We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good price quality ratio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau St. Gerlach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau St. Gerlach
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good price quality ratio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here a weekend among the two of us without children. Very good choice. Nice and big room, very good breakfast. Spa facilities and treatments like it should be. The restaurant serves good food, a bit overpriced though. The vicinity of Maastricht to go shopping or sightseeing, nature all around, ... makes it almost impossible to get bored.

Only minus was the wedding party that was going on on Saturday evening. I could imagine some people would seek a quiet environment in this hotel, while with the wedding some noise was coming out.

Overall good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    377
    87
    29
    7
See reviews for
297
706
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is very nice but I felt ripped off when i tried to cancel the booking. On the cancellation policy it says 24hrs prior 15:00 and i cancelled 15.45 of the prior day. They wanted to charge me 100% cancellation. In the end we stay first night only, they still charge for 2nd night nonetheless and we do not pay for the last night.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maryliz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for the Easter weekend. 2 rooms: very nice one, full of character in the original hotel building. Modern, characterless one in the room-appartment new part.
Excellent Easter lunch in the Bistro. Unique guided tour by the owner Camille Oostwegel.
Service full of eye for detail.
Little to improve except creating more warmth in the rooms in the new building

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterderiemaeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. The hotel is a very nice castle and situated in a beautiful location in the Geul valley. There is also a marvellous church next to the castle.
The room was nice and spacy with a good bed and a well equipped bathroom.
The restaurant is great as well as breakfast buffet (but not cheap!).
The hotel facilities are spread over the site, so that you have to go from one building to the next. Can be cold or wet!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Chateau during the holidays. Our room (junior suite) was spacious and lovely furnished. The bathroom amenities we're great; we both got our own little brown bag.
Breakfast was great. Lots of fresh fruits and smoothies. Plenty of bread, cheese, pastries and so on.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.
We've had dinner at the restaurant. It's quite expense, but you can really see and taste their ambitions.
We'll certainly return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wereldreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apeldoorn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

it needs passion and devotion, to combine cultural herritage with gastronomy.

Eye for detail ( Thinking and giving the youngsters, presents from santa Claus, mineral water, fruit, decoration etc )

We had a wonderfull Suite Romanee St Vivant, GW Bush and his wife laura, stayed there.

It was a pity, the restaurant was closed on Sunday, we had to go elsewere.

The setting is Breathtaking, the people extremely nice. It is a warm and comfortable surrounding... You feel King and Queen overthere

Bernard Nijdam

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nijdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is real gem. Top quality Hotel with top quality staff and ambient, really nice. Will get back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 41 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
10.1 mi away
WinselerHof
WinselerHof
#1 of 3 in Landgraaf
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bilderberg Kasteel Vaalsbroek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Property: Chateau St. Gerlach
Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing