We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in centre of town”
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Sussex
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location in centre of town”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Our coach party travelled from Southern England and checked in following our long journey after a very early start. There was no alternative choice of menu and following a bowl of soup for starters we had a 35 minute wait until main course. The following night some of our group waited at least an hour for service and this meal was meat or fish! The printed menu with its description of food should have been more accurate . Pear compote arrived as peaches and chicken filet arrived with a curry sauce which had no mention on the menu. More staff needed to cope with an influx of guests. Asked for a jug or glass of tap water and was informed a glass would be 1 euro. Offer declined! Next evening service had improved by an increase of waiting staff. The bedroom was warm, comfortable and spacious with two wardrobes, pleasant decor and a flatscreen TV. (No news channels found) Beds were comfortable with duvets and extra blanket if required. Quiet upper room at the back of the hotel. Bathroom was clean, adequate shower over the bath but no rubber slip mat provided. Water took ages to drain away . . . very noisily! Breakfasts were good with cereals, yoghourt, fruit, fruit juices and hot tea or coffee. Cooked breakfast consisted of meat balls, sausages and scrambled egg and then wide variety of cold meats and cheeses, together with good choice of breads and spreads. Bar adjacent to the restaurant was adequate, but there was no separate lounge to sit in comfort. Small lift was ok and a necessity for the more elderly on the top floor. Reception area was very small (The photo was taken on a wide-angle lens ) The hotel is situated in a good spot for the rest of the town and parking space for one coach alongside together with a few cars. The accommodation for coach parties is probably run on a tight budget and there is no excuse for poor organisation and the star rating should not be as high as it is rated!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    31
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a nice small hotel, close to all the restaurants and bars of the center. I stayed there a weekend in february, cold, windy, but still a nice weekend. the hotel is within walking distance of the pubs and restaurants. we had our meals at the hotel, they were surprisingly good. At first we regretted having booked our dinner at the hotel, but it was OK!
Breakfast good and plentiful. Room was very small, maybe there are larger rooms in the hotel, but tis was ver-very small. Good beds though, and no noise from traffic or town.
Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Atlanta is only a small hotel but it is a great place to stay,it is very clean and the staff are great.
Eating at this hotel is a pleasure and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The location is ideal as it is only yards from restaurants, bars, shops and the Christmas markets.
All the shops and streets were decorated which gave it a really great Christmas feel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carpBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent 3 nights in the Atlanta Hotel over the New Year 2009 to 2010. The hotel was very nice, friendly staff, rooms were clean and well serviced. We had evening meals and the food was excellent. There was a keyboard player playing on New Year's Eve and a great time was had by all. The people from our coach part mixed well with the Dutch locals and we shared each others customs and songs.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

I was lucky to find this place on Expedia for a very cheap rate given the costs of the other hotels in this town. I wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel was way better than I imagined. It's small, but the room was great and I loved the bathroom. There was no view from my window but it opened and allowed a wonderful breeze in at night and I felt very safe in doing so. The staff were very helpful (walking me to my room and making sure everything was to my satisfaction), the bed was really comfortable and the whole place was spotless. The breakfast was also quite good. Their elevator is one of the most unique I've ever been in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2008

Firstly the staff are friendly, helpful and for the most part speak good english. We stayed 3 nights and forgot that some continental hotels still permit smoling in rooms. Long time since I slept in an ashtray. The rooms were simple and our room was not very warm. I heard this complaint from other guests, although one did say hers was like a sauna!
Ensuite bath and shower excellent with plenty of towels and soap etc.
This would only merit 2 stars in England I'm afraid, not tye 4 stars advertised.. Food average although they had difficulty understanding that vegetarian meals didnt include turkey. Apparently if you book a veggie meal they will prepare one. Trouble is they only prepare the number booked so if someone who hasn't booked eats your meal, you are in trouble.
Great breakfast choice though. Lovely town and we didn't let the niggles spoil the holiday. If you smoke then probably a good place for a bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor quality for star rating
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gingernut999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend away at Hotel Atlanta in Valkenburg. It is a pity that this hotel has been awarded 4 stars as that leaves you expecting some kind of luxury and then you run the risk of being disappointed. However, for those looking for a decent 3 star hotel situated a few minutes' walk out of the town centre this could just be the place for you!
Our family room was situated on the third floor at the back of the hotel. The room is ideal for families as the children had their own room with a washbasin. The room looks like it has been recently painted and was clean. The bathroom suit was rather dated, but again, recently painted and clean. The shower, however, had to be held and wasn't very practical at all (certainly not 4 star!). Plenty of clean towels, howver, the quality not 4 star again. Nice clean carpet.
The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of cereals, rolls, various different types of bread, jams, cooked meats, cheeses, Dutch breakfast toppings (hagelslag, chocolade vlokken etc.), boiled eggs, tea, coffee and juices. We had dinner in the restaurant and again the food was good. There was a special children's menu which was great. Children are well looked after. There were reading books, colouring pencils and books on the table at breakfast and dinner.
The hotel bar has also been recently refurbished and was cosy. Note that there aren't any mini bars in the rooms.
Most of the staff are pleasant and helpful, others unfortunately are a little grupmy and even rude. This is such a shame as you tend to forget the nice friendly staff. You can either park next to the hotel or in the carpark across the road. Small fee to be paid. All in all we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't rule out another visit.

  • Liked — Great location, breakfast buffet and attention to children
  • Disliked — Shower, towels
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
447 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 47 in Valkenburg
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#12 of 47 in Valkenburg
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Property: Hotel Atlanta
Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing