We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau St. Gerlach
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here a weekend among the two of us without children. Very good choice. Nice and big room, very good breakfast. Spa facilities and treatments like it should be. The restaurant serves good food, a bit overpriced though. The vicinity of Maastricht to go shopping or sightseeing, nature all around, ... makes it almost impossible to get bored.

Only minus was the wedding party that was going on on Saturday evening. I could imagine some people would seek a quiet environment in this hotel, while with the wedding some noise was coming out.

Overall good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geert76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,723)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 1,723 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel is very nice but I felt ripped off when i tried to cancel the booking. On the cancellation policy it says 24hrs prior 15:00 and i cancelled 15.45 of the prior day. They wanted to charge me 100% cancellation. In the end we stay first night only, they still charge for 2nd night nonetheless and we do not pay for the last night.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank maryliz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Stayed for the Easter weekend. 2 rooms: very nice one, full of character in the original hotel building. Modern, characterless one in the room-appartment new part.
Excellent Easter lunch in the Bistro. Unique guided tour by the owner Camille Oostwegel.
Service full of eye for detail.
Little to improve except creating more warmth in the rooms in the new building

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peterderiemaeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a great time. The hotel is a very nice castle and situated in a beautiful location in the Geul valley. There is also a marvellous church next to the castle.
The room was nice and spacy with a good bed and a well equipped bathroom.
The restaurant is great as well as breakfast buffet (but not cheap!).
The hotel facilities are spread over the site, so that you have to go from one building to the next. Can be cold or wet!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We've stayed at the Chateau during the holidays. Our room (junior suite) was spacious and lovely furnished. The bathroom amenities we're great; we both got our own little brown bag.
Breakfast was great. Lots of fresh fruits and smoothies. Plenty of bread, cheese, pastries and so on.
Staff is extremely friendly and helpfull.
We've had dinner at the restaurant. It's quite expense, but you can really see and taste their ambitions.
We'll certainly return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wereldreiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

it needs passion and devotion, to combine cultural herritage with gastronomy.

Eye for detail ( Thinking and giving the youngsters, presents from santa Claus, mineral water, fruit, decoration etc )

We had a wonderfull Suite Romanee St Vivant, GW Bush and his wife laura, stayed there.

It was a pity, the restaurant was closed on Sunday, we had to go elsewere.

The setting is Breathtaking, the people extremely nice. It is a warm and comfortable surrounding... You feel King and Queen overthere

Bernard Nijdam

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nijdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel is real gem. Top quality Hotel with top quality staff and ambient, really nice. Will get back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.3 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 46 in Valkenburg
216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 46 in Valkenburg
485 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#3 of 38 in Maastricht
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau St. Gerlach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau St. Gerlach

Address: Joseph Corneli Allee 1 | KK Valkenburg a.d. Geul, 6301 KK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: $204 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau St. Gerlach 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Could anything be more attractive? The irresistibly attractive Geul valley, the marvelous Ingendael wild life reserve, our own extensive parks, stylish baroque gardens, a farmhouse herb garden, a standard-tree fruit arboretum, and a rose garden – features that as such have given cause to the fame of Chateau St. Gerlach.It’s a unique place to escape from the pressures of everyday life. Pamper yourself in true five-star style in these picturesque surroundings, where historic buildings nestle in magnificent countryside. You will find a splendid hotel with 97 hotel rooms, suites and hotel apartments, a la carte Restaurant Chateau St. Gerlach, Bistrot de Liege, Spa & Wellness St. Gerlach, a Roman indoor swimming pool and several meeting and banqueting rooms for business meetings and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau St. Gerlach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau St. Gerlach Hotel Valkenburg
Chateau St Gerlach Valkenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing