We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved my perspective of Valkenburg Hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Valkenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
305 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Improved my perspective of Valkenburg Hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My previous two trips to Valkenburg were marred by poor hotel experiences – the hotel rooms were outdated, poorly ventilated, beds were uncomfortable, and overall in need of a total refreshing. But the third visit was a charm – the Park Hotel has it all: nice restaurant, good parking area next to the hotel, great beds, nice indoor pool & fitness area, and an overall quiet location that resulted in my best stay yet in Valkenburg. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the center of town and the historic sites - making restaurants easily accessible and eliminating the need to drive & find parking elsewhere. Hotel rates were reasonable and included an extensive breakfast buffet. Will definitely use this hotel the next time I visit Valkenburg.

Room Tip: If you smoke, book a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldranger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    50
    25
    12
See reviews for
23
120
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Parkhotel is situated a few hundred meters from Valkenburg's center, so it is quiet but you can walk to the old town in minutes. The hotel is large and has an old feel. However the rooms have been renovated and look modern. The standard is not really op to 4 stars, though and decoration is a bit bare. There is plenty of food for breakfast at the buffet. You have to pay for parking, which is a bit surprising, There is also a sauna and swimming pool but we did not have a chance to visit it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyGeorgeVwilldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A fantastic hotel, and very nice staff in a very great place, the village were this hotel is situated is a gem in Holland, this hotel is very old, full of history and very well preserved, the room where a stayed was modest but nice, this hotel has all so great leisure facilities, I highly recommend.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have been coming to this hotel for more than 10 years. In that time it has evolved from being an historic (its more than 100 years old) but somewhat run-down family affair to a friendly, if still quirky, modernized hotel. The process is still underway and you may share the dining room with a crew of painters! New rooms have been added and these are very clean and comfortable, if a little small. Most of the older rooms, which are large with high ceilings, have been modernized, although some of the changes -- electonically controlled showers in the bathrooms, for instance -- are just annoying. Service is good and friendly, the breakfast is excellent. Location is a little out of the center of town, but the leafy surroundings are very pleasant. Value for money has gone down as prices have risen over time with the modernization. Still, its a grand old place for a peaceful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was very dissapointed by the service in the hotel, The room are not comfortable even though they have just been renewed, they have nothing more than very basics, no safe, fridge, table or a kettle. The service was very slow; We ordered a taxi for 3 days, not a word was said to the driver about our destination, and everyday, it was a different scenario to explain to the driver our destination as my husban d and \i dont speak Dutch. In short, you feel you are in no man's land. I am surprised it is rated as a four star.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th seem to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karimaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Arrived at the hotel late friday evening for two nights and yes it looks quite nice from outside. When you step inside the hotel it does look tired and dirty but that is because they are having a refurbishment in the hotel so the public areas are not that clean, but then we started to think what have we come to. We got our key card from check in, reception staff very nice and welcomming. We started walking through the hotel and there was dust and wood on the floors it didnt look good. We got to our room on the top floor we had a suite, opened the door and the only way to describe the room is WOW the refurbishment is amazing, the room was so big, the bathroom amazing just everything you need to make you stay enjoyable and relaxing. The one bad thing about the room is that the beds are two singles but comfortable to say the least. We had breakfast both days again which was faboulous and dinner one night which was to say the least amazing for the money. All staff are so polite just wish all hotels employed staff like this. All in all a very nice stay at the hotel just a shame about the building work but cant really complain never actually heard any noise. I would definatley want to return to the hotel later this year early next year as i think it will be the best hotel in valkenburg once all the refurbishment is done I just beleive it will be amazing. Just if you are planning to go soon look past the building work and see the amazing work they are doing to the hotel. I Just hope they dont raise the prices of the rooms/ suites when the hotel is done cos i really want to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CoventryCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
236 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

I stay here because a convention I attend takes place here. The location is quite good with the restaurant giving excellent views of the town. The breakfast selection and the room is quite nice. There is also a terrace outside with seating. Rooms are dated but with high ceilings and with charm and character. I got excellent room rates but this was because of group rates for the convention. The staff was very helpful as when the modem on my laptop refused to work, they let me use their reception computer for internet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.8 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Valkenburg

Property: Parkhotel Valkenburg
Address: Neerhem 68, 6301CJ Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly Parkhotel Rooding)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Valkenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Parkhotel Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Rooding Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing