots of bars, shops & restaurants, and the friendliness of the staff made it all more enjoyable for us .... keep up the good work - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nissanessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position a few yards down fron a traffic free area of bars and restaurants. It seems to depend on a skeleton staff of excellent young people. Food was good but service of the set dinner was a little slow because two staff were handling 40 people + the bar.
In the morning the excellent breakfast was overseen by one helpful member of staff.
The hotel has a bizarre room numbering system and an equally bizarre key system. The owner seems absent. We had to wait for our room keys because she had not arrived with the master key and the staff could not give us access to our rooms.
Rooms were very clean but dated. My room [52] had a view of a faded mural painted on the back of garages. The fire escape route was to open the jammed window, climb out , lift a double ladder against the garage wall and climb up and over the barbed wire fence at the top!?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silversue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Property: Hotel Atlanta
Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing