We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau St. Gerlach
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My Partner booked this hotel as a belated birthday surprise, I had no idea where we were heading as we drove through France, Belgium and finally Holland. The grounds and gardens were stunning. Our room was on the top floor and was lovely although maybe a little dark with the beams and dark furniture. We had a swim in the pool and sat in the sunshine which was perfect.
In the evening we ate in the Bistro as we needed to be out early to go to the Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht. The menu was limited but what we had was very good. The following morning we had a very nice breakfast on the patio in the sunshine again which was plentiful and tasty.

For the remaining couple of hours we had a walk round the gardens which were lovely particulary the fruit garden with cherry, apple and pear trees. My only dissapointment was the rose garden which seemed neglected, at this time of year you would expect the roses to be in full bloom but most of the bushes looked very sad and the beds needed weeding.

On the whole it was a lovely relaxing stay and we both enjoyed the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    480
    119
    38
    8
See reviews for
374
930
20
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
483 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent location in large grounds. Nothing was too much trouble for the management and the staff. The only minor downside is that there is no covers on the walkways between buildings. The food was fabulous serviced by a professional team in excellent suroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We booked a 2 night stay at this wonderful hotel and enjoyed our stay very much.
The staff is very friendly and professional, the food excellent and the atmosphere is great.
The breakfast is very good and be sure to make a diner reservation for the Bistro or the restaurant.
For hikers, a wonderful start as there are many tracks in the area.
We did a hike of 15 km and there a many places on the track to have a coffee, a drink etc,
The panoramas are wondeful.
Have a drink on the terras and enjoy the gardens.
Don't forget to visit the church for a tour.
It is a very relaxing and luxery hotel and we are intending to come back again.

Room Tip: When you are a tall person, taking a shower can be a problem. You shower in the bath and the hight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarijkeBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Chauteur St. Gerlach is Small and Luxury Hotels of the world. We stayed in the bed room apartment at the behind building. Staff are friendly and efficient. It,is a very beatiful hotel and romantic hotel, surrounded by nice nature. We like having breakfast in open very beautiful nature. We would recommend to stay this hotel.

Only one point down is because when we woke up in the morning (we checked in at night) and found that a big cementary, about 10 meters, was just in front of our window It is not scary but better to tell us before not just by surprising.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
508 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in one of the regular rooms. The room was spacious and very nicely appointed. The large bathroom had all of the amenities needed.

We had a great dinner at the bistro on site. The food was fabulous and the service very friendly and professional.

We arrived by train at the small platform. It would have been helpful to see a sign directing us to the chateau. Fortunately a friendly local helped us out.

All in all a very nice place with nice surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHartMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The "chateau" is situated 10 minutes driving by motorway from Maastricht in a truely idyllic and peaceful landscape. As unfortunately is the case in the entire Netherlands motorway noise is always, modestly though, present. The property looks stunningly beautiful, the gardens are extremely inviting for a morning, afternoon or late evening strawl.

We stayed in a spacious two bedroom appartment suite with our two kids. Two right sized bedrooms upstairs each having their own bathroom (bath, tolet, two sinks each), a separate toilet and a small but fully equipped kitchen. We did enjoy our own breakfast in the room but went off premise for lunch and dinner. Since the area is very busy visited by tourists there are a lot of nearby restaurants of good quality but far better prized than the restaurants at the chateau.

Our suite did not have A/C and we can imagine it becomes very warm/hot in summer, indeed. The small fan provided in the room would not be a solution.

Staff is ok, but we've seen a lot better in this type of upmarket hotels. Although superficially friendly they never seem to actually "connect" with you as a guest/person. A bit of a pity.

Some reviewers criticize the pool area. The pool itself is extremely nice and quite large. The number of chairs is quite limited however and then space to sit or put your stuff becomes limited indeed if you cannot go outside, that is. Dressing rooms and lockers are adequate.
Also there is a conflict between the hotel wanting to keep the swimming pool quiet and peaceful since it is part of the wellness and spa area. But many hotel visitors bring their kids and are not allowed to use toys in the pool. Kids do shout when having fun as per definition even when kept as quiet as possible by their parents. We saw some grumpy faces, understandable but consequence of the hotel setup.

And yup, the church bell does ring, once on the half hour and the number of hours each hours. As far as we can recollect 24x7 indeed. Although we are light sleepers to us this was not an issue at all, it added to the monastery feeling of the estate.

I definitely would stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brabant Wallon - Belgique
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Chateau St Gerlach was for me a very good discovery. A very nice place, a totally modernized castle where you can still feel the luxury of its origin.

I went there for a business seminar, all equipments are available for organizing efficient meeting and at the end of the day we enjoyed the very good cooking of the restaurant.

The hotel’s bar is very pleasant with a large choice of whisky but also all other drinks.

Only one negative comments, there is no Wi-Fi available within the apartment while there was a wired network connection but I couldn’t test it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludovic_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChateauStGerlach, Guest Relations at Chateau St. Gerlach, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ludovic,

Thank you very much for your stay in Château St. Gerlach. We appreciate the time you took to note down your remarks. It is a pleasure to hear you had a good seminar and a nice dinner. As you refer to our wireless internet, we do have wifi at our estate. We are aware that due to the vast surroundings, the signal is weaker in some remote areas. We regularly measure the signal to reinforce where necessary.

We hope we may welcome you again at our hotel in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Kathleen Savelkoul, Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 37 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
10.1 mi away
Winselerhof
Winselerhof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
11.5 mi away
Kasteel Bloemendal
Kasteel Bloemendal
#1 of 2 in Vaals
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Property: Chateau St. Gerlach
Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing