We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite divided about this hotel... A lovely space with big pretensions and lost of room for improvement!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau St. Gerlach
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite divided about this hotel... A lovely space with big pretensions and lost of room for improvement!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Chateau St. Gerlach is a lovely state and we spend a few summer days every year. We like visiting CSG for its lovely gardens, landscape and surroundings. Valkenburg is a pretty little town with much of a holiday feeling and a charming ambiance of an old fashioned resort town.

Although the decor is tired and dated, the hotel rooms and apartments are pleasant and comfortable. The staff is pretty amicable for Dutch standards and the food at its bistro and restaurants is excellent.

It is clear that the hotel aims to excel as a four star hotel and to live up to the expectations created by the fantastic estate and the ambitious restoration project that turned this once dilapidated chateau into a fine hotel. However, its also easy to see that the hotel is fraying around the edges:

1. As mentioned, the decor, which may have been effective when the hotel open its doors ca. 20 years ago is clearly outdated and looks frankly tired. In order to keep with its own standards, the hotel needs an urgent facelift.

2. The cleaning is poor and superficial. The common areas are in great shape and kept very well. The rooms are cleaned superficially and you can see large amounts of dust collecting on high furniture and window sills. Dead insects are left for years in the highest window sills. The cleaning service takes less than 15 minutes to clean a whole apartment and, by the time the staff is gone, you can find the same dusty spots and even papers in the floor.

3. The sheets and towels have an unpleasant chemical odor, which is unacceptable for a hotel which prides on wellness, nature and environmental friendliness. Sheets are not replaced during your stay, unless you specifically request for it.

4. Amenities are not replenished daily, unless you ask for it.

5. We did have a bed turn down service only once, during our four day stay. Yet, we were charged daily 45 Euros for the 'turn down service' for a sofa bed.

6. The breakfast is adequate, but no more than the average Dutch hotel breakfast. Almost everything is of good quality but nothing remarkable, creative of special. A shame, considering the high standards of the hotel's cuisine.

7. The swimingpool seems to be a sore spot. It is pretty, well maintained, clean, warm and spacious. But it is part of the SPA and, obviously, the SPA experience. The problem is that it is a swimingpool destined both for relaxation and recreation. Guests who are after a relaxing time are disappointed to find a swimingpool full of children. There are clear etiquette rules on how should children behave in the swimingpool (no running, no jumping, no toys). And most parents are good seeing their children follow these rules. But they are still children who like to swim, laugh and have a good time. Childless people, who are after the relaxing experience, frown, pull sour faces and are frankly rude to children and their parents. Its a complex situation, but the hotel will need to address it at some point. It is clear that the hotel needs an outdoor pool for recreation, additional to their relaxation indoor pool.

8. What is absolutely inappropriate and, one of the reasons we (long time customers of Chateau St. Gerlach) may not return is the absolutely unbearable heath in the apartments. They do not have airco. They are extremely poorly ventilated (with minimal windows and no crossed ventilation) and the hotel provides only a couple of very cheap and inefficient fans. They are bothered if you ask for more. During the summer months, the hallways and apartments become unbearably hot. Absolutely unacceptable in a hotel which strongly advertises on luxury, comfort and wellness.

9. The second reason why we may not return to St. Gerlach and why we will stop recommending is the pitiful way in which the hotel attempts to 'make larger profit' by adding charges of items or services that have not been consumed. This is the second year in a row that the hotel attempted to charge us for breakfast that we never consumed. Even more, they attempted to charge also our parents (who were in a separate room) for the very same breakfasts of our room. So the attempted, not only to charge phantom breakfasts, but to charge doubble! And we have read similar situations in other reviews.

What makes matters worst is that when we complained about this, the manager in turn (a blond, short haired lady) was insufferably rude. She informed us that it had been a mistake because the system charges breakfast automatically. And when my husband asked why the system hadn't then 'automatically' charged breakfasts for every day of our stay, she became extremely rude.

This completely ruins the experience of luxury, relaxation, harmony and wellbeing promoted by the hotel.

We do really like to spend time at St. Gerlach, but all these matters need to be addressed swiftly before the hotel looses its true mission, the trust of their costumers and the revenues that faithful customers like is provide every year.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the apartments!!! You will roast slowly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExhibitionsOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear ExhibitionsOD,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your stay in Château St. Gerlach and we appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks.
We regret that we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. I am glad we had the chance to discuss the remarks by telephone and try to find a solution where appropriate.

We sincerely like to apologize for all the inconveniences.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    469
    118
    36
    8
See reviews for
366
905
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were attracted by the pictures of the romantic chateau, the immaculate grounds, the restaurants and the spa facilities. And they were all there, exactly like on the pictures. So if you are looking for that kind of storybook scenery “live” you will not be disappointed !

Also, you will not be disappointed by the food. Both the bistro and the restaurant are really nice, with very friendly staff, good quality food, care for detail, and if you are lucky, a table next to the fountain.

The grounds are truly awesome, and it must take an army of gardeners to keep the place as manicured as it is.

Moving on to the Spa you are getting yourself into muddy waters however. If you are lucky and there are few or no other guests you’ll find heavenly bliss. If however you stumble into a couple of kids your peace and quiet go down the drain. Guaranteed. No effort is taken to restrict access to the facilities or even just keep them quiet. Worse yet, some of the resident kids (the hotel not only caters to regular hotel guests but also to permanent residents who bought apartments in the complex) seem to have obtained a carte blanche to occupy the Spa facilities and turn it into their personal playground. So you’d better look elsewhere for those relaxing Spa treatments !

Moving on to the hotel rooms, that could be OK if and as long as the temperatures do not rise over 25 degrees Celsius. Any warmer than that and the lack of air conditioning will have you up all night. That would probably happen anyway since the chateau's church bells chime all hours all night long, so what should be a good night’s sleep turns into 8 naps of 59 minutes each.

All in all: if you are looking for scenery or a lovely dinner/lunch you’ll be fine and I would rate St Gerlach as a five star experience without a doubt. Spend the night in the hotel and use the Spa facilities and you could easily be disappointed. Definitely not worth the money, and therefor a three star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcel343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Marcel 343,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you have enjoyed your stay and the dinners. We apologies for the inconvenience of the children in the Spa & Wellness.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
189 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

A monastery and chappel, originating from the 13th century several times devastated and destroyed by fire, finally rebuild between 1995 and 1997 as a luxurios hotel with several appartments, hotel rooms, conference facilities, a spa and wellness and 2 restaurants.
We had a splendid time in one of the appartments, very comfortable, an outstanding breakfast with champagne in the morning. The staff was extremely kind and helpful.
Chateau St Gerlach is just worth to stay. See for details the site: www.chateauhotels.nl.
We had a biking arrangement, staying the first night in St. Gerlach and travelling the next day by bike to the Winseler Hof, Landgraaf (near Kerkrade), after a stay-over there returning by bike the next day back to St Gerlach again. In the mean time, our luggage was brought to the Winseler Hof and back to St Gerlach ahead of us.
We received a fully equipped "picnic" back pack with delicious bread, snacks, wine, drinks and fruits for lunch during the journey by bike. The bikes were equipped with a 7 gear Sturmey Archer rear hub. A 24 gear derailleur would be better, giving the terrain, which we recommended afterwards.
The journey is a bit demanding, 20 km through a hilly terrain, however, for people, used at biking, it should not be a problem. Otherwise, electrical motorized bikes are available.
We were blessed by perfect wheather conditions and the trip was fantastic, absolutely to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Diederick W,

First of all thank you for your stay in our hotel with your family and thank you for your nice feedback. We hope to welcome you again at our estate!

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Chateau St Gerlach was a truly wonderful experience. The Location is exquisite. The facilities magnificent. The service amazing. The food excellent. The staff attentive and very skilled in hospitality. The grounds are spacious and serene.

We were in Maastricht to attend an Andre' Rieu concert. I had left the hotel arrangements too late, but am delighted that I did. One of the diminishing options was a country estate which seemed very nice. Blessed with gorgeous summer weather, the stay at Chateau St. Gerlach was memorable.

An added highlight was renting bikes from the hotel and exploring the Valkenburg area.

We will definitely return to repeat what was a delightful break.

Willie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Willie L,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you had a magnificent stay and an excellent dinner. We hope we may welcome you again in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My Partner booked this hotel as a belated birthday surprise, I had no idea where we were heading as we drove through France, Belgium and finally Holland. The grounds and gardens were stunning. Our room was on the top floor and was lovely although maybe a little dark with the beams and dark furniture. We had a swim in the pool and sat in the sunshine which was perfect.
In the evening we ate in the Bistro as we needed to be out early to go to the Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht. The menu was limited but what we had was very good. The following morning we had a very nice breakfast on the patio in the sunshine again which was plentiful and tasty.

For the remaining couple of hours we had a walk round the gardens which were lovely particulary the fruit garden with cherry, apple and pear trees. My only dissapointment was the rose garden which seemed neglected, at this time of year you would expect the roses to be in full bloom but most of the bushes looked very sad and the beds needed weeding.

On the whole it was a lovely relaxing stay and we both enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
477 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent location in large grounds. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and the staff. The only minor downside is that there is no covers on the walkways between buildings. The food was fabulous serviced by a professional team in excellent suroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel and enjoyed our stay very much.
The staff is very friendly and professional, the food excellent and the atmosphere is great.
The breakfast is very good and be sure to make a diner reservation for the Bistro or the restaurant.
For hikers, a wonderful start as there are many tracks in the area.
We did a hike of 15 km and there a many places on the track to have a coffee, a drink etc,
The panoramas are wondeful.
Have a drink on the terras and enjoy the gardens.
Don't forget to visit the church for a tour.
It is a very relaxing and luxery hotel and we are intending to come back again.

Room Tip: When you are a tall person, taking a shower can be a problem. You shower in the bath and the hight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarijkeBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
10.1 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Property: Chateau St. Gerlach
Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing