We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelchair access (limited)”
Review of Hotel 2000

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel 2000
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in December 2013 to visit the Caves Christmas markets in Valkenburg, this hotel is a bit outdated and sad although it has a reasonable extension to the dining area, the Entrance has a small step to negotiate but nothing too awkward, location is good for visiting the Caves as it is only a 15 minute walk away, we were charged for cups of hot water over 2€ each (not very happy)! there are no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms and our bathroom was way too small for wheelchair access, it was not possible to park on the road outside this hotel and the car park is down a long slope to a very rough gravel surface impossible to manoeuvre a wheelchair over this surface, very disappointed that there was no wifi at this hotel all the time we were there.
The staff not very friendly, we did have a meal in the dining room one evening which was ok. As a wheelchair user I would not stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jaydeeNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 166 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had to search a bit to finally find this hotel here as I know it as hotel 2000!
Well, just booked this hotel last minute because we decided to visit the Christmas market just a day before it ends. Needless to say, we searched for affordable hotels within walking distance from the Christmas market. We got to choose between this hotel and another 2 but finally chose this one because it also had a cheap parking space available! This was very convenient for us since we arrived by car. Having seen a few comments regarding the rooms, we decided to book the deluxe room. Our room was not ready when we arrived at the hotel so we left our luggage at the reception and went to visit the market. We came back and were shown our hotel by a very friendly receptionist. We were overly excited when we entered our room! It was huuuge and spotlessly clean. We had a huge flat screen tv, jacuzzi, balcony and most important of all, a good bed (comfy mattress! and blackout curtains).
After a few hours of walking around the market, a nice jacuzzi was more than appreciated! The breakfast was OK but can be better.

My advise is, book the deluxe room if you can afford it and there won't be a thing to worry about!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the best. You get the rest and confort you need. The location is perfect for a cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellah05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was the 5th of April 2013 when my classmates and I first arrived at the hotel, i'm not sure if it was the unfriendly faces we were greeted with, or the odd smell in the air which put me off first. Of course, it was a school trip, so we weren't expecting much. Our suitcases were heavy so naturally we took the elevator; which to our amusement didn't have any doors, we found this funny, but not particularly safe.The rooms, oh dear god, the rooms. firstly when they say a room for three, they mean two 3 foot beds and a bumpy mattress on the floor. Oh well, at least we could now use the toilet after a long coach ride. Oh wait. No, the toilet wouldn't flush! And I kid you not, the shower might as well of been a hose pipe dangling from the ceiling! The walls were incredibly thin, and the doors wouldn't lock properly.The food was okay, but the waiters were intimidating; asking fourteen and fifteen year-old's if we were going to smoke, what they described as "Puff puff". Oh dear. All i can say is, please don't stay at this Hotel, there is so much more to be said about it, none of that being positive, unless of course, you find sleeping under stained bed sheets, and washing yourself with a hosepipe comforting, then Atlas 2000 Hotel is the place for you!

Room Tip: Just don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123,456,789,187,069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We visited this hotel with my boyfriend's parent's, one of who is in a wheelchair. Before visiting the hotel was called to ask if they could accommodate someone in a wheelchair and we were told yes, they had a larger room for this. What they failed to explain that this room was a family room with no direct access to the bathroom from the second bedroom and that in taking this room "they were too full" to give us also a second room (of any size).

The bedroom was not totally clean (for example, used cigarettes in the ashtray on the balcony and hairs in the sink). The TV was missing working batteries and when we asked for new ones they said they would look for some. Later we were given two non-working and corroded batteries. The internet was also not working.

The overall attitude of the manager was that he couldn't be bothered.

On the plus side, the town centre is a pleasant walk's distance from the hotel and there was plenty of parking (extra charge).

Room Tip: Upgrade to the more expensive rooms and perhaps look elsewhere if you have someone who is disabled i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jullie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

very nice hotel when you book the right room!! is really important, because when you arrive you think you are in the oldest hotel ever!! they have a complete new building behind and that is very nice and worth your money!! so, be sure you book a deluxe room, they all have balconies, and SUPER boxsping beds...so check this with the hotel. the old part is really terrible, sorry to say..the entrance of the hotel and the elevator and hall is not nice at all. But bar, breakfast room and people are nice.. breakfast is ok. we did not eat lunch or diner, so I dont know. we booked a weekend with entrance Thermae 2000. very cheap in high season for 125 euro's pp(incl breakfast, 2!! nights,deluxeroom + entrance thermae 2000, wich is on weekend day 31,50 + entrance casino)we had a splendid weekend. the centre is NOT 10 minutes walking though ...that is NONSENSE... it is at least half an hour,we used the car, but parking enough and at the hotel parking is free.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maraHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My partner and I had been touring Germany by car and had planned to stay our last night in Valkenburg so that we had a reasonably short journey back to Calais. I had read the previous bad reviews but it did not deter us as we wanted a large hotel to ensure we would get a room after a long drive. What a lovely surprise the hotel was. The previous review in 2008 was for a room in the main hotel with the new annex being built. We had a room in the new building and it was very nice. The room was large with modern furniture and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was fabulous with a modern bath and a separate shower, all in pristine condition as the building is new. There was a small balcony that overlooked the car park and it was very quiet at night. The room cost 70e but with the tax you have to pay came to 73e.

For dinner we went to the restaurant where it was a set menu which changed every day. When we were there on a Monday it was hot bread and garlic butter, mushroom soup, a choice of steak or fish with sauces (with vegatables on the plate) with chips and a salad, followed by a chocolate ice cream dessert for 20e each. It was OK but nothing special.

We then spent some time at the pleasant bar, and during the evening we had 5 small beers, 3 brandys and 2 cokes and that came to 27e. Later in the evening we found out that there was also a bar menu but we did not know about this until after we had dinner, which was annoying. It would have been nice to know there was a choice of where to eat. The information in the room brochure did not mention the bar food.

The hotel is in a very good location, being only 5 minutes walk from the centre. There is not that much in Valkenburg - a supermarket, a variety of shops and lots of bars. We walked around every where in about an hour. I understand this town has a Xmas market, which would make it very busy, but in September it was quiet.

I would definitely use this hotel again when we tour as long as we get a room in the new annex, as I do not know if the main hotel rooms have been refurbished.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DorsetLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a number of friends as we were all going to a wedding.

This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed in and was soon nicknamed “faulty towers” Upon arrival at the hotel we found the car park which was mentioned on the web site had become a building site where a new block was being built and we had to park in the street. Our room was tiny and looked like all of the furniture had come from the 60/70’s – the bedside table interestingly looked like it had been fitted with a car radio and was made of pinkish Formica!! It was a double room with two single beds, one of which appeared to be a child’s bed and was at least a foot shorter than the other one.

The room had two good size windows but when undoing one they both came open and a child could easily have fallen out – onto the building site below – luckily as we stayed at the weekend there were no works going on but I imagine these would be noisy.

The bathroom was so tiny you could sit on the toilet, wash your feet in the shower and your hands in the sink all at the same time!! And the ceiling tile above the shower was disgusting.

Although all rooms are decorated in the same way some are a lot more spacious, although one friend had a bathroom which was too small to fit the sink so this was in the bedroom area!

Breakfast was ok; it was continental but a fair variety of items.

Whilst I would not recommend that anyone stays here the town of Valkenberg was lovely, very pretty and plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank mm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#8 of 46 in Valkenburg
336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
#35 of 46 in Valkenburg
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#9 of 46 in Valkenburg
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Uitkijk
Hotel de Uitkijk
#29 of 46 in Valkenburg
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Valkenhof
Hotel Valkenhof
#18 of 46 in Valkenburg
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 2000

Address: Broekhem 33/35, 6301 HD Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly Atlas 2000 Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range: $60 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 2000 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 2000 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas 2000 Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing